Massachusetts Institute of Technology Employee Reviews

Found 106 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, great hours, supportive environment
Financial Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 22, 2013
Typical day at work
Reconcile expenses, review personnel info, manage core facilities charges, crate budgets, forecasts
What you learned: accounting.
Management: my manager is the best manager I ever had. She knows everything, and is willing to listen to my opinion/suggestions, and gives me a chance to work on my own.
Co-workers: my co-workers are very nice people. It's pleasant to come to work everyday and see them.
Hardest part: sometime it can get busy (but not too overwhelming)
Most enjoyable part: I like to work with numbers, and I like to fix things, and to know that everything is in order, when I achieve it, I'm happy!
Overall this Lab is the nicest place I've ever worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the faculty and students, but a few bad apples...
Director, Office of Student Citizenship (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 19, 2013
This was very interesting work and required partnering with amazing people across the Institute. Everything my staff and I did had direct impact on people, and I learned so much about the different cultures that make up a complex organization. I would have loved this job except for a few people who, after 2 years, were clearly never going to change or understand the work being done. This limited what I was able to accomplish, hurt the work of the office, and directly limited the offerings to the larger community.
Pros
amazing students, faculty, and colleagues
Cons
management.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Adviser (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 17, 2013
Good place to work. Smart people. Good benefits package. Room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 15, 2013
Leader in everything tech. Brightest and the best. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 27, 2013
Great institution. Training and development encouraged. Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatness is expected
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAAugust 17, 2013
I was expected to be the best, and this expectation help fuel me.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrical Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAAugust 14, 2013
This is a great place to work. Its fun and challenging. Its fast paced and must be a multi tasker.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small,close knit environment
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAAugust 2, 2013
I have worked at MIT for 18 years and have made some lifelong friends. I often wonder where did the 18 years go.
Pros
benefits, yearly recognition bbq
Cons
nothing that comes to mind
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19th century culture - surfs please apply here
Unavailable (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAAugust 2, 2013
Job security is good, those who can leave do so as quickly as possible; so there is always hiring.

Salary is middle to low and you are unlikely to see any significant increase.
Advancement is minimal, managers and senior staff are on the whole middle aged and up - clinging on to get that pension (a good benefit although don't expect to see it if your in your 20s, and really I'd rather have the cash to invest.)
Work life balance is non-existent.
Pros
job security
Cons
see below
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional leanrning environment
Security Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lexington, MAJuly 22, 2013
Lincoln provides a flexible and relaxed environment. Employees are great. But some management figures are out of touch or should not be in a management position.

Furthering education is encouraged.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
lack of chances to be promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
desk clerk (Former Employee) –  cambridge, MAJuly 11, 2013
assisting students, sorting mail, secretarial duties, checking students into rooms, checking students out of their rooms, closing station at end of shift, opeening at beggining of shift.
450 memorial drive
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient high performing and collaborative working environment
Contract Administrator (18 month Term Position) (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJune 5, 2013
A typical work day at MIT-OSP is fast paced, deadline driven, and consistently challenging. There is significant variety in the workload, in terms of the sponsors types, agreement/contract negotiations, awards, and questions/concerns from the departments/laboratories/centers.

Staff are very busy with their own portfolios, but try to maintain a friendly and collaborative working environment.

Management are supportive and provide professional development opportunities to their staff.
Pros
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic programs
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 31, 2013
Excellent graduate education, challenging programs with exceptional support and environment for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 10, 2013
I enjoyed working at MIT as an administrative assistant in one of the departments. The professors that I supported were nurturing and kind. They placed a high value on training and development so I was able to get a lot of exposure to various areas of the department and their research. They included me in as much as possible to assist me in learning what they did so that I could best support them. I wouldn't hesitate to return to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inspiring Work Place
Postdoctoral Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 6, 2013
MIT is an excellent workplace. A typical day is very challenging often, productive and collaborative. Learnt a lot of new techniques and new instrument operations. Being a safety office in the lab, I have learnt and been responsible for quite a lot about safety issues in lab environment. Co-workers here are extremely helpful and always looking for collaboration which increases productivity indeed. The hardest part is to live up to the expectations of the huge pharma company collaboration. The most enjoyable part is the challenges that I am faced with everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people, culture, vision
Member of Executive Team (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 3, 2013
Working top minds in developing strategic solutions for some of the leading ventures in the Boston area!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is about research, experiments, experiments every day!
Research Technologist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 19, 2013
I was involved in multiple medical research projects. Some of them were very ineresting and thereafter got published in recognized journals.
Pros
smart people around!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest positive: work-life balance
Group Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 1, 2013
Offers a reasonably flexible work environment and good benefit package, but few opportunities for career advancement.
Pros
work-life balance
Cons
career stagnation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a life experience
Research Assistant - Transit Laboratory (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAFebruary 25, 2013
MIT is completely different from anything I've ever experienced. I've never worked harder in my life, but I've also never felt more fulfilled.
Pros
free lunches, smart people, great community
Cons
little sleep?
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating workplace
Research Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 22, 2013
Several meetings, part development, part writing, moderate to heavy email load. Best part interacting with multi-disciplinary teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 111 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture