Marist College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just a student job
Senior Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYFebruary 19, 2018
This was just something to get money and experience while I'm in school. The culture isn't great, it's a scattered workplace that requires you to be able to figure it all out on your own. Can get boring at times
Pros
On campus
Cons
not a great culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marist College
Collegiate Athlete (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 22, 2018
I went to school at Marist college so I was not employed by Marist. However, I did love my experience as a student at Marist. Academically and professionally it was an excellent experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marist College Safety and Security
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 14, 2018
I have been with Marist Safety and Security for over 6 years. New Director and Assistant Director believe cost savings are more important than providing a safe environment for students, staff and guests.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment with employees willing to help
ERP Report Developer (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 8, 2018
Marist College tends to hire recent graduates and teach them what they are going to be doing. They were willing to work with me to create a part time schedule. The employees were nice and friendly.

My only con was lack of job security as a contractor, especially when the work dried up, and that management was often so busy they were not around when you needed them.
Pros
Training
Cons
Management, Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience for students.
Junior Networking Technician (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJanuary 2, 2018
I am a student worker with multiple positions in multiple departments at Marist College. These opportunities are amazing for students to get real experience on their resumes before they graduate. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYDecember 23, 2017
It is a great experience to be able to help your peers with subjects that they struggle with. It helps me learn patience, understanding, and empathy in one job. It also helps me with communicating with different types of people and how their learning style is different from someone else's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional fist job
Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 30, 2017
My time spent with the Academic Technology Center at Marist Collge was by far the most informative job I have ever had. I learned something new every day about my computer. My staff was always willing to help and my management even more so.
Pros
Made your own schedule
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun Learning Place
Assistant Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYNovember 23, 2017
Marist College is an excellent place to learn and grow.You get to meet some of the best managers and great directors who would help you evolve. Everyday is enjoyable at Marist as you get to learn new stuff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good sdwe
Student IT Operator (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYNovember 19, 2017
Great College where the exposure is amazing. I would recommend everyone to to consider this college with great study and job opportunity on campus. Good college to work and live.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a great first job in USA
Mobile Application Developer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 2, 2017
I had a really good Manager and tech leads supporting me in understanding the ongoing projects when I first joined. Work place was great, competitive, fast-paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 16, 2017
Marist College is a great place to work. It has great benefits and balanced environment. My transport is not far and is convenient to all business. Thank you.
Pros
Great benefits and great pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marist
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 10, 2017
Marist College is a great school with a good work study program in place. I tutored for my work study as well as being a chemistry TA. Peer tutoring was a good way to help out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for work study
Greeter/Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYOctober 9, 2017
Loved working in admissions. Great atmosphere and opportunity to connect with other current students as well as future students. I gained great customer service and clerical experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for learning
Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYAugust 22, 2017
Friendly environment with great mentors.
Team coordinators can help you switch teams if interested.
Definitely, good place for a student to learn and grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make your own hours with competent instruction
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYAugust 9, 2017
I was a tutor, so I made my own hours texting and arranging meetings with the people who needing tutoring. The instruction for how to tutor did not last long, and was very informative.
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
Not always hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Photography Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYAugust 3, 2017
The values statement at Marist College includes the following:
Excellence in Education
A Sense of Community
A Commitment to Service
As an alumnus and a current part-time employee, these values are not merely words, they are a realized ideal at this institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postal Employee
Postal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJuly 28, 2017
Completed daily on campus mail routes, as well as managed the counter inside the college mail center.
shifts between 2 and 5 hours long, leaving time for courses and coursework.
Employees were all friendly and willing to work.
Great work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and lively environment
Card Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJune 5, 2017
Marist college has a lot of spirit and a lot of passion, the faculty and staff clearly care about what they're doing and the student body is always a focus. Depending on the department the management may seem a bit unique, but that can also be a very good thing depending on your workflow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very positive environment
Camp supervisor/commissioner (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYJune 3, 2017
great company, helpful individuals all around . community based mind set. promote green environment which make it special. beautiful campus. staff good interaction with students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ripe for Innovation
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMay 29, 2017
Marist College is dominated by middle management. Apathy runs rampant but allows for a more relaxed work environment if that is something that suits you. New ideas are not always welcome.
Pros
Flexible Work/Life Balance, Strong Teamwork
Cons
Poor Management, Apathetic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marist College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 82 reviews
553
421
35
21
12

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Marist College Reviews by Location