Massachusetts Institute of Technology Employee Reviews

Found 106 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Post-Doctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJune 12, 2014
A typical work day is different every day.
I was able to interact with industry companies.
Management was not very tightly regulated.
My co-workers were graduate students.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to be a graduate student!
Materials Science Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 19, 2014
Great learning environment! Great people! I had a great time and learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never recommend any sane person to work @ MIT!
M.I.T.Office of the Registrar - Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 29, 2014
MIT is by far the worst employer I have worked for. You are a "nobody" there unless you kiss serious butt! That's no bull. They lie to you, keep you in the dark, and are so uncaring about their employees. I for one, am so glad that I was laid-off!
Pros
none!
Cons
refer to my review, and too many more to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Assistant Librarian; Retail (2000-2001) (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MA (for both jobs)March 6, 2014
Good environment to interact with the public in a professional (library, bookstore) capacity
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 25, 2014
It is a great experience for growing in terms of knowledge but it is difficult to balance life and jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive under high pressure
Undergraduate Instructor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 23, 2014
Chanllenging and very helpful for me to enhance my teaching skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Diverse place to work at many interesting cultures
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 10, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the students and helping them with every aspect of school, personal and thesis prep.

One of the hardest parts of the job was the commute.

I worked with the greatest co-workers anyone could ask for they were always willing to help out on any given day.

I started at MIT at the age of 18. So I have to say all my skills and experience was learned during the 21 years spent at MIT. They were very hands on and offered numerous computer/web classes to further yourself.
Pros
friends, experience, interaction with people from all over the world, great benefits
Cons
just the commute
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 9, 2014
You can learn a lot. There are a lot of options to move to different departments.
Pros
good benfits
Cons
long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with you learn alot
Mail Specialist (Former Employee) –  lexington, MAJanuary 27, 2014
Good place to work, a lot of walking is required. You learn how to do all portions of the mail
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Position is what you'd expect
Financial Assistant I, (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJanuary 22, 2014
I'm am at MIT for a 6 month temp position as a Financial Assistant. Work tasks are sometimes menial. Mostly work with excel spreadsheets to do budgets. Work is quiet and dull and most coworkers are women ages 40-60, so things aren't exactly upbeat, but they love to talk about office drama. This is a job you take to make money and gain experience while you look for something more fulfilling and/or permanent. For a temp position though, $23 is as good a rate as you'll find per hour and my boss is incredibly cool.
Pros
good pay, not strict about time as long as you work 40 hours
Cons
boring, temporary, tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times and experiences were different
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJanuary 10, 2014
the co-workers were fun to be around and the atmosphere was great. the management on the other hand i felt like they had a black cloud over them a lot but i managed to deal with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postdoc
Postdoctoral associate (Former Employee) –  cambridge, maDecember 25, 2013
• Synthesized novel compounds that damage DNA, used for the treatment of cancer and infectious diseases; Developed alternate synthetic methods for maximizing yield.
• Synthesized nucleic acid-genotoxin adducts.
• Performed synthesis of radiolabelled compounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 18, 2013
Very inspiring to work with the faculty and students at this institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place that can teach you more than textbooks
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 13, 2013
always inspired by talent people, cool ideas and cutting-edge technology every day. fast pace life.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work and good people
HVAC Technician (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 8, 2013
doing hvac call all kinds of equipment
the campus is huge
the people that work there all have 20+
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big dissapointment
Accountant (Current Employee) –  CambridgeNovember 6, 2013
I'm a current "back office" employee. We work on a very outdated equipment - I have 15" monitor. We just heard today from management that we cant wear headphones (some of us like to listen to music) during work hours. Flexible work hours, that MIT proudly advertises- just a theory... wont get approved. Big dissapointment.
Pros
stability
Cons
outdated equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIT (several entities)
Senior Administrative Assistant & Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 23, 2013
MIT is a wonderful place and environment to work in, faculty, colleagues and students are great. Nothing negative, other than some days are more trying than others but overall good experience
Pros
very good benefits, work colleagues, training classes
Cons
gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good education
Ph.D. Research-MIT Biology Program (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 22, 2013
PhD at MIT in Biology is great education for an academic career. Many resources are in place to transition to industry as well. The situation is very lab-dependent. Choose a lab carefully. The Biology Dept. is very supportive to its PhD candidates as a whole and once accepted the program is geared to assist you as much as possible toward having a healthy and strong experience. There are many friendly faculty members, all very ambitious and require a lot of hard work. You will be humbled, but you will come out a much better scientist. Again, choose a professor you communicate well with. Do not just choose based on research. So much of the learning process occurs depending on the atmosphere of the specific laboratory.
Pros
excellent education
Cons
requires self-motivation, can be frustrating and requires extreme passion and endurance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One year contract
iHouse Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 23, 2013
Exactly what you'd expect from a one year adjunct contract. Parking is a pain.
Pros
experience
Cons
parking, short term contract
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surrounded by smart and hard-working people
Postdoctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 22, 2013
People here are not only extremely brilliant but also work really hard. Postdocs work during both weekdays and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 111 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture