Find companies:
Massage Envy Spa
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
165 reviews

Massage Envy Spa Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Front Desk Receptionist/Sales (Former Employee), Shrewsbury, NJJuly 18, 2014
Pros: free monthly massage
OK. very unprofessional employees that talk about each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massage Envy
Licensed Massage Therapist/ SC License (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCJuly 14, 2014
I really enjoyed working for this company. The clients that I had really made the job a fun place to work. We were a brand new spa and I felt the management could have been a little bit stronger then they were but overall it was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Front desk associate (Former Employee), bloomfield , miJuly 1, 2014
Pros: i'm a leader, great hours
I have over ten years customer service three years management, and caregiver experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful experience but bad management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Manassas, VAJune 27, 2014
I really loved working at Massage Envy! Even in a high stress environment it was wonderful to work and learn from my fellow co-workers. My favorite part would have been learning about all the interesting benefits form the massage therapist and truly understand the memberships I was selling. The only bad experience I had was the very poor communications – more... with management which lead to a lot of unnecessary complications and mistakes. But overall I truly enjoyed all the learning experiences I was introduced to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company/diverse/ sketchy management
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), East Brunswick, NJJune 26, 2014
Pros: wellness/free massages/ good company
Cons: terrible management
Over all the company is awsome. They help raise awareness about diseases most commonly associated with massage. The setting was very calm and tranquil. And my co-workers were amazing. I worked with people of all races and ages and we all made a connection and saw ourselves as family. The only negative about the company was the management. Each clinic – more... is individually owned and managed. The owner of my clinic was ways very nice and humble. He often sent of lunch/brunch for the employees and sent out gift cards on holidays. But the management he appointed was sketchy and very muliputive. They tried to turn employees against eachother and showed endless favoritism. One manager in particular was often very sweet but did not know how to control her anger and often acted inappropriately towards employees. Your job was always threatened and tied to string over your head. The environment started to change and countless people quit/ got fired. Management also ingaged in fraud lying about company sales and numbers. They pressured some employees to get involved. They couldnt be trusted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having the ability to get to know people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GAJune 25, 2014
Pros: getting to know people and helping them with wellness
Cons: high amount of competition and lack of recognition.
The typical day at work involves filing medical documents and trying to sell memberships and informing patients the need and importance of receiving regular massages. The hardest part of working at Massage Envy was the high amount of competition there is in order to move up in the business. But the most enjoyable thing about working there is being able – more... to make friends and working in a spa like environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady place of work. Decent environment
Front Desk/Sales (Current Employee), Redding, CAJune 21, 2014
Everyone has been really great to work with. It's a new business here in Redding, so there have been some bumps in the road, but overall really nice facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massage Envy Spa Review
Clinic Administrator (Current Employee), Midlothian, VAJune 20, 2014
Massage Envy has taught me so much within the past few years, I am grateful for my co-workers and employers for creating such a welcoming environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist. Customer service. Preparing and inputting client information in computer files. Establish and maintain patient profiles. Answering the
Receptionist (Former Employee), Aurora, COJune 19, 2014
Pros: hours and scheduling
Cons: pay and management
I enjoyed the experience but there wasn't room for improvement and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative Sales Associates. Guest are attended to from the start of the visit til their departure.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fontana, CAJune 19, 2014
Pros: teamwork, all our sales associate had the drive to make our clinic most successful in our district
Cons: communication skills between employers
Massage Envy Spa is a very well put together franchise company in every which way and the expansion of more clinics nationwide proves in itself that Massage Envy Spa is a successful company. I take pride in the North Fontana Clinic I worked for several years we worked very hard as a team to generate new potential members as well as retaining our existing – more... members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So So work enviroment
Assistant Clinic Administrator (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 18, 2014
I love this job at my level it is very fun and I enjoy my co-workers, however the turn over rate is very high. Since being employed we have under gone three general manager replacements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lkjlk
sales associate (Former Employee), apple valleyJune 18, 2014
Great place to work. Fun. Free massges for the front desk girls, even during work hours when we wer'nt busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for newly licensed therapists
LMT (Current Employee), Grandview, OHJune 17, 2014
Pros: built in clientelle
Cons: low pay ceiling
It is great for newly licensed therapists as it gets you lots of experience fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
Licensed Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 17, 2014
Pros: set your own hours, only perform moralities that you're comfortable with
Cons: a lot of other employees so not a whole lot of walk in business.
I loved coming into work everyday. I loved the people I got to work along side and the management was awesome. Some days were slower than others and some days I sat there without any business but the fact that you're still getting paid an hourly wage when you're not busy makes it okay. Then when you are getting a lot of business coming in then the commission – more... for the work that you too is pretty good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All you are is a sales person!
Front Desk (Former Employee), Omaha, NebraskaJune 14, 2014
Pros: free massages, lots of free time to read
Cons: everything else
It says receptionist, but all you are is a sales person who schedules massages and facials. The management only care about sales, sales, sales. The turnover rate is very high for this position, because of everything you have to deal with.While I was there we went through at least 12 front desk staff at one point everybody quit in one week. If you don't – more... sell they cut your hours to barely anything. They wont fire you, they will basically make you quit by cutting your hours down to nothing. You sit around all day bored. Therapists are always with an attitude. The only good thing about this place is free massages sometimes. Other than that Not a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work-if you can handle never having a set schedule
Customer Service (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNJune 12, 2014
Pros: great people to work for.
Cons: no benefits, only flexible scheduling
The owners are awesome to work for. Very understanding. Work load was easy (maybe it was my experience). Not having a set schedule was the only down fall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with Good hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Geneva, ILJune 12, 2014
Love the environment and people I work with but am burned out on sales. It is a fairly high pressure sales job and I am not high pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLJune 12, 2014
Typical Day at Massage Envy:

Greeting clients
Scheduling Appointments
Proficient in filing
Maintained the cleanliness of the front desk and spa
Assisted the therapies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical Place of Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIJune 6, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: management & owners, pay, commission, benefits, work/life balance, pushy sales environment
A typical day at this job was sitting at a desk, answering phones to make appointments, present a wellness program to people that are not signed up for the wellness program, calling people that did not sign up for the wellness program, cleaning and sitting there twiddling your thumbs. This Spa is not busy you sit at the desk bored out of your mind. – more... This job is extremely sale's orientated, if you do not meet your sales goal each month you are first given a verbal warning, then a written then you are terminated. The work environment is extremely unethical. The owners are constantly changing the work environment with policies, procedures, monthly sales goals, commission, bonuses, job roles, and benefits. This place of employment is very unstable. The owners & managers only care about getting members to sign up for the wellness program, they do not care about their employees and having a positive team environment. The pay and benefits are horrible. Managers do not remember to give reviews and raises on time. There was extreme amounts of work place drama and gossip. You're employee reviews are shared with other employees which breaches employee confidentiality. There is very little work/life balance, sometimes ended up working 13 days in a row. If you are not liked at this place, they manage you out, harass you to the point that you quit. Also, they will not fire you unless they know they won't have to pay the unemployment, hence the reason they manage you out so you quit. Worse place I have ever worked for and completely unethical place of employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy location and continuously understaffed - You work a multitude of different jobs under one title and one pay.
Shift Leader/ Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJune 5, 2014
Pros: one free massage a month - unless your appointment was bumped due to a cs issue of course.
Cons: short breaks, pay did not equal responsibilities.
Some days I enjoyed my job and other days I loathed it. Depending on who worked the previous day or week even, I would walk into a multitude of serious CS issues. Clients were being told different things by different people, one FDA would say they would do something and would never follow-through nor would they follow up with that client creating CS – more... issues for the rest of us to handle. I was promoted to Shift Leader a few months after starting the job and my compensation was barely raised yet I had a dozen more responsibilities. I love the people I work with as friends but as co-workers they were not professional nor took orders from anyone.

Some clinics run smoothly but others have a difficult time. This clinic has a huge member base yet not enough therapists to accommodate those members. Every other phone call would result in me being yelled at because there are no appointments available for at least a month. Some therapists were booked for a complete year. Yet with all the issues from not a good member/massage therapist ratio the clinic still reprimanded us daily for poor membership sales. People would be taken off of the guest log for sales because it was assumed that they were not trying hard enough when the simply fact of the matter was that guests were not becoming members because of word of mouth and the length of time it took them to secure an appointment to begin with. Gift card sales were OK, but a few months after it would cause issues when people with gift cards could not use them.

Overall, your job as a front desk associate/shift leader is really a bunch of jobs all piled into one with one not-so-great pay. You book appointments, you do sales, you do retail, you do customer service, you do human resources, you do spa-back duties, etc. – less

1 2 3 4 5

Massage Envy Spa Photos