Find companies:
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
87 reviews

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Adviser (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 17, 2013
Good place to work. Smart people. Good benefits package. Room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 15, 2013
Leader in everything tech. Brightest and the best. Good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 27, 2013
Great institution. Training and development encouraged. Good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatness is expected
Student Researcher (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 17, 2013
I was expected to be the best, and this expectation help fuel me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 14, 2013
The Pavilion at McLean is wonderful and played a key role in diagnosing my brother with Type 1 Diabetes and mental issues. Dr. Kleinschmidt was outstanding, and helped him through some of the toughest times in his life. Unfortunately, Dr. Vuckovic was not compassionate to my brother on any level and did not believe that he had a real problem (I have – more... reviewed him separately). Overall I would recommend the Pavilion as it changed my brother's life for the better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrical Design Engineer (Current Employee), Lexington, MAAugust 14, 2013
This is a great place to work. Its fun and challenging. Its fast paced and must be a multi tasker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small,close knit environment
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: benefits, yearly recognition bbq
Cons: nothing that comes to mind
I have worked at MIT for 18 years and have made some lifelong friends. I often wonder where did the 18 years go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19th century culture - surfs please apply here
Unavailable (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: see below
Job security is good, those who can leave do so as quickly as possible; so there is always hiring.

Salary is middle to low and you are unlikely to see any significant increase.
Advancement is minimal, managers and senior staff are on the whole middle aged and up - clinging on to get that pension (a good benefit although don't expect to see it if your – more... in your 20s, and really I'd rather have the cash to invest.)
Work life balance is non-existent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional leanrning environment
Security Coordinator (Former Employee), Lexington, MAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: lack of chances to be promoted
Lincoln provides a flexible and relaxed environment. Employees are great. But some management figures are out of touch or should not be in a management position.

Furthering education is encouraged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
desk clerk (Former Employee), cambridge, MAJuly 11, 2013
assisting students, sorting mail, secretarial duties, checking students into rooms, checking students out of their rooms, closing station at end of shift, opeening at beggining of shift.
450 memorial drive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient high performing and collaborative working environment
Contract Administrator (18 month Term Position) (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 5, 2013
Pros: work life balance
A typical work day at MIT-OSP is fast paced, deadline driven, and consistently challenging. There is significant variety in the workload, in terms of the sponsors types, agreement/contract negotiations, awards, and questions/concerns from the departments/laboratories/centers.

Staff are very busy with their own portfolios, but try to maintain a friendly – more... and collaborative working environment.

Management are supportive and provide professional development opportunities to their staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic programs
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMay 31, 2013
Excellent graduate education, challenging programs with exceptional support and environment for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMay 10, 2013
I enjoyed working at MIT as an administrative assistant in one of the departments. The professors that I supported were nurturing and kind. They placed a high value on training and development so I was able to get a lot of exposure to various areas of the department and their research. They included me in as much as possible to assist me in learning – more... what they did so that I could best support them. I wouldn't hesitate to return to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inspiring Work Place
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAMay 6, 2013
MIT is an excellent workplace. A typical day is very challenging often, productive and collaborative. Learnt a lot of new techniques and new instrument operations. Being a safety office in the lab, I have learnt and been responsible for quite a lot about safety issues in lab environment. Co-workers here are extremely helpful and always looking for collaboration – more... which increases productivity indeed. The hardest part is to live up to the expectations of the huge pharma company collaboration. The most enjoyable part is the challenges that I am faced with everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people, culture, vision
Member of Executive Team (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAMay 3, 2013
Working top minds in developing strategic solutions for some of the leading ventures in the Boston area!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is about research, experiments, experiments every day!
Research Technologist (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAMarch 19, 2013
Pros: smart people around!
I was involved in multiple medical research projects. Some of them were very ineresting and thereafter got published in recognized journals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest positive: work-life balance
Group Program Manager (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAMarch 1, 2013
Pros: work-life balance
Cons: career stagnation
Offers a reasonably flexible work environment and good benefit package, but few opportunities for career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a life experience
Research Assistant - Transit Laboratory (Current Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: free lunches, smart people, great community
Cons: little sleep?
MIT is completely different from anything I've ever experienced. I've never worked harder in my life, but I've also never felt more fulfilled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating workplace
Research Engineer (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 22, 2013
Several meetings, part development, part writing, moderate to heavy email load. Best part interacting with multi-disciplinary teams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diverse place to work
Office Assistant (temporary) (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: working at an academic and scientific institution; friendly and helpful people
Filing scholarly journal articles, faxing, copying and mailing documents and maintaining an organized office. I enjoyed working here because the people were helpful and friendly. I enjoyed filing because I sometimes paused to read the abstracts and therefore learned a lot about the research that was being conducted by the principal investigator. I was – more... introduced to the scholarly journal, PNAS. This exposed me to a wonderful resource for scientific research. The hardest part of the job was that is was only temporary; I wish the administrative assistant whom I was filling in for needed a personal assistant! – less