Marriott Vacations Worldwide Employee Reviews

Found 4,488 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Banquet Server/ Bartender (Current Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIJune 21, 2017
No room fro advancement… i worked there for 3 years and was promised a position in management. broke my leg and then was fired the company also failed to provide a safe work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and Underpaid
Event Planning Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 21, 2017
Luckily I enjoy some of my coworkers, however they are severely understaffed in most departments. This leads to overworked employees. They say their pay is competitive but other hotels in the area do pay more. Benefits are okay. Enjoyed the Marriott discount the most.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to get a Career Started
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 21, 2017
The management company is a great place to get a career started. Although I work at the Front Desk, I've been involved in Group Sales, Events and Marketing. In my short time I've grown as an individual and an employee. White Lodging, the management company that facilitates the Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks, hires candidates they feel will make great Hotel Managers. The hourly staff typically do the duties that a manager would due at another hotel, while the managers put more focus on developing future managers.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
combo roles
Human Resources Administrator/Benefits (Former Employee) –  Monrovia, CAJune 21, 2017
Fantastic Culture
focus on millennials regularly learnings
hardest part of getting management to agree with each other
love training, educating and assisting associates
Pros
hotel discounts
Cons
hard to take a lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Hotel to work for
Front Desk Supervisor/Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 21, 2017
I have been with Marriott for 15 years. customer service is a must
management are always on hand to help with anything that you might need, Marriott is a family orientated company we all work together to make one.
the hardest part of the job is not pleasing everybody, the most enjoyable part is when they depart from your establishment happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job summary
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Monroe, LAJune 21, 2017
we keep switching companies and cant keep a manager we dont get our raises are benefits.. every year we keep getting a new company its sad we cant get use to having things around here
Pros
the pool area and the lobby
Cons
going thru management no raises no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Rooms Control/ Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 21, 2017
Great place to work at. Teamwork. Always going above and beyond for guest and associates. Great work experience. Tools needed to succeed are provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Dishwasher/Steward (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAJune 20, 2017
working here was great. worked with great people, had fun while getting our tasks done. was very fast paced half the week but would go back to work there.
Pros
Workers
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
NIGHTTIME MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJune 20, 2017
Management plays favorites. No matter how hard you worked, certain members of management wouldn't acknowledge your work ethic. There was no incentive to go the extra mile.
Pros
hotel discount
Cons
no incentive to go the extra mile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an okay place
Cashier, Receptionist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 20, 2017
I worked for the valet services and it was a perfectly fine job to have during college. The cashiers don't make any tips which is a bummer but that's okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big compant that like to have it done there way
Night supervisor/bartender/server/cook/brista (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 20, 2017
Great pay great benefits out going crew no good management they are rude discounts on everything right in the middle of down town nice rooms and pool hot tub nice view
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avke, Inc under Marriott Inc.
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COJune 20, 2017
Franchised under Marriott Inc. Avke, Inc. is a very hard place to work. the Owner does not know how to treat her staff the turnover rate is high. The working conditions are hostile. there is no chance for advancement. The staff is not appreciated, the management is belittled in front of the staff by the owner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job, amazing staff, awesome guests
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saddle River, NJJune 20, 2017
Amazing place to meet all different kinds of people, amazing staff, amazing family you make when you work here, everyone is so loving and welcoming. Everyone helps each other just an amazing team
Pros
Free food, discounts on rooms
Cons
Messy guests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, and fun
Senior Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 20, 2017
Fun and fast paced place to work.
Many opportunities to cross train to best hone your skills.
Professional Members, and always there to assist and mentor.
Competitive pay.
Pros
People
Cons
no free parking for associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Courtyard Head Chef/Cashier (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCJune 20, 2017
I learned new things and met some nice people.
I opened and closed the Bistro unloaded food off the truck.
Ordered and maintained inventory of food and supplies needed to ensure efficient operations
Pros
Discount
Cons
No breaks, no leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJune 20, 2017
Work can be fast paced depending on the capacity of the hotel. The kitchen staff work well togather. The cook keeps the buffet and made to order food in order and the servers keep all of the guess taken care of. You learn a lot about catering in the food industry. The hardest part is the set up of the buffet line and the clean up. The most enjoyable part was working with the staff.
Pros
The hours of operation
Cons
Hours are not flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture and the hardest part of your job and the mo
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJune 20, 2017
what you learned management management workplace culture and the hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable part of the job the typical day at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
no comment (Current Employee) –  no commentJune 20, 2017
no comment on this company. I do not want to comment on the following the typical day at work, what you learned, management, workplace culture, hardest part of the job or the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place to work at
Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAJune 19, 2017
Have work here to experience it. I typical day here had it's ups and down. I've learned working here made me always have a professional attitude. The culture was awesome being that there's a lot of workers to meet and the job always has you guessing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the discounts with the brand.
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYJune 19, 2017
The people were great to work with. General managers were changed often. Ever changing work environment. Over not a bad place to work. Employer worked hard at providing a great experience for the guess.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Always new management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott Vacations Worldwide. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,911 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0