Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,213 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), PRNovember 26, 2014
I worked throughout my free time during the week. College hours and working hours never conflicted. I found myself highly motivated, working on a fast pace area. It brought me great interpersonal relations and motivates me to work on fields surrounding hospitality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible work experience
Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), Gurnee ILNovember 25, 2014
Pros: developmentally rewarding
Cons: low pay
I was hired back in 2010 as a loss prevention detective. I enjoyed my time with Marshalls the four years I was with them. Their Loss Prevention team is an excellent one compared to some that I have heard or worked for. They actually let you work mostly on your own to look for shoplifters and investigate associate dishonesty. I learned a lot from this – more... company and will be taking the tools I have gained here to my new job. I am thankful to the loss prevention management team for giving me the opportunity to be part of the team and gain the knowledge I have gained. I highly recommend district 1202 and the district manager, awesome boss who always answers his phone and is very understanding. He always looks for ways to help you and develop you. if you are looking for reviews to work for this company, here is one, go for it, you wont regret it! best of luck and get ready to work hard and catch people! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Workplace
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 25, 2014
Pros: nice managers and co-workers, meet new people
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at Marshalls for me was stocking items at the home decor section, cleaning and organizing each aisle, going to the stock room bring out more items, unpack boxes, do price checks, help customers so where they need to go to find what they need and go to the front and get unwanted/broken items to the front table inside the stock room. I learned – more... how to speak with customers and be confident and creative. the management were nice they appreciated my hard work. The hardest part of the job was lifting and unpacking almost 7 boxes and for a female that's a lot. Everything else besides that was the enjoyable part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unloader
unloader (Former Employee), Hanford, CANovember 24, 2014
great place to work, I loved the environment, but the pay was the worst part, everyone made minimum wage, for excessive work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls
Sales Associate/Customer Service/Loss Provention (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 24, 2014
Pros: good enviroment, contact with the public
Cons: labor was always slim
I enjoyed this position. it really had no down time always on the go with promoting sales, products or just personal goals. Very energetic enviroment. A typical day would be the sales meeting prior to shift the change, this allowed all of the employees to know our personal and company goals and concern of the day. This also allowed each department to – more... delegate the duties needed, I occassionally participated in the delegations when needed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing employees
Cashier, Shoe Associate (Former Employee), Port Charlotte, FloridaNovember 22, 2014
Pros: great prices on clothes, plus employee discounts.
Cons: very minimal pay.
The people who I worked with truly worked with me around my schedule. My coworkers became my family, and the management were always extremely understanding. The job itself is a great way to kill time. If you enjoy interacting with people, and enjoy clothing or shoes it's a good place to work. Like any retail stores, you'll always have sour customers. – more... However, besides that it's a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee), annapolisNovember 22, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: short breaks
Work the cash register for the whole day until the end of my shift. I helped put some merchandise back on the floor when they were on hold for 24 hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and influential
Associate (Former Employee), North Reading,MANovember 21, 2014
It's the 2nd best job I've had the opportunity to work at during my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Clifton Park, NYNovember 19, 2014
the whole team was lovely to work with, so helpful and willing to do what it takes to help one another and genuinely care about their fellow team member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No money at all.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Bridgewater, VANovember 18, 2014
They only pay 7.25 an hour for a very tedious work environment. I wouldn't recommend this job to my worst enemy. If you don't package enough boxes, they will fire you in an instant. Worst company distribution in existence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls - Security Guard
Security Guard Officer (Former Employee), Carolina, PRNovember 17, 2014
Pros: talking to customers; working indoors/outdoors
Cons: short breaks
I would get to work and would greet every customer as they entered the store. If someone had a question, I could either answer their question, or direct them to someone who could. Occassionally I would be asked to monitor the cars in the parking lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free food
Marshall's Shoe Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 17, 2014
Cool summer job
Good pay
Fun coworkers
Meet people from all over the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a lot of room for grown
Cashier (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 16, 2014
Not a lot of room for growth. Good for temporary work, but not a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good or bad just ok
associate (Former Employee), Portchester NYNovember 16, 2014
Pros: benefits, somewhat flexible schedule
Cons: associate discount is low (10%), minimum wage, barely any advancement, management
marshalls is nothing amazing its okay at best. The management is really weird all of the managers want things done differently, so if one day a manager wants the department to look a certain way & another manger disagrees the next day then you would have to keep doing things the way each manager wants it done (real annoying), sometimes one particular – more... manager makes you feel like she's always watching you and thats really disturbing to me i like to feel like im part of something and it doesnt make sense that every time im doing something a manger is telling me things like " I have my eye on you.", or "you better be doing it." like it just feels very uncomfortable to me. The customers can get real nasty with you over really little things and at times they just mess up your whole department without any consideration. the schedule seems flexible at first but i found it weird when i was closing the store everyday when i put my availability for any time (I hate closing.) some of your co workers are cool people tho but others are a real pain and rather complain to their favorite manager than speak to you directly. also the pay is terrible and you can only move up once from a regular associate to a coordinator. you get a 1$ raise and your workload triples. its ridiculous. oh yeah they pay minimum wage real. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like to be treated like a slave this is the job for you
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), Yonkers, NYNovember 14, 2014
sweaty, painful, messy, angry days
Horrible management
co workers were great though
hardest part of the job is management down your throat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee), Rogers, ARNovember 13, 2014
Clean and maintain departments.
Provide excellent customer service.
Recovery.
Management was great.
Wide variety of co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best first time retail job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Centro, CANovember 12, 2014
I had a great time working at marshalls, flexible hours, great coworkers and upper management. I am very pleased with my time working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate to work in this company
Associate (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLNovember 9, 2014
Pros: they don't value the job we do
Cons: they give less and less hours
When they don't like the employee anymore because they get sick or something, they start give very little hours until the employee quit, that hurts a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BREAKS
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Berwyn, ILNovember 7, 2014
Pros: 10.00 a hours
Cons: i was hired only temp
HOWVER THIS WAS A GREAT JOB BUT I GOT THIS JOB....THREW A PROGRAM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marshalls is all about being productive and team work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 6, 2014
Pros: being productive
Cons: n/a
A typical day at work would be giving wonderful customer service, and working as a team. My co workers was very friendly and helpful, we all worked on individual task and always help each other if an individual was done with there area. Honestly I would have to say the job was self explanatory (recovering if on sales floor) other than that I used my – more... time wisely by coming to work on time, doing as much as I could and helping customers at the best of my ability. – less

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more

Marshalls Photos