Massachusetts Institute of Technology Employee Reviews in United States

Found 113 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The atmosphere of new ideas s fun and exciting.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
High profile speakers are constantly visiting MIT and opportunities are abound.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Financial Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJuly 14, 2014
Great place to work with great benefits and ability to move up within. Great culture
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Research Associate - Scaling Innovative US Firms (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJuly 1, 2014
Learned immensely, worked hard. Everyone is there to learn and takes their work seriously.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Ed
Fiscal Officer (Former Employee) –  cambridge, MaJune 30, 2014
great place to work
great work life balance
that is all I prefer to share at this time
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn technology
Research Assistant, Electroceramics Laboratory (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJune 26, 2014
Great professors and students.
Lectures were fantastic.
However, the experimental instruments are quite old for some department.
Pros
great learning enviornment
Cons
no life work balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJune 25, 2014
Clean, quiet and friendly co-workers. Corporate environment.
Pros
free lunches at times
Cons
too quiet and cold
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 18, 2014
Very Good place to work at. The labs are all high quality and very professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Post-Doctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJune 12, 2014
A typical work day is different every day.
I was able to interact with industry companies.
Management was not very tightly regulated.
My co-workers were graduate students.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be a graduate student!
Materials Science Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 19, 2014
Great learning environment! Great people! I had a great time and learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never recommend any sane person to work @ MIT!
M.I.T.Office of the Registrar - Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 29, 2014
MIT is by far the worst employer I have worked for. You are a "nobody" there unless you kiss serious butt! That's no bull. They lie to you, keep you in the dark, and are so uncaring about their employees. I for one, am so glad that I was laid-off!
Pros
none!
Cons
refer to my review, and too many more to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Assistant Librarian; Retail (2000-2001) (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA (for both jobs)March 6, 2014
Good environment to interact with the public in a professional (library, bookstore) capacity
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 25, 2014
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive under high pressure
Undergraduate Instructor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 23, 2014
Chanllenging and very helpful for me to enhance my teaching skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Diverse place to work at many interesting cultures
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 10, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the students and helping them with every aspect of school, personal and thesis prep.

One of the hardest parts of the job was the commute.

I worked with the greatest co-workers anyone could ask for they were always willing to help out on any given day.

I started at MIT at the age of 18. So I have to say all my skills and experience was learned during the 21 years spent at MIT. They were very hands on and offered numerous computer/web classes to further yourself.
Pros
friends, experience, interaction with people from all over the world, great benefits
Cons
just the commute
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 9, 2014
You can learn a lot. There are a lot of options to move to different departments.
Pros
good benfits
Cons
long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with you learn alot
Mail Specialist (Former Employee) –  lexington, MAJanuary 27, 2014
Good place to work, a lot of walking is required. You learn how to do all portions of the mail
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Position is what you'd expect
Financial Assistant I, (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJanuary 22, 2014
I'm am at MIT for a 6 month temp position as a Financial Assistant. Work tasks are sometimes menial. Mostly work with excel spreadsheets to do budgets. Work is quiet and dull and most coworkers are women ages 40-60, so things aren't exactly upbeat, but they love to talk about office drama. This is a job you take to make money and gain experience while you look for something more fulfilling and/or permanent. For a temp position though, $23 is as good a rate as you'll find per hour and my boss is incredibly cool.
Pros
good pay, not strict about time as long as you work 40 hours
Cons
boring, temporary, tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times and experiences were different
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJanuary 10, 2014
the co-workers were fun to be around and the atmosphere was great. the management on the other hand i felt like they had a black cloud over them a lot but i managed to deal with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postdoc
Postdoctoral associate (Former Employee) –  cambridge, maDecember 25, 2013
• Synthesized novel compounds that damage DNA, used for the treatment of cancer and infectious diseases; Developed alternate synthetic methods for maximizing yield.
• Synthesized nucleic acid-genotoxin adducts.
• Performed synthesis of radiolabelled compounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 18, 2013
Very inspiring to work with the faculty and students at this institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 118 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture