Find companies:
Market Day Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Market Day Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great incentive programs
Instructor, Driver Trainer, Dock foreman, forklift (Former Employee), ILSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: incentives to drive employees to strive for perfection.
Cons: hard work, tough work invironment in and out of freezers
Hard work, but rewarding being part of a fundraising program. Market Day gives back to its community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Account Representative (Current Employee), Itasca, ILAugust 22, 2014
A rewarding career helping schools to reach their fund raising goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission, passionate team
DIRECTOR OF SALES (Former Employee), Itasca ILAugust 13, 2014
Pros: the mission
It is wonderful to be surrounded by so many passionate professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping schools raise much needed revenue
Account Rep (Former Employee), Central MarylandAugust 11, 2014
I worked directly with the schools, the volunteers are wonderful and make a difference there. Plus the food is really good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancemet oppertunity in the begining. Held many postitions.
Stocker (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioJuly 6, 2014
Pros: small friendly company, offered advancement and many different postions.
Cons: limited advancement.
I learned a lot from Market Day, I came in as a stay at home mom with little to no experience. I learned first to drive a pallet jack, pick, stack and wrap orders. I later moved up to loading and unloading trucks and filling out the proper paperwork. Eventually learning to drive a forklift replenishing products as needed. At the same time I was taught – more... various office duties which I used to be the sole relief of the receiving clerk as well as assisting the H.R with the hiring process during the slow summer months. Unfortunately we have been bought out and moved out of state. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed being part of fund raising company
Warehouse Associate / Floor Lead (Former Employee), Wood Dale, ILJune 19, 2014
Pros: great cause for fund raising
Cons: contracting business
Worked hard and was rewarded with promotions. great co-workers helping move allot of goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, enjoyed working with different people everyday.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oak Brook, ILFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: flexibe schedule and ability to meet many people
Cons: salary and job advancement was minimal
Liked having a flexible schedule. The company had a great 401K program and we had great trips as rewards for increased sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive, organized, enthusiastic
Sales Manager (Former Employee), cincinnati, OhioFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: great leadership training and guidance
Cons: delivery schedule to specific territories
customer service, leadership, good communication
delivery coordination, open new accounts, lead meetings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job/Good pay
Account Representative (Current Employee), jackson michiganFebruary 12, 2014
Market Day is a great job it just does not have much job security. A lot of traveling and you do not get paid for gas. I learned a lot about customer service and had great clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great but too early
Freezer Picker (Former Employee), Wood Dale, ILJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: free food on holidays
Cons: cold
the work will give you a workout. picking orders about 40 a day per person. But the hours are hard if you work in the morning also the hardest shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible employment--great for Moms
Senior Account Representative (Current Employee), Itasca, ILSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: employee discounts--free no show food--flexibilty
Cons: working from home and having responsibilities to clients from dawn to dusk for little compensation
I have enjoyed the climate most of the years I've been employed. I recently tried to advance in the company and made it went glowing reviews through 3 levels of management only to be insulted and shot down by the primary decision maker. I still like what I do now, but I have to seek other employment with growth opportunites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful Learning Experience
Area Sales Manager (Former Employee), Jessup, MDAugust 6, 2013
Lead a team across MD, DC and VA consisting of 22 sales representatives. I interviewed, trained and coached the team while prospecting and closing new business and maintaining customer base.
Market Day is a company that provides fundraising options for schools so the typical day at work varied by school and even district. Some account the school was – more... responsible for making those decisions while others is was the PTA.
I was to visit schools, school board and teachers during day/work hours and the evening were balanced between going to PTA meetings, board meetings and visiting sale drop locations to interact with customers.
My team was an excellent group of people that were dedicated to helping the schools they worked to increase their sales to provide more profit dollars to the school for the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Freezer Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 15, 2013
I worked a 4 hour shift. I always got to work a little early and went straight to work. I filled and picked orders in the freezer. I mainly worked alone, but when I could I helped others to finish their work. I cleaned the warehouse and straightened up the pick locations. I worked hard to pick quickly and accurately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One reason I worked for Market Day is the quality of product.
Account Representative (Former Employee), ColumbusMay 16, 2013
Pros: working with the school and volunteers
Cons: driving to different sales in bad weather.
A typical sale was Meeting volunteer and setting up a sale.
Greet customers and supply them with there orders.
Balance the sale and make deposits.
I learned more about marketing and the company.
Management chanced more than once or twice while there. They were good people who worked hard.
Did not really associate with co-works except once a week meetings.
Enjoyed – more... the work ethics and dedication on the volunteers that helped at sales, and enjoyed working with them.
Hardest part of the job was rescheduling canceled sales due to holiday's or bad weather.
Mostly enjoyed the job, helping schools raise funds for good causes and working with the schools and volunteers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love this job
Imprinter clerk (Former Employee), ILApril 29, 2013
Pros: discounts on certain items doing a montly sale.
I really enjoyed and love working at Market Day I started here parttime in the warehouse loading trunks and balanceing ballets. Until a position came along inthe printshop and we had to apply for the position as if it was a first time interveiw and I did and Got the job...After 6 months the company decided by boss needed an assistant because she was – more... supervisor already in 3 department and she needed some work release...then so another position came open for assistant supervisor and Myself and a nice fellow coworker both applyed and we had to get others to viv fo us regarding to theposition then interveiw by the head supervisor in personal in regarding why would we be an access to the company into managei g this part of the company..I did so and became assistant supervisor with fulltime pay and benifits with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
progressive fundraising company
Account Representative (Current Employee), Western SuburbsNovember 12, 2012
with years of fundraising experience, Market Day has positioned themselves as the expert in the field. The grocery products are of great quality and have a huge extended following beyond the schools they serve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Step lightly
Sales rep (Former Employee), IndianapolisOctober 18, 2012
This position is not what it seems. The company tells you the position is working with schools at monthly sales, what they don't tell you is that it is a high pressure sales job requiring tons of back end work for the money they pay you. Great job if you don't mind working for little money for the amount of time you put in. Also, they do not pay mileage – more... and you have to drive 30 to 45 minutes one way to some schools. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caution with this company
Sales Manager, (Former Employee), ChicagoOctober 2, 2012
Pros: great for family / work structure schedules are flexible
Cons: poor management
This organization has far to go to achieve success. The organization is highly disorganized and pushes all levels to achieve unrealistic goals. As a result almost all managers fail to meet thresholds and incorrectly report out actual numbers. The company is fighting a losing battle. They need to completely revamp the selling methods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much pressure
Account Representative (Former Employee), Detroit AreaSeptember 19, 2012
Cons: stress, pressure, worry
This company was very accurately described in the post from Sept.15, 2012. Unprofessional managers put way too much pressure on reps for higher sales so managers themselves will receive their personnel bonuses. As long as customers are purchasing market day foods the company as a whole doesn't care how account reps and field service reps are treated – more... or even if they are fired or forced to quit. I know very well liked reps that were great at what they did, had a change in their school's volunteers, sales dropped and they were fired. The pay wasn't worth all that was expected as well as all of the stress, pressure and constant worry. Extremely high turn over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEWARE! Bad company!!!
Account Rep (Former Employee), DetroitSeptember 19, 2012
Cons: everything! no training, bad management, bad everything!
I thought too that this would be a perfect job for me seeing how I am a stay at home mom to 4 kids. Well I was WRONG! You get little to no training and they expect a lot of work for the little pay that you get. This turned out to be a horrible work experience for me, especially seeing how I hadn't worked in 13 years. They expect a lot from you even – more... though you only receive 2 hours of training which doesn't even cover 90% of the job. Management will be very accommodating at first and then will turn on you in a heartbeat. I feel like they are very deceitful when they told me what the job would entail, I'm sure just to suck me in and then drop a bomb on me. I have never felt so uncomfortable going to work, They seem to target sahm's and this is not a good job for one. I was never home when my kids got home from school, so plan on making a lot of babysitting arrangements which your pay will not even cover. I would not recommend working for this company, I found that you can't trust management or their senior account rep. So BEWARE!!! – less

About Market Day Corporation

In 1973, Trudi Temple was creating flower arrangements to raise funds for local churches and missions in poverty-stricken countries. – Read more