Find companies:
Massage Retreat & Spa
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Massage Retreat & Spa Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even bother applying here!
Not interested in any job here (Former Employee), MinnesotaNovember 16, 2013
This place is a con. Don't even bother applying. They will bait you with a potential job offer, then switch it up and offer a position at half the promised salary. What a joke! Go work for a real, reputable salon/spa. This place is run by a bunch of people who have no clue how to be professional or run a business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for therapist
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Maple Grove, MNOctober 16, 2013
i enjoyed working at this facility.i had great hours and i had fun working as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE JOB
Front Desk (Former Employee), Savage, MNJuly 18, 2013
Pros: free massage & facial when you first start working. nothing else
Cons: everything. management sucks, coorporate can't get anything right.
This place is absolutely horrible. I am so glad that I no longer work there. Management sucks. They were never there when they were scheduled. My pay checks were never right. The new assistant manager would clock you in and out for breaks that you never even got to take because you worked all day by yourself. The therapists were pretty nice for the – more... most part but too catty for me. Every one talked about every one else as soon as their backs were turned. You get accused of things that happen even when you are not there. Management does not care about your health at all. If you are sick you better find a way to get in there. High turn over rate. There were almost 3 managers come and leave just while I worked there which was not long at all. You get yelled at constantly about numbers. You force people into buying packages that suck. They lie to their customers. "If you don't use one massage one month, it will roll over so you never lose what you pay for"...when that is a complete lie. A customer didn't use 8 of her massages while she was pregnant and they told her should couldn't use them because they "expired". RIDICULOUS.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY. They promise "advancement" which is pure lies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy
Key Holder (Current Employee), Savage, MNJune 5, 2013
Pros: friendly work enviornment, great people, chance of promotion and pay increase
Cons: every other weekends
I am glad that I applied and happy to work here. Love the environment and the people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job!!
Service Desk (Current Employee), EdinaMay 3, 2013
Pros: feedback, monthly meetings, bonuses, healthful environment
Cons: no health insurance
I have had many retail jobs in the past and this is probably the best job I have ever had. Management helps you grow and change as a professional.

There are absolutely high standards and expectations. If I wanted a job without those, I would work for McDonald's. This is a career for people who want to go places, who want to push themselves to succeed. – more... I have watched a lot of staff members get promoted. Therapists becoming leads, Leads becoming managers, and employees getting opportunities to shine.

My manager has been working one on one with me to help me become a better sales rep.

Overall, this is a growing company that takes work and dedication to go places. If you are willing to do that, the company is fast to rewards and support you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with opportunities for advancement
Service Desk (Current Employee), Savage, MinnesotaMay 2, 2013
Pros: opportunities for growth and monthly bonus potential
Cons: no health benefits
I really enjoy my job at Massage Retreat & Spa. MRS may not be a match for some individuals because of the high expectations. Leaders and management take the time to invest in their employees to help them grow individually and prepare them for advancement. Service desk goals are high but the payout is also high. Therapists also have the potential to – more... make a lot of money. MRS provides therapists with initial clients. Overall, MRS is a great place to work if you're willing to invest the time and energy! It is worth it with the payouts and advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Skin Therapist (Current Employee), Savage MNMay 1, 2013
Pros: atmosphere, busy, achievable goals and bonuses
Cons: benefits! they don't offer health insurance and only vacation pay to full time employees
I really enjoy my job here. The people I work with are respectful, encouraging, and motivating. Yes, the pay could be better, but it could also be worse. The goals are not unrealistic, you just have to work at achieving them. I personally like goals to keep me on track. I've never had issues with "rude" management or threats from other employees and – more... everyone I know that works there also enjoys the atmosphere. Give it a shot! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience. DO NOT WORK HERE.
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Plymouth, MNApril 29, 2013
- Constantly overbooked. You might be expected to do 4 massages in a row.
- Incredibly low pay
- Gossip
- Unrealistic sales goals

I would not recommend working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AVOID THIS PLACE!!!! DO YOURSELF A FAVOR
Keyholder (Former Employee), EdinaApril 29, 2013
If you like working for a company that forces you to guilt people into joining a membership, this is your place. Extremely over-the-top sales goals. Rude management. Very high turnover rate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for!!!!!!!
Front Desk (Former Employee), Savage, MNApril 27, 2013
Pros: none. (that's not an exaggeration either)
Cons: gossip, morally repugnant, unethical, management
I have worked for the Savage location for its' entirety of being open. It is by far the most MORALLY REPUGNANT and UNETHICAL company I have ever worked for. Terrible management, not only at the location but throughout corporate as well. Never work for this company.
(unless you want to be DEGRADED, MANIPULATED. and UNAPPRECIATED every day) Employees – more... do not last long here. Savage has had a total change in employees since opening (I will be the last to leave). Not only have multiple front desk and management team given up on helping this company, but dozens of therapist have left the company as well.
Massage Retreat & Spa is NOT a FRIENDLY environment, they tell you things like "we love promoting with-in", "time off request are easy", "we can work with your other job", "you can work 25-35 hours a week". When in reality I can personally tell you that NONE of that is true.
The savage location has multiple internal issues as well. Upper management cares more about "who's more fun to gets drinks with" than who should actually be rewarded and promoted within the company. The gossip is also way OUT OF CONTROL.
Don't ever work for Massage Retreat & Spa. I honestly hope this place gets SHUT DOWN.
The company is not good for it's current/future employees, or it's clientele. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not perfect, but close.
Massage Therapist (Current Employee), SavageApril 14, 2013
Pros: busy, good people, fun atmosphere
Cons: no health insurance
No place is ever going to be perfect. I've really enjoyed my job here. Management does a good job of keeping a positive atmosphere, and really does care about the employees. There are always going to be issues where you work, but there is also 2 sides to every story. I love the people I work with and have amazing clients. The pay could be better, but – more... it is really nice to be busy and the opportunities for bonuses and advancement are really nice and not always present at other places. People with positive attitudes do really well here, people with bad attitudes do not. Isn't that true anywhere though? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely terrible experience
keyholder (Former Employee), savage, mnApril 14, 2013
Pros: nothing.. literally nothing
Cons: almost everything in the spa was a con
If you enjoy:

- unrealistic goals
- your manager screaming at you daily
- being forced to be a scam artist and get everyone into this membership
- getting daily complaints and threats from employees
- constant turnover amongst employees
- gossip, favoritism and unfair treatment amongst employees and management
- constant nagging from "corporate" office
- – more... being blamed for everything that goes wrong at the spa
- verbal abuse from management

then this is the job for you!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I have ever had in my entire life.
Key Holder (Former Employee), Savage, MNMarch 22, 2013
Pros: nothing.
Cons: everything.
They do NOT care about their employees. Unrealistic goals, constant pressure to sell memberships to EVERY new person (even if they are 13 years old!) that walks through the door. The pay checks are always $100-$200 off. I have NEVER had an accurate paycheck. They nit-pick every little thing wrong with you and want every employee to be the same. It's – more... literally like a concentration camp. I am moving on and finding somewhere else to work. The turnover rate is SO HIGH, the store has already had a complete turnover and it's not even been open 6 months. Don't ever work here! I hope this place gets shut down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they do not care about their employees
Certified/Licensed Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Shoreview, MNFebruary 22, 2013
Massage Retreat & Spa is not a friendly place to work for in Shoreview they are no different than Massage Envy when it comes to caring about their therapist. I would not recommend anyone work for this company

About Massage Retreat & Spa

Massage Retreat & Spa makes the benefits, relaxation and rejuvenation of massage and skin care services affordable and convenient – Read more

Massage Retreat & Spa Photos