Massachusetts Port Authority Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Noise Abatement Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bedford, MAJune 7, 2015
Great benefits and great people! Fun and challenging work enviornment. Many talented members in this organization from top to bottom.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interactive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  South Boston, MAMay 11, 2015
Each day consisted of traveling around Paul W. Conley Terminal recording and collecting date and interacting with workers around the terminal.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Police Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 9, 2015
I had a rewarding and fulfilling experience at the Massachusetts Port Authority. I met a lot interesting people on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job. Fun team
Junior Buyer (Current Employee) –  East BostonJuly 15, 2014
Junior Buyer, I love it here. fun and productive work days. I have learned to negotiate very effective with vendors. My co workers are awesome and have taught me a lot. The hardest part of the job is getting vendor to respond to RFQ's.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment to work in
Senior Auditor/Staff Auditor/Junior Auditor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 9, 2013
While working for Massport I learned about accounting and finance and have been able to apply that experience to other areas of my professional life .
Was this review helpful?Yes18No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pier superintendant
Vessel Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 5, 2013
The port authority was terrific, however the union, meaning ILA kept problems on the pier always. the benefit package through MASSPORT was great. the Job was very trying. as a manager and the differences with labor. This is a great place to work overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massport offer great benefits
Program Manager, Asset Management, Community (Current Employee) –  Logan Airport Boston. MAMarch 13, 2013
Massport offer great benefits and is very beneficail for the upper management personel.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all what you would expect
Accounting & Finance. (Former Employee) –  Massport. East BostonFebruary 12, 2013
Typical day.. Sit in your cube & work hard. Look up info needed by others, answer questions by phone etc..
I learned to keep my mouth shut and just work like a dog and learned that upper management does not give a hoot about your work ethics only about numbers. You are not a human being just a number. If you do good work & give all you have to the job, they will let you go..
Coworkers were the most enjoyable part of job. Great comradery.
Worst part was having to deal with upper management and obtuse people.
Pros
hmmmm.. none
Cons
they do not appreciate a hard working individual
Was this review helpful?Yes23No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Research Associate Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 10, 2013
i interned for this company, internship was great! supervisor was very helpful and showed me many areas of company aside from work i was doing in the dept assigned to. learned a lot but there was no compensation for any of it. selection process by HR seems to be more of "who you know in the industry" rather than your actual experience
Pros
great people, lots to learn
Cons
internships are unpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fair work enviroment. A company that values diversity.
Risk Management Administrator (Current Employee) –  East Boston, MAOctober 13, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to commincate with many different people. I do enjoy the flexibility with my work schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work.
GROUND TRANSPORTATION AGENT, TRANSPORTATION UNIT (Current Employee) –  East Boston, MASeptember 30, 2012
Arrive at work at 5am. Provide customer service to the traveling public regarding various modes of transportation.
Pros
great pay
Cons
work outside 5 days a week all year around. standing all of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great diverse work group.
Multi Port Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 11, 2012
Best job for meeting diverse people from all over the world.
Pros
fast paced and entertaining.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training seminars provided.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Boston, MAJune 15, 2012
I enjoyed Interacting with staff representatives, as well as other co-workers in various departments, traveling public and State Police who retrieved lost luggage and other personal items.
Pros
great benefits.
Cons
no overtime offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you would expect
Finance of a sort (Former Employee) –  East Boston, MAMay 1, 2012
Rigid, in-flexible and completely closed to new ideas.
If you like to offer solutions and are ambitious don't work there.
They don't value it...be in your seat, keep quiet and be a robot.
That may work.
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?Yes34No8

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture