Find companies:
Masonite
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Masonite Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numbers Trumps Safety and Quality.
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), Walkerton, INOctober 1, 2014
While it is a job, per-se, They try to squeeze out of a two-shift operation what they should do in three. It is not uncommon for forklift operators to speed through the plant in order to "keep things moving," which poises a safety risk for all pedestrians. The turnover rate is horrendous as management does not care if they run someone off. Their mentality – more... is that there will always be someone else to replace you. Due to this, they are finding it very hard to hire new people. Being in a small town, in which many live within ten miles, word-of-mouth spreads like wildfire. They are in danger of losing a major customer due to poor quality, (a by-product of the high turnover rate). All-in-all, if I could do it all over again, I would much rather go back to being a substitute mail carrier with a constantly breaking down mail vehicle and only working one to two days a week than to have had made the conscious decision to work in this micro third world country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no area fun
Make Doors (Former Employee), Decatur, GASeptember 12, 2014
very serious job
i learned paint
and repair
and packaging
i worked all areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work environment
Machine Operator (Bi-fold) (Former Employee), Denmark, SCSeptember 4, 2014
steady work flow
become humble and work hard
need better management
fun, exciting, humble, good personalities and role models
n/a
create special doors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Muntin Department Head (Former Employee), Pittsburg, ksAugust 6, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: hot summers
Early mornings, hot environment, good people, good bosses, plenty of overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Material Handler (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 12, 2014
Was a fast paced job that I enjoyed. Overtime was given and the managers were nice. I learned how to be a great production associate and how to work in other areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Atmosphere
Repairman (Former Employee), Denmark, SCApril 21, 2014
Long hours
worth the hours
get along well with everyone
Learned how to work pallet jack
learned how to work press machine
management was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, long hours
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Stockton, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: everything
Stock doors, load doors to trim line, stock pallets for fellow workers, dump all trash bins, constantly all day long, 12-16 hours a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers, Fast-Paced Enviroment.
Line Operator (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: incentives, safety dinners
Cons: short breaks, no air conditioning and very little heat.
Decent Management, younger supervisors and leads to all of the work for the Foreman who just sit in their offices. Day shift receives raises more often then Night Shift. Incentives are awesome every 1/4 year though and also co-workers are awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work at
Router Machine Operator (Former Employee), Stockton, CASeptember 11, 2013
being around people that make a job fun and also doing the work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team-oriented work environment and great benefits!
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: incentives, corporate card for fuel (and food and hotels, when travelling), car allowance, benefits from the month after your hire date
Cons: lack of employee training, car allowance is taxed
TSMs for Masonite grow sales by making daily store visits, training store associates, and inspecting field claims for stores' requests for credit. They are also the local and primary contact for the stores in their given territory for any questions, concerns, or issues that arise. My co-workers are great and extremely helpful. The hardest part of the – more... job is being stuck in the middle of a damage/warranty claim while having to wait on an answer from someone else, and trying to learn about our products while still doing my job. Driving long distances isn't the best either, but I'm not complaining. Overall, it's a great company! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive place the would joke around with you
Line Worker (Former Employee), Stanley, VAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: they would do excerises at the begginning of the shft so no1 would get hurt.
Cons: the breaks was only 5mins every 2hrs and had a half hr lunch and worked mostly 10hr days smetme more
I would go in and build doors and clean the machines at the end of the nite. I learned how the doors got built and how to repair doors if needed to be and how to buff the doors. The management was ok the boss that hired us threw was hardly ever was in the office and wouldn't be able to answer all the question I had. The coworkers there was ok they helped – more... you out and made you feel welcome and joked around with me and stuff. The hardest part about the job was being bent over all nite building the doors. The most part I enjoyed about the job was the people I worked with and the jobs I was doing I liked them all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for temporary employment in the summer
Glass Picker (Current Employee), Pittsburg, KSAugust 2, 2013
Pros: easy to get on
Cons: nowhere to go once you get there
Masonite works on a feast or famine cycle, following construction: Busy in the summer, not so much in the winter. It requires an average of 6-9 months to become full time, which comes with a substantial pay increase, but Masonite reserves the right to postpone that roll-over indefinitely. Upward movement is very stagnant, it's a top-heavy organization. – more... Expect 12 hour days in the summer, and 20-30 hours per week in the winter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job no room for advancement
Door Buyer/Planner (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 6, 2013
Pros: i was in charge of employee appreciation day
Cons: no room for advacnement
I went to work at 6am and worked until 4pm. I was very busy helping others and doing what I needed to get done every day. I was responsible for creatng and maintaing our Bill of materals so i was always interacting with IT to come up with ways to improve on the process. I interacted with managment and procurement team daily to ensure the materials we – more... needed were avilable. I had to schedule all the production lines and presses. I maintain all our min/max levels. IMy co workers were fun to work with and we all had something to bring to the table that made out jobs easier. My co workers made the job fun and we always helped one another. Since there was a huge lay off in Aprilof 2012 we al had to take on more job duties so we had to rely on one another to keep going and keep out spirits up, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back place of work
Pressman press machine operater (Former Employee), Denmark, SCApril 24, 2013
Pros: holidays off and pay, safety lunches, and 2:30 pm off time
Cons: very short breaks, tuff older equipment, some task take long to overcome
As far as an overall view management teams were always great to hear you out there also as supervisors team leads and even the senior worker great team the co workers are great as well mostly everyone knew each other if you didn't it was the matter of time before you did as of this job I learned a lot about the warehouse manufacturing type of work zone – more... before this I attended college so I am glad they gave me the opportunity the hardest part of this job was dealing with the weather and bad equipment an sometimes the pay and of course the shift but overall it was nothing that could break my spirit but the whole atmosphere of Masonite is the most enjoyable time to especially the gifts and dinners – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent job
Operador Fork Lift (Former Employee), Tampa, Fl.April 4, 2013
I liked this job because all the time need to keep with the eyes open looking all around when I drived the fingerlift. All the time alert.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Forklift operator (Current Employee), Denmark, SCApril 4, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: scheduling
I work hard at Masonite plant and enjoy it. I perform a variety of task for Masonite company like operating a forklift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel.
Territory Sales Mgr (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: all travel expenses covered.
Cons: was required to travel out of stare to often.
Got to meet and train all employees at 40 different Lowes Stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent personnel
Administrator (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 11, 2012
• Family-type atmosphere
• Brand new corporate office
• Excellent management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours but good environment
Paint Buffer (Former Employee), Greenville, TXDecember 4, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours
built friendships with alot of my coworkers. learned a new trade
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very hot place to wrk
Store Room Clerk (Former Employee), Towanda, PANovember 15, 2012
Pros: it pay you for the jobs that you cover
Cons: swing shift
It was a place where you could talk and work. It had awesome superviser they explained the dangers of the jobs. the hard part of die form was the heat

About Masonite

Masonite is one of the world's leading manufacturers of interior doors and entry door systems. Throughout the company's 80 year – Read more