Find companies:
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting depending on the department
Financial Assistant II- Koch Institute (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAOctober 12, 2014
My experience was not the best, I had no chance for advancement in my department. Some co workers spoke and some didn't, very miserable people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rigorous Environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 30, 2014
You are required and expected to give your very best and deliver results. It's a tough environment but the invaluable experience is worth it - you learn from and with the very best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You know what MIT is like.
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 21, 2014
Surrounded by super intelligent, hard-working people. Drive to excel in science is very apparent, and for anyone interested in academia, there is no better place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: location
MIT, it has a relaxed atmosphere. it is an interesting place, all the experiments and interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The atmosphere of new ideas s fun and exciting.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
High profile speakers are constantly visiting MIT and opportunities are abound.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Financial Coordinator (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
Great place to work with great benefits and ability to move up within. Great culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Research Associate - Scaling Innovative US Firms (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJuly 1, 2014
Learned immensely, worked hard. Everyone is there to learn and takes their work seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Ed
Fiscal Officer (Former Employee), cambridge, MaJune 30, 2014
great place to work
great work life balance
that is all I prefer to share at this time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn technology
Research Assistant, Electroceramics Laboratory (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 26, 2014
Pros: great learning enviornment
Cons: no life work balance.
Great professors and students.
Lectures were fantastic.
However, the experimental instruments are quite old for some department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches at times
Cons: too quiet and cold
Clean, quiet and friendly co-workers. Corporate environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 18, 2014
Very Good place to work at. The labs are all high quality and very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Post-Doctoral Associate (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 12, 2014
A typical work day is different every day.
I was able to interact with industry companies.
Management was not very tightly regulated.
My co-workers were graduate students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be a graduate student!
Materials Science Graduate Student (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAMay 19, 2014
Great learning environment! Great people! I had a great time and learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never recommend any sane person to work @ MIT!
M.I.T.Office of the Registrar - Coordinator (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: refer to my review, and too many more to list.
MIT is by far the worst employer I have worked for. You are a "nobody" there unless you kiss serious butt! That's no bull. They lie to you, keep you in the dark, and are so uncaring about their employees. I for one, am so glad that I was laid-off!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Assistant Librarian; Retail (2000-2001) (Former Employee), Cambridge, MA (for both jobs)March 6, 2014
Good environment to interact with the public in a professional (library, bookstore) capacity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 25, 2014
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive under high pressure
Undergraduate Instructor (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 23, 2014
Chanllenging and very helpful for me to enhance my teaching skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 19, 2014
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Diverse place to work at many interesting cultures
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: friends, experience, interaction with people from all over the world, great benefits
Cons: just the commute
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the students and helping them with every aspect of school, personal and thesis prep.

One of the hardest parts of the job was the commute.

I worked with the greatest co-workers anyone could ask for they were always willing to help out on any given day.

I started at MIT at the age of 18. So I – more... have to say all my skills and experience was learned during the 21 years spent at MIT. They were very hands on and offered numerous computer/web classes to further yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Engineer (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: good benfits
Cons: long work hours
You can learn a lot. There are a lot of options to move to different departments.

1 2 3 4