Marriott Vacations Worldwide Employee Reviews

Found 3,284 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost Prevention
Lost Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2016
Its a Job i cannot go into further details about my job as i still work with marriott i prevent internal and external theft
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new skills learned
Executive Housekeeping Manager (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHSeptember 28, 2016
I learned a lot about the hospitality industry
Typical day supervise about 12 to 15 staff members oversee flow of vacant ready rooms,managing times,rooms inspections to marriott standards.
Great people,guests,meet new people everyday
Very physical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yes
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 28, 2016
I really enjoy working for this company
Great people n a good place to start out at n yes its a fun place n they really take care of there employees.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great initial bite, horrible aftertaste
Manager (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VASeptember 28, 2016
Tough hours, hard on a family... I would recommend that if you love hospitality, you will love working here... Otherwise, look elsewhere. Amazing training opportunities and exciting locations, but hardly had two days off in a week.
Pros
Hotel discounts, care for their hourly staff, amazing training
Cons
Hours, it's hospitality so it's rough... Lack of buyin and support from corporate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Lead Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 28, 2016
I worked made sure all rooms was clean to Marriott standards love cleaning in dusting worked well with others. Love housekeeping work.making the guest happy when they come in to a clean room in hotel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Real Estate Agent (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CASeptember 27, 2016
If you like to meet people from all over the world, then you'd enjoy working for Marriott. I loved it and most of the management was exceptional during training. They understand hospitality and that makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 27, 2016
Leaving for better opportunity, Learned a lot about the culinary industry with my time at the Courtyard Marriott. Enjoyed my time working with great staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 27, 2016
they were ok people. They are nice until you have something that needs emergency attention then treat it nice and give you time off just for them to not let you back to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people
Manager (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SCSeptember 26, 2016
Fairfield, although a diverse group, everyone was fun and enjoyed their position. Very positive toward employees and their needs. Provide incentive programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job review
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 26, 2016
Work consist of making sure all guest are happy, and if they aren't to find a way to fix it. Providing guests with a clean room and high quality standards. Making sure they feel welcomed so they want to come back. Managing departments and making sure that they are all following proper procedures and standards.
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night security
Unarmed Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCSeptember 26, 2016
Nice job and i meet new people everyday from all over the world. Was responsible for making sure certain areas was locked off while keeping a report log. Have to be an altercation resolver, and responsible for extracting prostitution.
Pros
Meet new people world wide
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enviroment where every day you learn something new.
Server (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 26, 2016
Working here was honestly a great experience. My communication skills with customers improved so much. I also learned how to multi-task and work great under pressure, but still deliver great customer service to the guests.
Pros
Benefits, flexible schedule
Cons
Not enough hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very pleasant and energetic company
Banquet Server and Ballroom Concierge (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CASeptember 26, 2016
A great place to work and plenty of room for growth. Been with the company for ten years and have learned a lot within the food and beverage industry. Management is great and looking forward to pursue a longterm career here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the money
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 26, 2016
Spend the entire 8 hours standing.
Are scolded for sitting.
Get paid very little
If your not on first shift the job becomes long and very tiring.
Irate and needy guests constantly
Lots of guests who try and scam you
Getting yelled at alot
Health insurance doesn't cover anything
No real PTO
Management hates the job as much as the employees
Job security is the only plus, because the turn over rate is sooooo high they don't fire anyone unless they've done something extremely bad.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Heathcare or lack of, Horrible pay, long standing time, no PTO
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Pay
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDSeptember 24, 2016
Why pay someone $8 an hour when they can't even live off of that full time? They expect the world of you, 24/7 flexibility and to follow the demands they & the guests spit at you but can't pay you your worth. Know your worth and RUN to a different hotel brand to work for.
Pros
Occasionally free food from the evening meal
Cons
Pay, Management, Strict brand, Dated hotels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COSeptember 23, 2016
A typical day at work is fast moving and working with the public, all about customer service. Mostly I learned customer service, but also learned how to understand people and get my duties completed quickly. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing people smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emoloyee focused, fun work environment, nice perks.
Global Relocation Manager (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDSeptember 23, 2016
Employee focused, fun, flexible, work life balanced, family oriented, technically advanced, industry reputation, diversity, multi cultural, vacation time, employee discounts.
Pros
Nice benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work.
Senior Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 23, 2016
I always love working with lots of people and providing good work experience or service to people. At Marriott we did just that. Always interacting with fellow associates and customers is an everyday thing in the hospitality business. Keeping your communication skills sharp and your desire to help people growing. With the work flowing and always something new to do, the work place was never dull and always keeps you moving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting fun and new people from all around the world
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 22, 2016
Working at this job I have learned a lot. It is also a fun environment and ever I work with is amazing and a very good team. Everyone is a team player and is willing to help by any means. Being i work a shift where i am alone majority of the time my GM and AGM do call to see how the nights go. But over all i do like this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Courtyard Marriott Summary
Area Front Desk Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL 32218September 22, 2016
A typical work day was paperwork, working well with management, and giving customer service to every individual while keeping a professional environment.
I learned the different types of customers ranging from your business traveler to a leisure guest on vacation. I also learned how to work well with others and different types of people with different types of work ethic.
Pros
Monthly luncheons, sales blitz, learn more about our customers.
Cons
Having to work all nights and night shift. Working 7-9 days in a row.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 4,406 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Reviews by Location