Find companies:
Marshalls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,041 reviews

Marshalls Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Under paid
Customer Service (Former Employee), Greenbelt, MDJune 16, 2014
Only hiring part-time workers but with full time hours with no benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very diverse environment, Friendly and helpful
Cashier (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJune 12, 2014
A typical day working at Marshalls was very busy It's retail so we were always busy Marshalls was a good environment my co-workers were very nice and we all helped eachother to get the job done i would have to say Marshalls taught me the meaning of team work, we all work together to make sure that the store was looking it's best and customers were satisfied
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of Store Managers
Associate (Current Employee), DORCHESTER, MAJune 9, 2014
Pros: associate appreciation lunches/dinners
Cons: schedule problems, very busy store, customer attitudes
Working at Marshalls is great if you work with people that you get along with. The store where I work has great assistant managers, but a store manager with an attitude problem. This person does not care about their associates like other managers in the company. They believe that they are better than everyone else. Most recently an associate had a loss – more... in their family and the first thing this manager said was Are you coming to work? instead of sorry for your loss, take all the time you need or something along those lines. I do still enjoy my job because of my co-workers, but it would be way better if that manager was no longer there or transferred to another store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with great associates
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 9, 2014
everyone greats everyone early mornings we share laughs and get to work. on an average day we accomplish our duties 30-45 minutes before time to clock out. We heed to other duties to be done. Management is well. Rules are set, rules are abided by. Nothing really hard about the job. I love my associates!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Retail / Customer Associate (Current Employee), Plantation, FLJune 7, 2014
Working at Marshalls is fun because you meet different type of people every day. Co-workers are united and responsible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again!
Area one sales rep (Former Employee), Shelby township MichiganJune 7, 2014
Pros: browsing merchandise
Cons: terrible management, no hours
I hated this job. I don't understand a company that insists on hiring as many non English speaking people as it does. This was really frustrating when they would page me on the walkie. Customers who come to this store are absolute pigs. No regard whatsoever for the store. The coordinator who worked in my area would do nothing all day and id come into – more... work with a full rack at the register AND in the dressing room. Another one who barely spokE English. I should have been paid a lot more for the amount of work I did. I understand being a part time employee but I'm not driving all the way to work to work a three hour shift! I can't even justify gas money on that! Also getting paid every week sounded convenient at first but after awhile you realize how poor it really makes you. Especially when you bring home a 60$ check. This was the worst place I worked next to target. And that's saying a lot. Also a 10% discount doesn't do much! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People Person and Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), manati, puerto ricoJune 5, 2014
Pros: vacations, paid holidays, sick payments
Cons: poor ethic on the manager groups, a lot of gossip, gender orientation discrimination
I'm a people person, got a great experience on sales, enjoy helping and listening to people love costumer service never got an issue with a costumer and they always like how i treat them just the way a liked to be treat. I care about environment and don't like any abuse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work for college
Customer Service and Inventory Management (Current Employee), Enfield, CTJune 5, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: customers
Work was good, especially being a full time college student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
associate (Former Employee), california tustinJune 4, 2014
Pros: affordable clothes
Cons: waisted labor and no advancement
Long story short Marshalls is no place for advancement. To many managers had to many different ways of doing things, employees dropped left and right because of the lack of communocations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
associate (Former Employee), california tustinJune 4, 2014
Pros: affordable clothes
Cons: waisted labor and no advancement
Long story short Marshalls is no place for advancement. To many managers had to many different ways of doing things, employees dropped left and right because of the lack of communocations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no advancement
associate (Former Employee), california tustinJune 4, 2014
Pros: affordable clothes
Cons: waisted labor and no advancement
Long story short Marshalls is no place for advancement. To many managers had to many different ways of doing things, employees dropped left and right because of the lack of communocations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day a Marshalls
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 4, 2014
I loved the customers that came in everyday I liked that I was able to do a little of everything in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
....
customer experience coordinator (Current Employee), Hackettstown, NJJune 4, 2014
I would manage the front end, Dealt with all the customers concerns and complaints. I've learned to have high patience in all situations. I've also dealt with the daily cash office handling the money from the day before. I've worked with some amazing people and that makes the job more enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job
Markdown Associate (Former Employee), Gainesville, GAJune 4, 2014
Pros: independent work
I worked with a good boss. i loved what I did and the crew that I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store to shop
Back room coordinator (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 4, 2014
A typical day is processing the truck and stocking the floor. My co-workers are friendly and fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was trying to make sure the employee put their fixture back . This way the stock room will be clean and safe. The most enjoyable part of the job was making sure I got my job completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), detroitJune 4, 2014
Resolved Theft and Fraud
Conducted Internal Investigations
Apprehended subjects in a safe and professional matter.
Conducted daily shortage audits
Educated employees on company programs to reduce shrink.
Supported non staffed Marshall Stores
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), detroitJune 4, 2014
Resolved Theft and Fraud
Conducted Internal Investigations
Apprehended subjects in a safe and professional matter.
Conducted daily shortage audits
Educated employees on company programs to reduce shrink.
Supported non staffed Marshall Stores
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancements with in this company
stocking (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 3, 2014
Pack and unpack items to be stocked on shelves in stockrooms, warehouses, or storage yards.
• Mark stock items using identification tags, stamps, electric marking tools, or other labeling equipment.
• Provide assistance or direction to other stockroom, warehouse, or storage yard workers
• Pack, seal, label, or affix postage to prepare materials for – more... shipping, using hand tools, power tools, or postage meter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with costomer sevice
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 3, 2014
working in costomer service was a great oppertunity to use my people skills to learn what the costomer needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 3, 2014
my manager was really nice and understanding. the co workers were a lot than I was so I really didn't talk to a lot of them. we were paid every week I believe and it could get really busy at times. its also important to maintain good customer service and assistance

About Marshalls

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more

Marshalls Photos