Marsh & McLennan Companies

224 reviews

Marsh & McLennan Companies Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, very corporate, big.
Technology Coordinator (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 23, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not much advancement
Days are typically walk up and ticket based support of end user systems. Projects arise yearly for system refreshes, and rarely for much else. Work is easy but can become very tedious, repetitive, or even frustrating due to conflicting agendas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Business Process Insurance Specialist (Contract) (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 20, 2015
Great company to work for
a lot of benefits and flexibility
the company allows people to do their work without a manager hovering over the employees
the environment is very nice and peaceful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse organization with a great sense of corporate social responsibility
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Hoboken, NJMarch 10, 2015
This orgainization has a great corporate social responsibilty. The managers are supportive and encouraging. There is good energy and the very skillful people working for this company. They practice conducting business in a responsible manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creativity & Innovation is not embraced
Senior Quality Assurance Business Analyst (Former Employee), Hoboken, NJMarch 8, 2015
The compensation and benefits are very attractive, but only if you get into a management role.

Good people to work with, but salaries and contributions are not always commensurate with skill set or raises.

Resources are often over looked and overloaded.

Projects delivery dates are often backed into a date that management wants to achieve without fully rationalizing and evaluating the real effort needed to get the project completed properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Financial Infrastructure Support Analyst (Former Employee), Hoboken, NJMarch 5, 2015
Learned everything I know about Oracle EBS. Was a pretty decent place to work before the Finance Transformation project
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
producer- sales executive
Producer (Former Employee), NORTHEASTMarch 2, 2015
this was the worst "sales" job i have ever had. they want to pretend they are not selling insurance. horrible leadership. this is not MARSH it is a smaller insurance broker bought out by the larger parent company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with various resources, industry leader
Senior Client Representative (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAFebruary 28, 2015
Marsh is an industry leader in the broker space, the company has a wide scope of expertise and a global reach. The company is beginning to adopt an analytical approach which is a large differentiator in the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Licensing Coordinator (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 28, 2015
Learned how to perform Licensing Coordinator tasks with having associate(s) be in compliance with State Department of Insurance Office regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement
Team Lead Sales (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIFebruary 24, 2015
The office is downsizing with fewer people in the office, there are fewer group activities. Most communication is by email. The company has good benefits which are being taken away slowly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Data Research Analyst - Team Leader (Former Employee), Hoboken, NJFebruary 12, 2015
Working at Marsh was a great experience. Working with different databases to input company information. Even go so far as to work late and weekends to complete my task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Byer
Buyer Assistant (Former Employee), Buenos AiresJanuary 28, 2015
• Consultant with more than eight years’ experience in SAP PM Module, participating in large international projects, following SAP Best Practices solutions.
• Experience in implementations, roll outs and upgrades as a certified SAP consultant in countries like Argentina, Brazil, USA, Canada, Colombia, Sultanate of Oman, etc. with advanced adaptation skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where insurance experts can go
Wrap-Up OCIP Administrator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 27, 2015
Great for insurance professionals who specialize in "nich" markets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and soo much to learn
QA Analyst (Current Employee), Hoboken, NJJanuary 21, 2015
Pros: supportive environment
Cons: canteen is available for very less time
Learnt the overall Risk and Insurance business. Use of Oracle financials in business development. Implementation and Maintenance of project.
Team work and need of quality audits and process awareness
Challenging atmosphere
Hardest part of job is while performing agile testing to ensure that there is no defect leakage and also performing regression in midts of successeive deployments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
marsh supermarket (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: working
Cons: no raise
i loved working for marsh i learned alot the year i was there i learned to make scheldules make deposits count the drawers down and make scheldules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You want to work here
Corporate Accountant (Former Employee), Hoboken, NJJanuary 13, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: being laid off
A typical day for me was doing A/P, A/R journal entries, auding check and wire batches and T&E's. I could do this job forever. This job is truly my dream job. I learned so many thing from here and they cross train you to learn other departments as well to help out. The management is the best they bend over backwards to help you out and they are very understanding. You make your own schedule, and my boss had no problem with that as long as her work was done. My co workers were like family as we all worked together in harmony. This is the place that you want to retire from they offer great retirement packages and good compensation, and the health insurance is great the best I ever had in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company! great management and grew a lot professionally
Senior Casualty Claims Consultant/Vice President (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: too many to mention!
Cons: not enough time to spend with my young twins
I spent the most amount of my career at Marsh; starting out as an auditor, supervising new consultants, taking on Marsh's largest clients in various industries, becoming a team leader and project manager. I am so thankful to have been an employee at Marsh.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work, feels too big
Risk Analyst, National Brokerage (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 18, 2014
there was a lot of reorg when i was there... they are too big and sometimes there is no place for the those that perform extremely well. a lot of old timers there from the golden days and its tough to get promoted unless you have spent your time there (despite your qualifications)... all in all not a bad place to work, but definitely not for a go getter either
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly professional, good cohesiveness with positive team work.
VP Broker - Global Marine Practice (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 16, 2014
Major presence in the market. Maintaining a steady and positive relationship with our clients is a key challenge. Thrive in it and always up for the task. Work closely with the marine insurance market which is vital on the mid to larger accounts that we work on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coorporate atmoshpere/profesional
Payroll/Compliance Analyst (Former Employee), Louisville, KYNovember 13, 2014
Very profesional and good experience. Audit payroll process and taxes on weekly and semi employees. Audit all garnishments. Maintained state laws update.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome job
Receptionist (Former Employee), Morristown, NJNovember 10, 2014
There was never a day that I didn't want to come to work. The staff is great and working with the customers was a joy.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
New York New York, United States
Employees
10,000+
Industry
    Links
    Marsh & McLennan Companies website