MASSASOIT COMMUNITY COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong sense of community
Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAApril 12, 2017
The college really takes care of its own and tries to "keep it in the family" when possible. They do this by offering discounted classes to employees and promoting from within when possible.

Unfortunately, with the current economic climate there are some budget woes at the moment.
Pros
Community, dedication to the mission
Cons
State employees not working THAT hard, doesn't pay exceptionally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meets Expectations
English Composition and Writing Teacher (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAApril 10, 2017
Your time as a adjunct faculty at Massasoit is pendent upon what classes you are given.

The major drawback to this place and any other community college is the tenuous nature of the job. Once the semester is over, there is no guarantee that you will be selected to teach the subsequent semester. It all hinges upon the level of enrollment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The ARC is a fine place to work!
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAApril 6, 2017
Working for the Academic Resource Center at Massasoit Community College is a wonderful experience. Employees are given ample control of their workflow and administrators are very supportive. I would highly recommend anyone in need of flexible, part-time employment consider applying!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Director (Current Employee) –  CanronMarch 29, 2017
A typical day of work consists of teaching students and completing the clinical internship placement. The culture at Massasoit Community College is excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has gone way down hill
Building Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAMarch 3, 2017
I can't take it any more!!! Within the last few years Massasoit has become a terrible place to work. The lies and incompetency are of the abundance.
Pros
PTO
Cons
Admin, Politics, Union Red tape.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a Follet position
Store Manager II (Former Employee) –  Massasoit, MAFebruary 23, 2017
I was the General Manager of 10 to 35 employees (depending on the season) This was my first position with Follett and I was promoted to UMass Boston from this position after only 1 1/2 years. The job taught me a lot and I made many beneficial changes to the established (inefficient) employee habits, store level policies and procedures while I was here, achieving my financial goal, thereby making money for my company and maximizing my own bonus
Pros
Good Salary and Benefits
Cons
Moral is low company-wide
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work.
Oracle/Banner DBA (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAAugust 28, 2014
Fantastic Environment with friendly people . Everybody is warm and friendly and the working environment is very ideal . Training is provided for the technologies needed for work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political oriented college
Foreman and staff (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAJuly 16, 2014
Superiors were never available for questions and guidance.
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work if you do not want to grow
Help Desk/Student Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAJune 26, 2014
commonwealth of Mass - everything is conducted by state policy.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at with nice people.
BOOKSELLER (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAJanuary 7, 2014
-Getting Books for college students
-Filing, answering phones, using a cash register
-Good management
-Answering phones
-The people I get to interact with
Pros
Great people, good environment to work
Cons
Standing on feet for too long
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool people, great part time job.
Media Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAJune 18, 2013
Had fun, was fairly laid back and coworkers were awesome. I would go back again if I needed another part time job while living in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty decent Television Studio, and awesome staff
Television Technician (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAMarch 21, 2013
An opportunity to collaborate with creative workers. Often times efforts to bring new things to the stable would drag, but fun environment.
Pros
great people
Cons
heavily rely on state funding
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely campus and nice college to be working at.
Registered Nurse Tutor (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAJanuary 25, 2013
I tutor nursing students in the Fundamentals of Nursing for 4 hours three times a week. I learned that I really enjoyed transforming my knowledge to the students. The hardest part of the job is when I cannot answer a difficult clinical question and have to refer to the professors for assistance.
Pros
working in a college i graduated from is rewarding.
Cons
no employee benefits or extra hours available
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Excellent people to work with
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAJanuary 15, 2013
My job was fun, exciting, and fast paced. My duties included renewing student id's, taking pictures of students to get new id's, sold movie tickets and baseball tickets, collected items to put in inventory for lost and found, copied documents for the director, answered telephones and transferred them to the appropriate departments. Also went above and beyond my duties as an Office Assistant.
Pros
eat in office, long breaks, and studying
Cons
cut hours, extra work without pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team players
Science Tutor (Former Employee) –  Brockton MASeptember 21, 2012
This was an excellent environment to work with all cultures and the support from one another is great
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A real sense of community
ADJUNCT FACULTY (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAJuly 7, 2012
Massasoit is a community of teachers and administrators all committed to the education and development of their students. It is an open-minded, accepting, and inclusive place to work. There is plenty of support for you and for your students.
Pros
schedule, campus location, people
Cons
none - perhaps higher compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MASSASOIT COMMUNITY COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

MASSASOIT COMMUNITY COLLEGE Reviews by Location