Find companies:
Masonicare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Masonicare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geriatric Psychiatric Department
Secretary (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTAugust 22, 2014
Very quick paced environment. Every day posed a new challenge and everyone approached them as a Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nursing job
Certified Nurse Assistant (Current Employee), Wallingford, CTJune 26, 2014
. ADL's (Assisted Daily Living) support
. Provide daily activity report
. Medicine Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. It can be very relaxing if you speed up your work.
Resident Care Assistant, CNA (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTJune 14, 2014
Pros: great team work environment
Cons: parking space but it depends to where you work.
If you respect yourself enough and enjoy supporting people, This should be a great place for you. How people respond to you is definitively based on your mannerism. I can't complain because I'm always happy and ready to go. I hope that explain a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long term care patients
LPN (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTJanuary 21, 2014
focus on quality care for long term car patients. resident care and coordination for optimal quality of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job with Great Benefits
CNA/RCA (Current Employee), Newtown, CTDecember 31, 2013
Pros: health benefits, pto, holiday pay, friendly environment, tuition reimbursement
Cons: short (if any) lunch breaks
The workday becomes like 2nd nature once you get to know your residents and learn to anticipate their needs. The job can be very emotionally tiring, but worth it.

Sometimes it feels like management doesn't take staff concerns seriously and a lot of issues don't get addressed. Also Staff needs to be held more accountable for their actions and be disciplined – more... accordingly. In my opinion, if you neglect your duties (repeatedly), you shouldn't have a job.

Other than that, it is a fantastic place to work, with (for the most part) Co-workers that are as passionate about what they do as you are. Even people from other departments are friendly. The Company as a whole shows that they care about the well-being of employees as much as the people we care for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Workplace
CNA/PCA- Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTNovember 17, 2013
Always do their best to look for good help for their residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start
RN at Masonicare in Newtown (Former Employee), Newtown, CTOctober 15, 2013
Busy, fast-paced work environment. Coworkers (nurses) helpful. Good teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable working environment
Waiter (Current Employee), Wallingford, CTOctober 8, 2013
Being a waiter at Masonicare continues to be a good experience. I get along with my fellow coworkers fairly well. Management is as best as can be. The hardest part of my job is to bring food to residents at a reasonable time (between 15-30 min, depending on how many residents at my section which is a maximum of 5 tables with 4 seats at each table. The – more... most enjoyable part of my job is conversing with the residents as I work, as well as on my lunch break and my days off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Receptionist - Not worth it, you can find a better job
Temporary Receptionist (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTAugust 10, 2013
Pros: co-workers were very nice
Cons: no breaks, one hour lunch and no benefits
Temporary receptionist hired for 32 hrs. a week. Phones are very busy in the morning, but slow down in the afternoon. Trying to get access into the software applications that I needed to use took 3 1/2 days to get set up. Training was the worst that I have ever had. He did not allow me to use his computer and late on the 3rd day I finally got access – more... to the programs that I needed to use to complete the job. On the 4th day at work he said that if I had any questions to ask now. However, he was logged onto the computer at the front desk and I had to find another computer to log onto to get the feel and see where the information that I needed to use was and I had run back and forth to answer the phones. It would have been so much better if he let me use his computer while I was at the front desk. This is not the way to train people. Manager seemed nice during the interview, but working under her supervision, she was very dysfunctional and seemed to be more interested in sitting around and socializing. I never had any interaction with her during my employment. The other managers, nurses and co-workers were all very nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Wallingford, CTMay 28, 2013
Fun coworkers, good management, good pay. Job is tiring but when you enjoy the people you work with and the pay is decent it's worth it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PATIENT CARE FOR ALZHEIMER PATIENTS
CNA (Former Employee), Newtown, CTApril 28, 2013
Pros: they had people come in and sing to the patients
MAY DAY AT WORK WAS TO ORGANIZE MY ASSIGNMENT ,I LEARNED ALOT ABOUT HOW TO CARE FOR ALZHEMER PATIENT AND INSERVICES,THE MANAGEMENT WAS GREAT THEY CHECK ON YOU TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE COMFORTABLE OR HAVE ANY QUESTION,MY CO-WORKERS WAS GOOD THEY WORKED WELL AS A TEAM,THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS GETTING TO KNOW THE PATIENT AND THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART – more... WAS THE FEEDING TIME WHICH WAS A TIME TO GET TO KNOW THE PATIENT – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in CT!
Resgistered Nurse (Current Employee), Wallingford, CTMarch 4, 2013
Pros: free parking, weekly payroll, low turnover and staff longevity, excellent benefits
I have to disagree with any of the haters who have written poor reviews of this company. I have been with Masonicare since 2008. I have been promoted twice since then. The corporate culture really is to promote from within! They do alot for their employees and have improved on benefits offerings year over year since I have been here. They have a 401K – more... with matching! Most companies have done away with that, but not Masonicare. There is always plenty of equipment available to me to do my job and staff to resource for assistance. The proof is in the pudding - Masonicare has more long term staff than any other company i have worked for. They have low turnover and are never short staffed. They have not used any agency pool staff since 2008. The facility is clean and the residents are well cared for. I could never work somewhere where the residents were not first priority. Masonicare's management works under a "patient centered decision making" model - basically, they put patient care first. You would be lucky to get hired at this fantastic organization. if you dont believe me, see for yourself. – less

April 6, 2013

I don't know where you worked, but in PR, they work with dangerously short staff of RCA's, sometimes as few as 2 to cover 100 residents, impossible to do, and residents cannot get proper care! We always worked short!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
Current employee (Current Employee), WallingfordFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: the colleagues, the patients
Cons: the management/ administration
Things have changed here in a very short period of time, and not for the better: Continued decline in treating staff professionally and with respect. Poor administrative decision-making. Grossly short-staffed, creating tension and burnout. No managerial support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where employees matter
Business Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Wallingford, CTJune 28, 2012
Masonicare is a great place to work. They have excellent benefits and care about their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enriching, caring, fun environment
Social Worker Intern (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTMay 9, 2012
Pros: staff are very supportive, the entire facility is a comfortable, pleasing and welcoming environment, and the food is there is cheap and very tastey.
This job introduced many challenges that were most helpful to my learning experience as a social worker dealing with the unique cases of the adult residents and their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to much problem to much gossip as well short staff of employees
Laundry Aid technician/Linen Transporter (Former Employee), Wallingford, CTMarch 24, 2012
Pros: good hours, two 15 minute break and 30 minute for lunch
Cons: thier was no respect toward employees, not enough workers to due the job
a typical day at work not enough workers to the jobs in a laundry