Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Transporter (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 21, 2015
Transported disabled and elderly clients to different location throughout New England
Responsible for safety and well being of clients while being transported
Physically assisted clients in boarding and un-boarding transportation vehicle
Was responsible for physical and technical maintenance of vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Design and construction assistance
design construction (Current Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 21, 2015
This one of the best company i worked. My boss was the great boss and my co-workers are really helpful. Everyday i learned something for my work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office of administration
contractor (Current Employee) –  Charlestown, MADecember 1, 2015
I enjoy working for the director of Administration , she is very professional and knows exactly what she is doing. Working within operations has taught many things on how the public transit works.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice play to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlestown GarageAugust 18, 2015
I work for the director of Administration at the MBTA and I am learning alot. The atmosphere is productive and the people are friendly .
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Student Intern - Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 17, 2015
I enjoyed the past years I have been interning with the MBTA. This company promotes hard work, and pushes its employees to be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perform daily customer service while transporting passengers to designated areas
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 14, 2015
Very good job…I have been working here part time for past year while hoping to maintain a position that allows me to continue pursuing other aspirations/dreams.
Pros
Decent pay; Viewed as great career
Cons
6 hour daily break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, drama filled workplace
HR (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 6, 2015
Very hostile enviroment, lack of management. Cutthroat co-workers. Union issues constantly.There are opportunities to move into other jobs within the authority once you are in.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Horrible work environment.
Spare Inspector / Bus Operations (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 9, 2015
This company does not respect humanity, they treat everyone like a number. They offer 12 sick days a year but you get punished if you use them. A very hostile work environment. I have never had a job that from the day they hire employees, they look for reasons to fire them. The pay is about the only thing positive I can say about this job.
Pros
pay
Cons
everything but pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful atmosphere for learning and gaining experience.
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 7, 2015
I interned with the MBTA during the summer and everyone I worked with was more than welcoming and helpful. I learned more than I could ever have hoped to learn during my first internship. I will remember these thing throughout my career wherever it takes me!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge Building
Document Control Intern (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 7, 2014
This Job is just scanning documents from a dozen archived contracts for the MBTA.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motor Person, Red Line/Customer Service Representative
Redline Motorperson/ CSA (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 19, 2014
•Assists in the delivery of efficient and high quality customer service and safety at the MBTA

•Oversees passenger safety, as well as the observance of vehicle systems

•Operates rapid transit vehicles along an assigned line on a prescribed schedule

*Looking to pursue, jobs in my field the align with my Major in Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Support/Marketing Communications (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 20, 2014
Regular work day with management and co-workers.
Answer calls and record inquiries for customer.
Attend weekly meeting to go over updates and trends.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with amazing workers
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 3, 2013
I learned a lot about human resources from this internship and the different parts that make it up. I enjoyed working with others within the department as well as employees and retirees from the different departments that made up the company.
Pros
in the city, accessible
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could do better with Employee Moral
Supervisor of Operations Control Center I (Current Employee) –  45 High St. Boston Ma.August 30, 2013
Great job for a secure career but not good on compensating employee due wages for perfomance
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere, with hardworking employees.
Treasurer Controller's Office, 10 Park Plaza (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 9, 2013
The MBTA is a wonderful place to work. The people I work with are great people and I feel fortunate I am able to have a place to work out of college even if it is temp work. I work in accounts payable where I process vendor invoices, vouchers, and vendor information within Oracle Accounts Payable module. The hardest part of my job has to be when there is a slow day and there is not too much to do. I enjoy working especially on projects and like to keep busy throughout the day.
Pros
all employees work well together and get along well, which leads to being successful when completing a project.
Cons
temp job, low pay, no benifits to those who are temporary.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Transportation
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 8, 2013
Interesting and challenging.

Ilove my job but I hope to retire soon and start a new career m!
Pros
free transportation
Cons
always the bane of public wrath, lol !
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offered the ability to utilize assessment skills
Manager, Medical Operations (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 23, 2013
As a nurse one looks for a place to expand knowledge and challenge oneself daily, as a clinician this was able to be done.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Veterans Transportation Services Driver (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 22, 2013
it very good job and nice peaple i work with as team i work as driver i learn about the city
Pros
learn how to deal with eladrly peaple
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to create our own culture in the computer room
Help Desk Administrator, Information Technology (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 1, 2013
The day starts with a cup of tea. My users are very entertaining, so I laugh quite a bit throughout the day. I have little to no supervision, which makes doing my job that much easier. For the most part I enjoy helping people, and walking them through different situations.

The hardest part of the job is when a user can't quite explain what their problem is and I have to put the pieces of the puzzle together for them.

The most enjoyable part of the job is helping someone who really appreciates what I've done to make their day better.
Pros
free transportation to and from work
Cons
the computer room is very cold
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Lynn, MAFebruary 28, 2013
Driving all day
Commercial Driving
Busy at all times
Must Ensure Safety at all times
Good Pay
Diversity
Extream Customer Service
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture