Find companies:
MARTIN TRANSPORT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

MARTIN TRANSPORT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Mondovi, WIMarch 11, 2014
would love to work for them but cant because of medical reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need to have better balance
Driver (Current Employee), Belvidere, ILFebruary 16, 2014
balance between life and work does not exsist if you have hours they want you to run ill work overtime but I have life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY
Driver (Former Employee), Kilgore, TxNovember 23, 2013
Pros: dispatchers great, pay was good when it was correct.
Cons: pay was wrong, managers are horrible and never there, you are micromanaged, broken promises. be advised.
Worst company I have ever worked for. Trucks are all junk. My first assigned truck I put in the shop was taken to another terminal and I never did get it back after I wrote it up to get fixed. The loaner I was in at the time was full of cockroaches in the beds and the A/C didn't work. I turned it in to be fixed and the next loaner leaked oil terribly, – more... but was forced to drive it because all they had were day cabs after it if I wanted to make any money. Sure you're assigned a truck but they don't tell you it'll be in the shop the next day, and you are the last on the totem pole to get a newer truck. I turned in receipts for various things I needed on the job and never was reimbursed after countless attempts. Paychecks were never right, and when I tried to call to get them fixed the manager was always out that day. I eventually lost count and gave up ever getting what was owed to me. To top it all off, Martin's driver manual states, that their drivers do not need a union because their job is secure and basically Martin takes care of their employees. If they had a union I would still have a job today. I was let go because STUSCO changed their requirements on the amount of experience you had to have to haul oil for them. When I asked my manager for a letter of recommendation so I could get another job, he said he simply didn't know if he could do that. I didn't get so much as an apology after I was told I couldn't work for them any more. If you are looking for a place to make money hauling oil, look elsewhere, there are plenty of companies that will hire that have better equipment. I also found out after working there that Martin pays the driver the least of all of their competitors. Open door policy doesn't apply if no one is on the other side of the door to talk to. Hope this helps the next driver. Would give no stars if possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Driver (Former Employee), Tucker, GASeptember 12, 2013
Pros: good miles
Cons: home time
my time there was good they will give u miles if they feel u are a good worker... the down fall is they wont get u home when it time to get u home depending on your dispatcher...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN GREAT PEOPLE TO WORK FOR
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee), Kilgore, TXSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: very helpful to ensure a driver has what he or she needs to do a good job
Cons: hard to find a con, may be more communication down the chain.
WORK AT YOUR OWN PACE, NO ONE PUSHES YOU TO BEND OR BREAK RULES AND LAWS VERY GOOD PEOPLE TO WORK FOR.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver (former) Houston lube
driver (Former Employee), Houston, TexasSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: not enough home time or pay
Bad dispatcher, too little pay for being away from family, no advancement while employed with them, poor equipment, poor safety, treated like a number instead of a human. Pay is .33 cents a mile. Otherwise great benefits. .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN TO WORK FOR YOU A TRANSPORTER
Driver (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJuly 6, 2013
Pros: fun
Cons: short breaks and good health care
YOUR A DRIVER YOU TRANSPORT CARS TO DIFFERENT SITES LIKE TO METRO AIRPORT OR TO CERTAIN LOCATIONS YOU DRIVE MANY DIFFERENT CARS OR TRUCKS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Regional & Local Driver (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJuly 2, 2013
Pros: good benefits, compensation
Cons: had to go out of town more than others
Always had plenty to do. the dispatcher kept me busy. Worked a good continuous schedule that never changed unless you had to go out of town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot on this job
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Mondovi, WIApril 26, 2013
Pros: nice long hauls
Cons: little home time
Drive refrigerated truck, drove coast to coast, across country, enjoyed th travel but little home time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to balance work and life any time your driving a truck.
Driver (Former Employee), Kilgore, TXApril 21, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: single tank truck not good for some of the jobs required.
I had a good dispacher, great benifits, long hours typical for truck driving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared to Leave your family Life
LPG driver (Former Employee), Kilgore, TxApril 8, 2013
Pros: none i can think of
Cons: below average salary for this type of work, equipment, awful dispatchers
Management is awful they dont care about you they only care about the loads getting done on time and without any excuses. J.R is a terminal manager at the Kilgore location and he dosent seem to know whats going on. I come to him about my truck acting up and instead of him getting me a spare wich was a new truck at the time he decided to let me wait – more... till mines got done wich took 3days so I was stuck at home unpaid. Dispatchers are a Joke and half dont know anything about driving. Apply at your own risk! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fast paced work environment
STUSCO Backup Dispatcher (Current Employee), Kilgore, TxMarch 24, 2013
Love this job, great environment, relaxed setting, very knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lg company with poor maint. equipment
Bulk tank CDL driver, OTR (Former Employee), Ran 3 week at time , over the US. Over roadMarch 2, 2012
Pros: make good money
Cons: worked 12-14 hours day, out on road 3+ weeks at time
They hire drivers in Florida. They have trouble keeping road drivers, from their area. All the work is out west.