MARSHALL DURBIN Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company should offer better pay
Chicken Marinator/Inspector (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJune 18, 2017
Company should offer better pay, especially for its employees that cross city lines for employment. Management should show more respect towards employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Labor
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 21, 2017
Very tiresome and hard work for little money. The hardest part of this job was working in the cold. I learned that working at night was something i didnt want to do.
Pros
Vacations
Cons
Cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work for
Cleaning Crew (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJanuary 4, 2017
Cleaning Machine, working with chemical, very nice,and we'll respect place to work for.learn how to be safe from danger what type of chemical to use..knowing I'm going home to be with my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSSeptember 21, 2016
Constant work environment, learned to be a team player, constant motivation from co-workers. Hardest part of job is cleaning up.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this company
Debone Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSNovember 9, 2015
Great atmosphere.

Great benefits.

Work, life, balance was there.

Took care of their people.

Pay was pretty good.

Room for growth and advancement.

Diverse culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Shift
Quailty Assurance Tech (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALSeptember 27, 2015
It was very enjoyable, with a lot a production being made, I worked along side a lot of foreign immigrants from Central America that enjoy their jobs I suppose.
Pros
Communication with others, mainly HR and USDA
Cons
Lunch breaks were only 30 mins
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
PULLER (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMay 18, 2015
Working and loading the production line and cutting produce. I did all the job duties on the line due to my experience in the produce field.
My co workers were very friendly and were great team players. The part of the job that I thought was difficult was adjusting to the way that Marshall Durbin did certain procedures compared to my previous experience of how I was trained in my previous job experience. The similarities were not to different and not difficult, but I had to adjust to their procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work for
Foreman/forklift driver/truck driver(no CDL) (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSApril 12, 2015
Learned more than i thought i would. We worked no matter what the weather and i liked that part most of all.I hate that the company closed i would of enjoyed working for them for some years.
Pros
Made good money
Cons
Slow process on moving up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable
2nd Shift Processing (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSMarch 13, 2015
I had to do other people work which was not expected of me. Decent pay but it had alot to put up with while working there. It was an alright place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Person
Lead man (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJanuary 24, 2015
To watch over employees and make sure the job was finished correctly and maintain quality of the product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about MARSHALL DURBIN?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't loveit nor hate it
Debone (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALSeptember 29, 2014
They have poor management and employee rules. Always be prepared to moving quickly on your feet all day. Its all about team work in which I enjoy. The hardest part of the job was working in freezing tempertures. what I enjoyed the most about Marshall Durbin was learning the process a chicken has to go through to make it on my dinner plate.
Pros
large break area, security
Cons
Overlooking horseplaying, bad mouth, some employees on other lines/departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loaded,unloaded
Packaging Clerk Marshall Durbin (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSSeptember 23, 2014
loaded, unloaded and stacked materials and products into package -processing equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyed my job.
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJune 26, 2014
Long and stressful days. With co-workers who for the most part didn't trust their own decision making abilities.
Pros
Being able to work without supervision
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers good benefits if you are a good worker and reliable.
Processor (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALMarch 16, 2014
When working here, you get geared up and start your shift. You may end up in different places, so you will be cross-trained. There are many advancement opportunities. Always remember to dress warmly, as it is cold inside. Hardest part is that you stand on a concrete floor. The best part is the pay. You start out at $8.95 and hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
faced paced labor
laborer (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJanuary 16, 2014
work in faced past cold environment.Learned different parts of chicken.hardest part of job was the climate in the area.most enjoyable part was good pay.
Pros
good pay
Cons
wet, cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn.
Quality Assurance Tech (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJanuary 9, 2014
Very good learning experience for me the two years there.And management was also caring and friendly.
Pros
Plenty of overtime.Long lunch breaks
Cons
Good healthcare, ten mintues to mine house
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wet and moist job place.
Production (Former Employee) –  jasper,alDecember 5, 2013
we cut chickens and divided everything up,i learen how to be fast paced,and the co workers were great, the hardest part was the cold weather on the inside of the work place,
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family friendly!
Debone (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MsNovember 1, 2013
Management is awful. If you have a family situation your supervisor does not care. There is no empathy for employees. Good luck IF you get trained before you start your job. Will throw you on the floor with no training and a 5 hr notice before your shift! You are just a number to this company. Run away quickly! Employees tried to warn me but I didn't think that slavery still existed. Their moral compass isn't pointed in the right direction. Be warned.
Pros
coworkers, over night, off on Fridays and Saturdays, paid weekly.
Cons
management, training, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun
Water treatment Tech (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALSeptember 17, 2013
Learned many things about chicken and how it gets to our dinner plates from the store.
Pros
Work area and education
Cons
Smell
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Floor person (Former Employee) –  Jasper, ALJune 24, 2013
always going and keeps you moving good vibe their and good co-workers also but overall good place
Pros
good breaks
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MARSHALL DURBIN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5