Find companies:
Massage Envy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
654 reviews

Massage Envy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
massage spa no benifits
Massage Therapist (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: no benefits
6 hours a day
Management is horrible
Co-works are great
Hardest part is dealing with my bosses unfairness
The enjoyable part is walking out the door
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at for a first job
Receptionist/Front Desk Associate (Current Employee), American Fork, UtahJuly 29, 2014
Pros: scheduling
Cons: healthcare, pay
Massage Envy is a nice place to work as far as a part-time, first job. A typical day at work as a front desk associate includes answering phones and scheduling appointments as well as introducing first-time guests to our Wellness Program. The management is pleasant for the most part, some of the cons including schedules being switched up last minute. – more... Overall, my experience there has been enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever!
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Anderson, SCJuly 25, 2014
Pros: free massages once a month.
Cons: everything else. (literally)
The store owner was absolutely terrible. He had a voice recorder over our heads, a camera in front of us and behind us. I personally had the highest gift card sales for the month and his exact words were, "You need more training. Do you have enough common sense to put gas in your car." He faked a holiday Christmas party and made the store manager pay – more... out of pocket for the supplies. He was reported by 4 employees. I loved my coworkers and the job, the management was just terrible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Licensed Massage Therapist (Current Employee), Saugus, MAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: great management and phenomenal co-workers.
Cons: during the slow season, lack of clients does not allow me to meet my financial requirements.
I truly enjoy working as a massage therapist at Massage Envy. My typical work day begins by setting up my treatment room and retrieving my clients files for review. I honestly couldn't ask for better co-workers as they are like family to me. Having the ability to help make a person feel better when they walk in pain or stress is the reason I chose to – more... embark on this career path. However the distance and instability to provide me the ability to meet my financial responsibilities is why I must keep massage therapy as a per diem career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massage Therapist
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Largo, FLJuly 23, 2014
They offer employees plenty of hours . Unfortunately although the prices for customers increased, there was no increase for employees as promised.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experince after Massage Therapy school
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Edgewater, NJJuly 23, 2014
Pros: benefits after probationary period. clean, safe and professional workplace. can be a relaxed atmosphere when youre not booked with a client.
Cons: over worked if you are a "good" therapist.
My day would consist of:

Performing a general assessment of the patient’s condition by intake form and brief interview.
Adjust Massage techniques to suit the patients various conditions.
Responsible for one full-body massage per hour. Massage being either: Swedish, sports or pre-natal.

Depending on your location, employee interaction can vary from – more... a closely knit family to every man on his own.

Most importantly, it is up to the therapist, how well you will build your rapport with clients. This is what will or will not keep them coming back asking for you and your magic hands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive business in helping people heal
LMP (Current Employee), Bonney Lake, WAJuly 23, 2014
All tasks and procedures were completed in a timely matter per company standards to ensure client needs were accomplished.
Scheduled appointments both via phone and in person to ensure client requests are fulfilled in a timely manner.
Developed an ability to communicate with clients while still maintaining a professional relationship and staying in – more... my scope of practice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Southlake, TXJuly 22, 2014
I worked for this company while I was home for summer vacation from university. The workplace was definitely different than I had ever experienced before and I would recommend it as a good place to develop skills and to learn more about which direction someone wants to take in their future. I'm not very strong in sales, which was part of the problem – more... that I had with making the extra commission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy.
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Jenkintown, PAJuly 21, 2014
I liked working at massage envy because I always had client. I was able to learn so much working there. My co-workers were very nice and very informative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Licensed Massage Therapist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 21, 2014
A place to get work experience; quality of clients depends on location of Massage Envy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothern VA: Dumfries, Manassas, Lake Ridge, Stafford
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dumfries, VAJuly 20, 2014
Pros: an airconditioned envrionment during the summer and its heated during the winter.
Cons: unknowlegeable owners, low pay, poor management, cleaning bathrooms, sometimes poor clientele
It would be in your best interest not to work at any of the locations listed in the headline. They are all owned by a couple, the Fischer's (their last name).

They are rarely ever in the clinics while they have literally no idea what goes on at the clinic level while certain therapists do whatever they want without consequence. They pay is extremely – more... low, try $8.00 an hour, plus a measly commission that ranges from $3-$12 with only two escalators that can "up" your base hourly wage. These are the same people that for years started new employees at $7.50 an hour. OF COURSE, because you can live off of that anywhere.

They have no idea how to run a clinic and no sense of promoting within for the people that actually work hard. Instead, they'd rather go out and hire externals that rarely work, or are just as clueless.

In a nutshell, if you would like to work for a company/couple who wishes they could be real business owners and not franchisee's, who have incompetent management, very low pay and little appreciation for their employee's, among other things; then you are better off working in the corporate world.

**This is NOT the basis for all Massage Envy's, just the one's listed and which ever more the Fischer's take over.** – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Esthetician (Former Employee), Austin, texasJuly 14, 2014
Massage Envy is a great starter job for an esthetician. The limited choice in back bar is very disappointing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Winter Garden, FLJuly 11, 2014
Pros: discounted massages
Cons: n/a
Massage Envy is a pleasant place to work. The staff makes you feel like family, the members are very respectful, and its a clean facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE and CLEAN atmosphere
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLJuly 11, 2014
Pros: love to work
Cons: long breaks
Typical day at work for me is to know work will be adventurous and fun working for and with client(s) to ensure their satisfaction. I want to learn how can in the future better assist them with better health-care. I want to be helpful to my co-workers and provider any knowledge that I attain during my Massage Program at school. There are no hardest – more... to Massage Therapy for me, I love my what I do. Everything about it excite and make my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales position
Junior Clinic Administrator (Current Employee), Lafayette, LAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: next to cc's coffee, and we get a discount
Cons: 30 minute breaks, infrequent job reviews and raises, understaffed/overworked
A typical day at work consists of booking appointments, entering client's information into computer, answering phones, presenting wellness program to prospective members, and maintaining cleanliness of clinic

With this job, I improved my time management skills and I learned how to handle money with constant cash transactions. I also learned, because – more... this was my first commission-based position.

Management is extremely inconsistent.

Some of my co-workers were great, some were horrible. There has been a lot of turnover during my time here.

Hardest part of the job was being understaffed. Most Massage Envy clinics have many more employees than this one, so each sales associate is doing the work of three people.

The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to connect with people, and help them find relief from pain and everyday stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massage therapist
Massage Therapist (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: very relaxed atmosphere
Cons: not constantly busy/ some times i drive to work and they send me home.
As a therapist that has worked in the spa and medical field, it is my observation that even the most inexperienced therapist are well underpaid at this establishment. Although massage Envy does provide affordable massage therapy, the compensation for its therapists are low. When i was first hired on at this establishment they wanted to pay me 15 per – more... hr, but their misleading hiring ad says make 27 to 37 per hour......that is including tips which they fail to mention.
Although i have that to say about pay, this is actually a nice place to work. A typical day is sitting in a quiet room, performing various modalities of massage, and listening to music. As far as mangers go i must say, i must have found a good spa. The interaction is pleasant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible location to work for
massage therapist (Former Employee), 1960 and eldridgeJuly 7, 2014
Pros: co-workers are wonderful
Cons: management is unorganized and they do not pay well
A typical work day at this partcular location. where do i begin. First they do not offer benefits or 401k at this particular location, they do not pay for idle time, you can not look at your tips at the end of your shift. the manager did not know what to do when it came to running to place. Do not know how to treat their workers with respect. Asked – more... things in my interview about what religion i was and how many children i had and if i did have children who would take care of them. these things which i found very uprofessinal. Co workers are wonderful and a joy to be around it is just the owner and the manager at this location that makes it very unpleasnt to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 7, 2014
Working at Massage Envy I have the opportunity to work in a relaxed setting while concentrating on the overall satisfaction of the guests. My duties include answering phones, setting appointments and checking in/checking out guests throughout the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 3, 2014
Pros: fun relaxing place to work everyone is friendly
Cons: not enough clients not enough work to go around
You get to travel to different places in the city and never know what will happen day to day as working for Massage Envy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massage Envy
Sales Associate/Receptionist (Current Employee), Morris PlainsJuly 1, 2014
Pros: paid lunch, massage benefits, great coworkers
Cons: not enough pay
I learn a lot at Massage Envy. I have became a much better sales associate through this job. It has become much easier to talk to and relate to clients that come into our clinic. I can overcome objections if guests at the clinic are unsure about becoming a member. I am no longer nervous to speak to a stranger on the phone. I also have learned how to – more... handle difficult customers in the nicest and best way possible. I can take care of billing and the money aspect of Massage Envy. – less

About Massage Envy

Massage Envy Limited, LLC is a national franchise of massage clinics dedicated to providing professional and affordable therapeutic – Read more