Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent opportunity to meet people.
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  DFW Airport, TXJanuary 10, 2018
The hours were sometimes long with several down times. The busiest hours were early morning or late evening transporting guests to and from the airport. Had great opportunities to meet people and earn extra dollars in tips
Pros
Outside activity that required driving
Cons
Nine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Bartender/Room service server (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJanuary 10, 2018
Great benefits, management. Understanding, family oriented, humanitarian. Resourceful, tuition reimbursement, travel benefits, discounts, great health insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company that Cares
Front Desk Associate (Current Employee) –  South Bend, INJanuary 10, 2018
Marriott International truly cares about their employees. Hours are easy to come by and there is always an opportunity for advancement. I would definitely recommend working for Marriott.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful, no business, no advancement opportunities
Server (Current Employee) –  Midwest City, OKJanuary 9, 2018
There is no business which means you don't make any money unless the hotel or conference center has business. There are no benefits, no opportunity to move up within the company. It is not really a career oriented place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and rewarding place to work.
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 9, 2018
Its a fairly smaller and older hotel but the staff as whole work well together. Management is always there when you need them. Coming to work is pleasant.
Pros
Enjoy seeing my coworkers.
Cons
Rooms can be challenging to clean at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Complex IRD Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 9, 2018
Worked at the Swan Dolphin before it was Marriott, but still was a great place to work. Large property so had a lot of staff/associates, great F&B leadership!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay!
Night Auditor/Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 9, 2018
Not to good, not to bad. The hotel I worked at was an Airport hotel, so we would get a bunch of disgruntled airline people that stressed me out. The experience is good though
Pros
recognized
Cons
stressful and boring at the same time, if you can imagine that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on the job could be an average 9-5
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJanuary 8, 2018
There is always something to do, and as long as you are focused and willing to work there will be no issues. A lot of the work is a bit repetitive but that means that the focus is perfection and replication.
Pros
Free lunches, over time opportunities
Cons
A bit impersonal working for a company that large.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We were a family
Night Auditor/Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 8, 2018
Everyone looked out for each other which made our jobs less stressful and easier to make the guests happy. They also made sure we were trained well on our brand.
Pros
easy access to our discounts
Cons
cutting hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Front Office Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 8, 2018
The most enjoyable part about working for Marriott is that you have the opportunity to advance your career worldwide. Good management also support advancements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting corporate structure
Cook 1 (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJanuary 8, 2018
Fantastic hotel chain with properties worldwide. Plenty of daily interaction with guests and costumers. Benefits and pay are great as well as a robust management team.
Pros
fun
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Friendly Environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  York, PAJanuary 8, 2018
Overall I enjoy working for this company. My favorite part of working for Marriott is meeting many different types of people and also seeing reccuring guests throughout the year.
Pros
Meeting new people and recognizing old ones
Cons
Not paid enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bellman/Doorman (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 8, 2018
Very busy hotel with a great location and staff. Great team to work with and also ability to cross train with other departments to excel more in the hospitality industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Banquet Server, On-Call (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 8, 2018
They have great hotel benefits and I enjoy my fellow co-workers. I also like the culture very much. I would like to continuously work there for many more years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviroment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 8, 2018
would start my day by making sure staff had changed all linen and garbage in hotel,learned how what chemicals to mix and not to mix .management was decent no complaints,work culture was very quiet but friendly. hardest part of job is when people called out it made things rough at work,best part of the job was the tips you recieve.
Pros
great for networking
Cons
alot of constant standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time with marriott
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJanuary 8, 2018
Work wasn't hard but i felt a lack a passion for some people and management could have been better but i learned many skills and my co-workers made it a joy to be around
Pros
free food
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with genuine people.
Sales Group Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Southfield, MIJanuary 8, 2018
I've been at the Westin altogether 8 years, I enjoy working with people and must of all being able to connect and build lasting relationships has been a gift to me.
Pros
Job security is great at the Westin Southfield.
Cons
During our health benefit enrollment for 2018 they took our prescription coverage away:(
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take Care of your employees
Naturalist (Former Employee) –  Avon, COJanuary 8, 2018
I was pretty shocked at the lack of support for the employees where I worked. You would assume that because of the high quality of care the Ritz-Carlton provides to their customers, they'd at least extend some of that to their employees. Nope. No benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 7, 2018
This was a great learning experience for me. It was the largest hotel I had ever seen and it was also the most stylish. Many different cultures to work with. I learned so much from them.
Pros
Beautiful hotel, awesome management
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 7, 2018
Marriott is a stellar company. They have gone downhill since 200u in regards to associat focus and gues satisfaction. It is past time for marriott to reinvent itself and look into franchise properties closely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14,823 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0