Find companies:
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times and experiences were different
Custodian (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJanuary 10, 2014
the co-workers were fun to be around and the atmosphere was great. the management on the other hand i felt like they had a black cloud over them a lot but i managed to deal with it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postdoc
Postdoctoral associate (Former Employee), cambridge, maDecember 25, 2013
• Synthesized novel compounds that damage DNA, used for the treatment of cancer and infectious diseases; Developed alternate synthetic methods for maximizing yield.
• Synthesized nucleic acid-genotoxin adducts.
• Performed synthesis of radiolabelled compounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Event Coordinator (Current Employee), Cambridge, MANovember 18, 2013
Very inspiring to work with the faculty and students at this institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place that can teach you more than textbooks
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MANovember 13, 2013
always inspired by talent people, cool ideas and cutting-edge technology every day. fast pace life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work and good people
HVAC Technician (Current Employee), Cambridge, MANovember 8, 2013
doing hvac call all kinds of equipment
the campus is huge
the people that work there all have 20+
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big dissapointment
Accountant (Current Employee), CambridgeNovember 6, 2013
Pros: stability
Cons: outdated equipment
I'm a current "back office" employee. We work on a very outdated equipment - I have 15" monitor. We just heard today from management that we cant wear headphones (some of us like to listen to music) during work hours. Flexible work hours, that MIT proudly advertises- just a theory... wont get approved. Big dissapointment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIT (several entities)
Senior Administrative Assistant & Office Manager (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: very good benefits, work colleagues, training classes
Cons: gossip
MIT is a wonderful place and environment to work in, faculty, colleagues and students are great. Nothing negative, other than some days are more trying than others but overall good experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good education
Ph.D. Research-MIT Biology Program (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: excellent education
Cons: requires self-motivation, can be frustrating and requires extreme passion and endurance
PhD at MIT in Biology is great education for an academic career. Many resources are in place to transition to industry as well. The situation is very lab-dependent. Choose a lab carefully. The Biology Dept. is very supportive to its PhD candidates as a whole and once accepted the program is geared to assist you as much as possible toward having a healthy – more... and strong experience. There are many friendly faculty members, all very ambitious and require a lot of hard work. You will be humbled, but you will come out a much better scientist. Again, choose a professor you communicate well with. Do not just choose based on research. So much of the learning process occurs depending on the atmosphere of the specific laboratory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One year contract
iHouse Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 23, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: parking, short term contract
Exactly what you'd expect from a one year adjunct contract. Parking is a pain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surrounded by smart and hard-working people
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 22, 2013
People here are not only extremely brilliant but also work really hard. Postdocs work during both weekdays and weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, great hours, supportive environment
Financial Coordinator (Current Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 22, 2013
Typical day at work
Reconcile expenses, review personnel info, manage core facilities charges, crate budgets, forecasts
What you learned: accounting.
Management: my manager is the best manager I ever had. She knows everything, and is willing to listen to my opinion/suggestions, and gives me a chance to work on my own.
Co-workers: my co-workers are very – more... nice people. It's pleasant to come to work everyday and see them.
Hardest part: sometime it can get busy (but not too overwhelming)
Most enjoyable part: I like to work with numbers, and I like to fix things, and to know that everything is in order, when I achieve it, I'm happy!
Overall this Lab is the nicest place I've ever worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the faculty and students, but a few bad apples...
Director, Office of Student Citizenship (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: amazing students, faculty, and colleagues
Cons: management.
This was very interesting work and required partnering with amazing people across the Institute. Everything my staff and I did had direct impact on people, and I learned so much about the different cultures that make up a complex organization. I would have loved this job except for a few people who, after 2 years, were clearly never going to change – more... or understand the work being done. This limited what I was able to accomplish, hurt the work of the office, and directly limited the offerings to the larger community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Adviser (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 17, 2013
Good place to work. Smart people. Good benefits package. Room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 15, 2013
Leader in everything tech. Brightest and the best. Good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 27, 2013
Great institution. Training and development encouraged. Good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatness is expected
Student Researcher (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 17, 2013
I was expected to be the best, and this expectation help fuel me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 14, 2013
The Pavilion at McLean is wonderful and played a key role in diagnosing my brother with Type 1 Diabetes and mental issues. Dr. Kleinschmidt was outstanding, and helped him through some of the toughest times in his life. Unfortunately, Dr. Vuckovic was not compassionate to my brother on any level and did not believe that he had a real problem (I have – more... reviewed him separately). Overall I would recommend the Pavilion as it changed my brother's life for the better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrical Design Engineer (Current Employee), Lexington, MAAugust 14, 2013
This is a great place to work. Its fun and challenging. Its fast paced and must be a multi tasker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small,close knit environment
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: benefits, yearly recognition bbq
Cons: nothing that comes to mind
I have worked at MIT for 18 years and have made some lifelong friends. I often wonder where did the 18 years go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19th century culture - surfs please apply here
Unavailable (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: see below
Job security is good, those who can leave do so as quickly as possible; so there is always hiring.

Salary is middle to low and you are unlikely to see any significant increase.
Advancement is minimal, managers and senior staff are on the whole middle aged and up - clinging on to get that pension (a good benefit although don't expect to see it if your – more... in your 20s, and really I'd rather have the cash to invest.)
Work life balance is non-existent. – less