Massage Envy Spa Employee Reviews

Showing all 363 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice to work at
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 31, 2015
It was a fun and relaxing environment to work in. Nice people, respectable clients and warm atomsphere. Co-workers are so-so they were informative but competitive so there is always that.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and serene environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 29, 2015
Coming into work I would take my place at the desk and sign in. Depending on the time, you see what clients are expected to arrive soon, what clients are late, and which clients are already there. As well as what clients are coming out. For any clients coming in that are new, you need to have release forms and client consultations ready for them to fill out. For clients coming out, if the client is a member you would check to see if they have any prepaid services in their account and if so, you are able to check them out ahead of time and put their transaction on hold to see if they would like to add gratuity to the card on file. In between checking clients in and out, you are responsible for calling and confirming the following days appointments, filling folders, and pulling folders for the next day. You are responsible for pulling up each employees tips for the day following their shifts. You are also responsible for booking appointments for any interested clients that either call or walk in. It is your job to try and fit clients into the appointment book to benefit their schedule, their needs, and if requested, their desired therapist.
Pros
Break can be taken at any time, quiet environment, not on your feet
Cons
slow pace
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy pressure work environment to meet sales criteria.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJAugust 27, 2015
Enjoyable job but there was alot of pressure to meet high sales standards. The overall environment was very calm and easy going.
Pros
Benefits, paid lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good cliental
Esthetician (Former Employee) –  arlington vaAugust 26, 2015
Just didn't work out. Was not a fan of Murad product or management. Loved the busy atmosphere. Great opportunity in a beginning field right out of school.
Pros
loved my clients
Cons
non caring for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Wellness Consultant (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAAugust 24, 2015
During my time at Massage Envy Spa, I enjoyed my time there for the most part. I enjoyed my job and I enjoyed meeting and talking with clients. However, I feel that management is lacking professionalism and experience.
Pros
gained experience
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDAugust 23, 2015
Massage Envy has been a very great company to work for and offers a lot of advancement opportunities!
Being a front desk associate requires you to help customers with their needs, as well as make sure the front of the spa is organized and clean, all cleaning duties are taken care of, selling memberships to new guests, filing, and scheduling and making appointments.
Pros
Discounted massages
Cons
working every other weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Esthetician (Current Employee) –  East Brunswick, NJAugust 22, 2015
i like working at Massage Envy. my co workers are fun, they're good company, and theres never a dull day. a typical day is having a couple clients and i do facials on them and sell products afterwards. management is good, they're pretty understanding when it comes to personal things like having a day off. the hardest part is that sometimes clients don't understand the timing with the sessions, it's a 60 minute session but it's 50 minutes hands-on. so they have 5 minutes in the beginning and 5 minutes at the end to undress and redress. so sometimes they think it's a full 60 minutes hands-on, and they get upset when they're told otherwise and they make it a big deal. i enjoy going to work, 95% of the time i have a great day.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, energy is great, good co workers
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CAAugust 20, 2015
Massage envy is a pleasant place to work at, busy office so days go by fast, good management and co workers, a lot to learn but not difficult
Cons
compensation, hours, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is self controlled.
Esthetician/Massage Therapist (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 19, 2015
Company makes workers work overtime. No room for advancement. Employees arent allow to advance, Sometimes workers do no take breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZAugust 17, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed the work there, got to lean quite a few things about massage and wellness, not to mention the actual people that I worked with. Still friends with them today!
Pros
Fun
Cons
Hours worked for the most part except for the rare occasion when it didnt.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Receptionist, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FlAugust 14, 2015
Loved working in the spa environment, I learned a lot and gained a lot of customer and clerical experience. I learned a lot about sales as well.
Pros
good schedule and work place
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company, too pushy about sales, horrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Southampton, PAAugust 13, 2015
Like high school, ridiculous inappropriate behavior.
Once you weren't making the sales they wanted, you got no recognition for any other good work.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAAugust 13, 2015
check memeber's in and out, pulled charts, processed payments, sold memberships, confirmed memeber appointments, general office duiteis, answered incoming call, transfer call, took messages, utilized millennium software
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great clients , workflow
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLAugust 11, 2015
Leaned A New Work Shop 'millennium.most enjoyable part satisfying the customers.mild work flow.exceptional co-worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work.
Licensed Massage Therapist (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXAugust 9, 2015
Be there for a long time and have learned how to manage myself and time. Because of Massage Envy, I am now ready to manage a Spa.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Receptionist/ Wellness Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vienna, VAAugust 6, 2015
I would tell anyone to work here great place and great people.
I enjoyed training people here. Learning new things also opening and closing the store. Working here was like working with Family.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to take when just starting off
Massage Therapist - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Stevenson Ranch, CAAugust 3, 2015
For the people working here. They are WONDERFUL and great to be around. It's a legitimate work family. The manager is friendly and responsible. Most of the clients are wonderful people.
The deal breaker with this location as well as any other location owned by the Rices is just that --the Rices. Don't expect any job growth opportunities or job incentives. Massage Envy is a good place to start out for new MTs, just be careful who's spa your working for. Not all owners value their employees.
Pros
Setting how many hours to be worked in a day
Cons
Cheap Fake Owners
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone worked together
Key holder (Former Employee) –  YoureeJuly 29, 2015
A Typical day at Massage Envy would Include answering all incoming phones , answering all clients questions and concerns. Booking and Canceling Apts. Cleaning our surrounding area.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy
Lead Wellness Advisor/Murad Liason (Former Employee) –  Ahwatukee, AZJuly 28, 2015
Typical job as a receptionist. Every new client that comes in must be sold a membership which is a script you must know when you interview. Friendly coworkers get you through the day, but clients can become difficult in not placed with a correct therapist which can focus on their needs. We had a lot of management turn over which was always hard since each management guidelines were different for the clinic.
Pros
Massages, Facials
Cons
Open 7 days a week, must request days off long in advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment, professional, wonderful workers and customers
Manager On Duty (Former Employee) –  Olney, MDJuly 28, 2015
A typical day at work was checking clients in and out, managing client accounts, membership sales, clerical duties; such as printing reports, filing, copying, answer multi-line phone system; call clients to remind them of their upcoming appointments, reach out to clients who haven't utilized the service for a while, performed opening and closing duties, oversee the success of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 363 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture