Marriott Vacations Worldwide

Marriott Vacations Worldwide Employee Reviews

Found 3,995 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for Marriott
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMarch 23, 2017
Marriott was an amazing company to work for. They provided excellent pay, and wonderful employee benefits. You were payed on a weekly basis and paychecks were always on time. They truly valued not only the members of the rewards program but also their employees. Marriott was one of the best jobs that I ever had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work while attending university or other educational advancements.
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Idaho Falls, IDMarch 23, 2017
Marriott is a highly respected franchise. This particular property catered to the part-time university attendee. It is a great place to work part-time. Advancement is limited.
Pros
Discount hotel rooms.
Cons
Lack of true advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Summer lifeguard/ pool attendant and server (Former Employee) –  Township of Galloway, NJMarch 23, 2017
A typical day at work, I would monitor the pool and from time to time clean up after people left their seats for the next set of guests to sit down. I also would get involved with the different activities the kids did. Lastly bring food to guests around the pool to make their stay more relaxing. The workplace culture was family orientated and close wand wanted the best for everyone involved. Marriott is a company that is well known for their Hotels and their culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy busy hotel
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 23, 2017
The Ac hotel is great company to work for, the hotel was always so busy with such amazing guest from all around the world. I always met great new people which i really did enjoy because I love meeting new people.
Pros
Great hotel
Cons
not much growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Office Guest Services
Front Desk/Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Troy, OHMarch 23, 2017
The only thing I miss about working there was my co-workers and the guests. I loved working in the hotel industry. Now that that location has a new GM, I would love to go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Guest Services/ Bistro Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXMarch 23, 2017
The Las Colinas Courtyard was a fun place to work with a lot of amazing people that you will meet over the course of your career here.

The hours are not standard, but this isn't your standard type of job.
Pros
Great people and co-workers
Cons
Unconventional Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice summer job!
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Somers Point, NJ 08244March 22, 2017
Great family vibe throughout the employees that worked here. nice place to work at over the summer time get to meet great people and have a great time working with others!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  MNMarch 22, 2017
Great place to work. With great people and a drive to take care of the guest.The future of the company is wide and great with the position of taking on Starwood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Data Center Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 22, 2017
Marriott International was a great place to work. Learned many new positions as well as learning the hospitality side. Reaching out into the communities and serving others was amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NY 13905March 22, 2017
You definitely get to meet interesting guests and get to learn things but not something I would make a career of for my life. They sold the company to someone else when i was working there and it went downhill.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
breakfast
Breakfast Attendant (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAMarch 21, 2017
I would come in at 4am and start to prepare breakfast for the residents. I would constantly have to go out and check if food was getting low and refill if needed.
Pros
free food
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you stick it out
GUEST SERVICE AGENT/AUDITOR (Former Employee) –  Hilton Head Island, SCMarch 21, 2017
Starting pay is a little low, but if you stick it out advancement opportunities are definitely there. Training is very good, and managment is always helpful.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Swing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an acquired taste if you have never done call center
Vacation Advisor (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMarch 21, 2017
This helps deal with scheduling timeshare reservations. Customers feel entitled and often put down or take out anger on agents. enviroment is fun and upbeat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Teaneck, NJMarch 21, 2017
Marriott is a great company to work for when you are fresh out of school. They have extensive training programs and promote from within. The opportunities are great if you are willing to relocate.

Upper level management are mentors and always have the door open. In busy times, they will roll up their sleeves and help out. Truly a team culture.
Pros
discounted vacations
Cons
days off varied
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
frront desk agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2017
I enjoyed working here. Many great co workers and guest I got to meet and get to know. Was always staying busy and that's what I like. This is a big hotel and I learned a lot about the hotel industry in a short period of time.
Pros
nice people
Cons
Just some nasty and rude guests to deal with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun plan to work
Server, Hostess, Room Service and Banquet Server (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 20, 2017
This company its awesome, they offer a lot of benefits for the employees, they care about you and they let you grow up i that is what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unfortunate
Assistant Housekeeping Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2017
Marriott's philosophy of "Take care of the employees and in return the employees will take care of the guests" is just simply not true. After this jib, I know exactly how not to run and operate an operation as well as how to manage a large staff.
Pros
Job security because they can't find anyone else who will take it
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Builds your work ethics
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYMarch 19, 2017
Very long hours, overworked with minimum pay. working two different position for the price of one. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Management needs work.
Pros
overtime
Cons
No breaks, minimum pay for the job of two
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marriott
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXMarch 19, 2017
Marriott is a great company to work for because they care about their employees. The company ensures that each of the employees have benefits and work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service
Rooms Controller (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 19, 2017
Not room for advancement in another role, very difficult to move and get promoted unless you know someone important on the industry. Not competitive pay.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Not room to growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott Vacations Worldwide. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,302 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0