Marist College Employee Reviews

Found 32 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
your not an employee, your family
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYNovember 4, 2015
great work environment
great pay
fantastic management
free tuition for you, your wife and children
students are mostly supportive and friendly
just remember their still kids and will mess up from time to time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Lab Assistant
Data Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 20, 2015
• Assisted students with their homework and studying
• Upgraded the operating systems of switches, routers, and servers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time employees can take classes for free.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYSeptember 21, 2015
For parents with kids, the benefits are great. You and your kids can go to school for free. So awesome. Aside from that, this is a day time Monday through Friday place to work with nice people.
Pros
Free school
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Fashion Merchandising - Poughkeepise, NY (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepise NYSeptember 14, 2015
Good school on the hudson river valley. There is hiking up there which is nice in the fall. The academics is really good and the teachers are there to help you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marist
Men's Intramural Basketball Official (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJuly 13, 2015
It was a perfect job for a college student to learn a lot about time management as well as bond with fellow students and workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience working as a student worker in Marist College as I have learned a lot.
Academic Technology Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJune 8, 2015
Since I was a student worker so I was allowed to work 20 hours a week wherein my duties included:
• QA Testing and simulations for new technology rollouts prior to significant upgrades by participating in student QA and bug testing teams, using agile methodologies on open source applications.
• Quality Assurance and regression tested the Sakai open source LMS following scripted test cases.
• Developed and designed a workshop attendee database for Faculty improvements.
• Created documentation for cleaning trouble ticket data using excel and QMF verifying succinct attribute tagging for consistent analysis of problem reports.
• Supported clients in learning analytics conference and prepared reports.
• Supported non-technical clients online and face to face in iTeam.

All of the team mates were very nice and helpful. My supervisor always liked my work and helped me to learn more and more. Overall, it was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
PATROL OFFICER OUTSIDE GUARD (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJune 4, 2015
not really a family oriented community college even though they pride themselves as being such a community,no family values.,
way too running the place as a business,
everyone is just a number ,not a person
Pros
salary kept up with inflation
Cons
discriminative administration
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Student Nighttime Auxiliary Patrol (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYApril 3, 2015
A typical day working at S.N.A.P. (Student Nighttime Auxiliary Patrol) consists of doing rounds around campus and coordinating with security personnel. This job is quite enjoyable and is an overall great experience.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Environment
Events (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMarch 10, 2015
Marist College is a supportive community of hardworking individuals dedicated to improving the lives of students.
The students are incredibly loyal to the college and the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time Job as a student worker
Technical Consultant (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYFebruary 24, 2015
Nice place to work on campus. Gave me Opportunity to act as a team lead in beta testing projects. Overall a decent working experience while studying.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1

Want to know more about Marist College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organizing A Big Fun group of activities for the College
Assistant Director of Intramurals (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 22, 2015
The best thing about working in the Mccann was seeing everyone with a smile on their faces
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Athletic Training Room
Student Athletic Trainer (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 8, 2015
Worked as an unpaid student athletic trainer.

Days were filled with observation and hands-on work.

Management was great, friendly staff that wants to see you succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with outstanding co-workers
housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 23, 2014
Loved the place. Would definitely work there again in the future.
I learned about how to clean properly, wax floors, clean dorms. management was awesome they worked with you in whatever way you needed. My co workers were outstanding i have nothing but nice things to say about the people who work there. The most enjoyable part of the job was the laid back environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College Job
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMay 22, 2014
Check students IDs, answer phone calls and the questions of students, teachers or tour groups.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time teacher
Adjunct Instructor of Philosophy (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMay 3, 2014
Taught two courses while I was in culinary school
Very pleasant campus, enjoyable students.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a learning experience
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYApril 9, 2014
co-workers was good and very helpful in showing how to complete a job
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a student worker
Student/General (Former Employee) –  Westage Business Center, Fishkill, NYFebruary 21, 2014
My time at Marist College was made much better by having a job provided by the college in which I would have large amounts of time to finish school work during my shift. The pay was typically near or at minimum wage, but a job is a job. The people were friendly and it was just a generally enjoyable environment for me, regardless of where on campus I worked or the time I was working.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
NSAC Marketing Competition (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYFebruary 16, 2014
Worked flexible hours doing information input, filing, and anything else the office needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy a productive workplace that allows, both, professional and personal growth within the organization.
Center for Multicultural Affairs, Counselor (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 20, 2014
Manage a counseling load of 20-30 students, handling financial advising, academic, and personal counseling.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best learning experince
Technical Consultant (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, New YorkNovember 17, 2013
The best thing about the academic technology department where i work, is learning new technologies. They have a lot of flexibility with timings as they allow time off for projects and exams. Since most of the work force consists of students, its a fun place to learn new things and have a good time as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture