Find companies:
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: location
MIT, it has a relaxed atmosphere. it is an interesting place, all the experiments and interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The atmosphere of new ideas s fun and exciting.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
High profile speakers are constantly visiting MIT and opportunities are abound.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Financial Coordinator (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
Great place to work with great benefits and ability to move up within. Great culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Research Associate - Scaling Innovative US Firms (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 1, 2014
Learned immensely, worked hard. Everyone is there to learn and takes their work seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Ed
Fiscal Officer (Former Employee), cambridge, MaJune 30, 2014
great place to work
great work life balance
that is all I prefer to share at this time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn technology
Research Assistant, Electroceramics Laboratory (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 26, 2014
Pros: great learning enviornment
Cons: no life work balance.
Great professors and students.
Lectures were fantastic.
However, the experimental instruments are quite old for some department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches at times
Cons: too quiet and cold
Clean, quiet and friendly co-workers. Corporate environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 18, 2014
Very Good place to work at. The labs are all high quality and very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Post-Doctoral Associate (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 12, 2014
A typical work day is different every day.
I was able to interact with industry companies.
Management was not very tightly regulated.
My co-workers were graduate students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be a graduate student!
Materials Science Graduate Student (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAMay 19, 2014
Great learning environment! Great people! I had a great time and learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never recommend any sane person to work @ MIT!
M.I.T.Office of the Registrar - Coordinator (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: refer to my review, and too many more to list.
MIT is by far the worst employer I have worked for. You are a "nobody" there unless you kiss serious butt! That's no bull. They lie to you, keep you in the dark, and are so uncaring about their employees. I for one, am so glad that I was laid-off!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 25, 2014
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Systems Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 24, 2014
Very technical. Very knowledgeable staff and competitive pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive under high pressure
Undergraduate Instructor (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 23, 2014
Chanllenging and very helpful for me to enhance my teaching skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 19, 2014
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Diverse place to work at many interesting cultures
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: friends, experience, interaction with people from all over the world, great benefits
Cons: just the commute
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the students and helping them with every aspect of school, personal and thesis prep.

One of the hardest parts of the job was the commute.

I worked with the greatest co-workers anyone could ask for they were always willing to help out on any given day.

I started at MIT at the age of 18. So I – more... have to say all my skills and experience was learned during the 21 years spent at MIT. They were very hands on and offered numerous computer/web classes to further yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Engineer (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: good benfits
Cons: long work hours
You can learn a lot. There are a lot of options to move to different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with you learn alot
Mail Specialist (Former Employee), lexington, MAJanuary 27, 2014
Good place to work, a lot of walking is required. You learn how to do all portions of the mail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Position is what you'd expect
Financial Assistant I, (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: good pay, not strict about time as long as you work 40 hours
Cons: boring, temporary, tedious
I'm am at MIT for a 6 month temp position as a Financial Assistant. Work tasks are sometimes menial. Mostly work with excel spreadsheets to do budgets. Work is quiet and dull and most coworkers are women ages 40-60, so things aren't exactly upbeat, but they love to talk about office drama. This is a job you take to make money and gain experience while – more... you look for something more fulfilling and/or permanent. For a temp position though, $23 is as good a rate as you'll find per hour and my boss is incredibly cool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times and experiences were different
Custodian (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJanuary 10, 2014
the co-workers were fun to be around and the atmosphere was great. the management on the other hand i felt like they had a black cloud over them a lot but i managed to deal with it.

1 2 3 4