Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with great people, but MB seemed to make promises they didn't keep.
Radiation (Current Employee) –  Covington, LAMarch 26, 2017
No promotion from within.
No compensation for driving to different clinics.
Worked with great people. Doctors were all nice.
Just badly managed at the top.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Low pay, not a lot of compensation for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet work environment.
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 9, 2017
I work from home doing transcription and I absolutely love what I do, but due to the company converting to an electronic medical record, work is diminishing, thus I feel job security is also diminishing.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
Not interacting with co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a very good atmosphere
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LA 70809January 4, 2017
I worked at Pathology Group of Louisiana twice. It was a great company to work for , and the manager for the department I worked in was very unbiased, and that made it an even better company to work for.
Pros
Very good benefits, and fairness
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical
Lab Courier (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LADecember 7, 2016
I have learned that there are a lot more things that go on behind the doors of a doctors office then you would expect. Everything takes time and you have to wait for everything to be ordered before anything can be done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping but not the overall drama
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJune 22, 2016
It's a great environment loved helping patients the only bad thing is management. You go in as one title and people try and use you and ask you to help one day and after that they expect for you to continue doing it over and over but this time without complaining. I loved my coworkers wouldn't trade time for anything but something has to be done about so called people who want to run something but are not suitable for that title.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping the sick
Patient Financial Counselor (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 2, 2015
The best part of my day is when I tell a patient that I will work out a payment plan on their radiation or chemo therapy plan. And they smile because they're on a monthly salary.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Health Insurance & Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Insurance Specialist/Collector (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 1, 2015
Great employee benefits, flexible schedule, paid holidays, nice
atmosphere, and the ability to cross train. Co-workers were friendly
and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make a difference, but Upper management doesn't step in when needed
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LaJanuary 22, 2015
I loved my time at Mary bird Perkins, and I put my heart into my work there, but when I needed upper management to have my back they left me hanging. It was a dishearting experience.
Pros
Mary bird culture
Cons
No support from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work, but weak upper management.
Social Worker/ Patient Navigator (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAOctober 22, 2014
Great place to work, however recently to many changes in management and problems with work flow/ processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked close to 5 years
Clinical Resarch Data and Regulatory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 8, 2013
It was a good learning experience. There was opportunities to attend lunch/learns in order to learn more about oncology. Also, throughout the year, there were opportunities to volunteer to promote treatment and prevention information. I worked as a data and regulatory coordinator.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 7Report

Want to know more about Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a stable place of employment
Hispanic Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 11, 2012
I enjoyed my job at Mary Bird Perkins knowing that I was helping the Hispanics of Baton Rouge and the surrounding communities about early detection of cancer.
Pros
got to travel
Cons
working 3 saturdays a month.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and busy
Hispanic Outreach Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMay 11, 2012
I have experienced a wonderful place of employment at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. As an Hispanic Outreach Coordinator I have been able to reach out to the Hispanic Community to educate and let them know about early detection on cancer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 16Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.8

Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center Reviews by Location