Find companies:
Maryland General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Maryland General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with patients
Patient Insurance Representative / Patient Access (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 25, 2014
Pros: even if one year we didn't get a raise, the next year would make up for it.
Cons: working short with a heavy schedule
It was a busy clinic where I worked. I enjoyed helping the patients and registering them. My coworkers and I worked very well with each other. We were a team. If someone slacked, then it was no issue of someone saying something to them. I enjoyed making my patients laugh or smile when they were upset about something. Sometimes it could be challenging – more... dealing with a person who was upset for what ever reason, but you learned to try to make it as easy as possible for them. I always loved working with the public and the patients always enjoyed coming to me. You had to focus on time because it could get very busy and you wanted to make sure that the patients were ready for the doctor to keep the schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constructive work Envoirnment
Phlebotomist/Processor (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: employee recognition
Cons: a lot of dissention
My Experience at MGH was Average regarding qualitative communications. My relationship with my Manager and Co-workers was a good experience. I followed and practice work standards and performance. Always Completing Competencies, test, and task. The hardest part of the job is balance. Nothing sparked more Commentary than asking, how to get to the top – more... of my field of work and be the very Best, Challenge is the best part of the job... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is TERRIBLE
Reimbursement Application Specialist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 23, 2013
a typical day is overwhelming. The co-worker are ok. The hardest part about the job was management not know how to do it either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A natural Passion.
Phlebotomist/ and CNA on job training (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 14, 2013
i learned you can help people in need and small thing can make a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and steady paced
Patient Transporter (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 12, 2013
I loved this company and all they had to offer. They were always there to ensure the very best of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall its a good company to work for and you have a chance to continue education
PCT (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: you have 30 for lunch and breakfast
Cons: short staff at times
It is a pleasure to work at UMMC MIDTOWN. I have been working for ummc for four years you come to work and do your job and time will go by fast no complaints from me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working around the children and the people
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 19, 2013
Pros: getting to work with the babies
Cons: none that i can think of
I loved everything about this job and the people and u get to learn a lot of things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is something else
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 12, 2013
Pros: self scheduling
Cons: no real opportunity for growth for pct s
Compared to other hospitals techs don't get a real opportunity for growth they do a lot of sitting with patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are great.
Emergency Room Technician (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 6, 2013
Pros: great co-workers.
Cons: management could be more approachable.
It's overall a decent place to work but management could be more approachable. I used to work in a level 1 trauma center where it was much more action. There aren't many traumas that come through but we get a fair share of medical emergencies. I enjoy most helping care for the patients as part of the medical treatment team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Competent Nurses
Registry Nurse (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 17, 2013
Pros: registry office personnel are great people!
Cons: parking can be challenging at times.
Great place to work. Office staff helpful, registry nurse are great people to work with. Can be challenging at times, but you will love this place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized and productive place to work in with a locker room to relax in when you take your break
Internship/Volunteer (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 30, 2013
Pros: gift cards on holidays, paid vacation and a raise.
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work for me would be to, clock in first.Then i would get a teal and count how much money would be inside it, which is usually 150 dollars.After i count my teal i would go to a fellow employee and relieve them, then start my work.Being at food Depot i learned how to deal with the public, count money, give change ,bag groceries and do – more... stock inventory.The management of Food depot was very organized and so were the managers.The store was neat as well as the employees.

My co-workers worked hard and were very dependable.My co-workers also took their job very seriously.The hardest part of my job to me was first learning how to operate the computers, but once you get use to it you get the hang of it.After you learn the basics everything becomes natural.The most enjoyable part of my job was pleasing the customers and learning something new. I love taking on new tasks and having responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working here was the so nice
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), baltimoreApril 14, 2013
Pros: when we had pharmacy week
Cons: great healthcare
I was always working overtime working hard helping people. my co-workers love to work with me I never had a bad day working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well nice place
Patient Transporter (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 5, 2013
Pros: person of the month
Cons: n/a
Here at maryland general the people were nice, i enjoyed wat i did and got to learn new things. different atmosphere but i liked it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BE READY FOR ANY, AND EVERYTHING
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee), 827 LINDEN AVE, BALTIMORE MD 21201HGApril 2, 2013
Pros: my job is close in location
Cons: i not sure that there is room for advancement
WE ARRIVE FOR HUDDLE, WHICH IS USED TO ENSURE CONTINUITY OF CARE, AND TO ABREAST STAFF OF NEW DEVELOPMENTS. HUDDLE IS ALSO USED AS A PLATE FORM IN WHICH STAFF CAN AIR PROBLEMS OR DISCUSSIONS. HAND OFF IS RECEIVED BY ON COMING STAFF. NURSE CHECKS CHARTS. NURSE ASSESSES EACH CLIENT, TURNING AND REPOSITIONING, V/S. TALKING WITH CLIENT TO DETERMINE THEIR – more... NEEDS FOR SHIFT. FIRST NOTE IS DOCUMENTED VIA MEDITECH. ALL CONCERNS ARE REPORTED TO PHYSICIAN. MEDICATIONS ARE ADMINISTERED SAFELY AND EFFECTIVELY. TUBE FEEDINGS ARE CHECK TO ENSURE THAT FEEDING IS SAFE FOR CLIENT. G-TUBES ARE CHECK FOR PATENCY, AND RESIDUALS CHECK BEFORE ADMINISTERING MEDICATION. PLACEMENT ARE CHECK FOR ALL NG-TUBES WE TYPICALLY HAVE SEVEN CLIENTS PER DAY, BUT HAVING 9 CLIENTS WITH THREE PRIMARIES CAN ALSO OCCUR. WE TYPICALLY HAVE AT LEAST ONE CLIENT THAT WILL REQUIRE A FEVER WORK UP, BLOOD CULTURE, URINE CS, CHEST XRAY, VARIOUS BLOOD WORK, AND OR BLOOD TRANSFUSIONS CAN BE COMPLETED DAILY. VENTED CLIENT ARE CLOSELY MONITORED TO AVOID VAP. WE ALSO CARE FOR VENTRICULAR ASSISTIVE DEVICE CLIENTS. A TYPICAL DAY FOR ME IS BEING READY FOR ANYTHING. A DAY IN NURSING AT MY EMPLOYMENT MEANS THAT YOU MUST BE VERSATILE. MY CO-WORKERS ARE TRUST WORTHY AND DEPENDABLE BECAUSE WE TRUST EACH OTHER TO PLAY A PART IN SAVING THE LIVES, AND SATISFYING THE CUSTOMER. THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB IS REMEMBERING THAT NURSING IS A 24 HOUR JOB, I TEND TO WANT TO COMPLETE ALL TASK MYSELF, I NEED TO LEARN TO DELEGATE MORE. WHAT I ENJOY ABOUT MY JOB IS THAT I LEARN SOMETHING NEW EVERYDAY. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the staff, we worked well together
Patient Care Technician/ Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: the teamwork
Cons: not enough staff
The patients were very different from others, it was a community hospital, so the patients were violent and rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive environment
Maryland, MD (Former Employee), Baltimore MarylandJanuary 29, 2013
I started in Environmental Services and worked my way up the ladder in becoming a Unit Secretary in the Intensive Care Unit. One of the most interesting part of my job was interacting with all employees on different levels in order to attain specific goals in caring for the patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Per Diem RN (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 19, 2012
Pros: team work
Cons: management
Assessment, plan of treatment development. Working as a team, because when admission keeps coming you have to work together
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Environmental Services/ Floor tech (Current Employee), baltimore,mdDecember 9, 2012
looking for a better opportunity work overnight just trying to find something during the day other then that great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn & Burn
Licensed Healthcare Provider (Former Employee), Linden AvenueDecember 9, 2012
Pros: great patient population
Cons: callous, nasty management
Great patient population, decent compensation, interesting neighborhood, flexible hours. However, after 3 months the practice manager announced (at a weekly meeting with absolutely everybody present) that they were ending use of my professional group. Basically, I and two professional peers got to hear that we were being laid off in a meeting with no – more... warning. I wish I could report that this was the low point , but management got even worse after that until the three of us left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviornment making an effort to continually improve service
Registrar (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 5, 2012
A typical day at work consists of providing excellent customer service to make the patients experience a positive one