Find companies:
MassMutual Financial Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

MassMutual Financial Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent Place to work
District Manager (Former Employee), Bedford NHJuly 17, 2014
Excellent work enviroment professional and customer oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience where everyone wants to help you
Summer Intern (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 6, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: na
Internship is a very productive one with three rotations throughout the summer. Each supervisor assists in ensuring that the intern understands the work that is assigned to him/her and always are willing to help when the process is not understood. Management is a nice part of the job as you do not feel bogged down in work that you do not want to partake – more... in and they are always open for changes.

In all, a very nice company to work for especially if a person is interested in the insurance agent career track. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY FROM THE SELLING PORTION!!!
Life Insurance Salesman (Former Employee), Nashua, NHJune 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: just stay away
The office I worked for has been shut down.
My hiring manager was horrible. Trying to be some psychologist, answering your questions with the same question. Was even threatened once.
Office romances were out of hand, and if you weren't in on it you were left to figure out everything on your own.

It was horrible!!! Personally, I asked for help from – more... MY manager and I was sent to another manager, who sent me to another manager, who sent me to the OWNER of the office, who sent me back to MY manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Financial Professional (Former Employee), Orange, CAJune 24, 2014
Pros: good balance between life and job
Cons: %100 on commission
You have the full control of your job and life, the compensation is good enough, the manager was so polite and skillful. The location is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive professional workplace which offers unique and secure financial services
Financial Services Professional (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 23, 2014
Pros: excellent financial services, great office and great professional staff
This is a wonderful company with great benefits, and superior financial services and orientation programs. Co-workers are team oriented, very professional, excellent and facilitate the creation of financial programs for customers and prospective customers. We work as a trusted team members on all projects. Yes, we have office service support. The most – more... enjoyable part of the job is identifying customer needs and assisting customers and prospects to reach their financial goals. I learned a great deal that has improved my professional and personal relationship building.

One can advance professionally; the job work hours are very flexible ; and I am establishing a work life/personal life balance that matches my goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission only. Be Prepared for a long stretch of no income at the beginning.
Financial Services Representative/ Partner (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 10, 2014
Sales job. Responsible for finding your own clients and selling them life and disability insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Financial Representative with the Hoopis Agency (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 6, 2014
1.) I am very structured in my sales technique.
a.) Office work from 7am - 9:30am
b.) Appointments from 10:30am - 3:30pm - Usually invales 30 minutes travel between appointments. Ideally I see 3 people a day
c.) Setting appointments 3:30pm - 5:30pm
2.) With my job you are constantly learning to keep up with the idustry.
3.) Am a detached agent so never – more... had much contact with others in the office as it was 80 minutes away.
4.) The hardest part of my job is convincing people they need to save
5.) I truly enjoy the aspect of designing solutions to help people meet their financial needs today, 10 years from now and retirement.

This is an extremely rewarding carrier – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer the best place to work
COMPLIANCE CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Springfield, MAJune 3, 2014
Pros: good co-workers, learn alot
Cons: narcissism and political personailites are ruining company, no time for personal life.
Very busy and interesting job. Co-workers are fantastic to work with, but managers are not. They are not supportive, are too political, do not give due credit and micromanage everything. Hard work is recognized by teammates, but that is far as it goes. Managers will stab you behind your back and take credit for your work. Cheap Company does not reward – more... hard work or loyalty. Workload was rewarding and job enjoyable when manager not in office. Only work here if you have to and you dont want to have a life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the strongest players in the insurance industry
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee), Chadds Ford, PAJune 3, 2014
Training could be better but the compensation package makes up for it. Be aware of the the ramp of time can vary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and high energy work environment, employees and staff are professional and friendly
Recruiting Coordinator Intern (Current Employee), Melville, NYJune 1, 2014
It has been a pleasure working with the recruitment team at MassMutual. A typical day at work generally consists of screening resumes, facilitating and preparing prospective candidates for interviews and posting job descriptions on college websites as well as linkedIn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work day
Treasury Specialist (Former Employee), Springfield, MAMay 27, 2014
Pros: incentives for good work
Cons: healthcare
A typical day would start with the team huddling. This will help prepare for the work day. Management is involved with our day to day work. I could monitor my time and this allowed me to be productive. The hardest part of the job was the downsizing of the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was accomplishing projects and helping others to accomplish – more... their projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee), Springfield, MAMay 26, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: none to speak of
Would recommend to anyone in Western Mass. Not terribly progressive with remote worker strategy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive work place
Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Addison, TXMay 22, 2014
Pros: lunch and learns
Cons: the amount of activity to have to have in order to make ends meet.
Working for Spectrum Financial Group was a lot of fun. It was a positive work environment and encouraging place to work. A typical day would be to meet with my manager and go over my goals for the day as well as talk about my past and current activity. I learned the Insurance industry is a tough but yet rewarding. You get to make a positive advancement – more... in another persons life. Not only for one client but for his/her family. Management was easy to deal with because of all the encouragement and support you get. The hardest part of the job is the rejection. Knowing this is a good product because not only do you believe in it, you also have used the products. You have to get a thicker skin and realize it is not personal. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing you had just made a difference in another persons life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experts at what they do / high ethics
Director of Reinsurance (Former Employee), Springfield, MAMay 13, 2014
Pros: working with highly talented individuals
Assist agents, brokers, attorneys, accountants and more with estate and business planning advice. I become proficient in structuring tax-advantaged transactions for clients. The management was strong and professional. Co-workers were pleasures to work with like many positions it is necessary to seek out those with whom you get best results. There was – more... no hard part to the job. Helping individuals structure their estate plans in a way tailored to their needs was very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic place to work
Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 9, 2014
Learned different parts of the industry, learned about life insurance, retirement and saving plans, case designing for clients for presentation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company however clientele communication is limited.
Cashier (Current Employee), Springfield, MAMay 7, 2014
Great as far as servicing employment needs however, communication is strickly too main stream not enough employee-employer communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent
Agent (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 29, 2014
Pros: your are yopur own boss and you make it happen.
Cons: lots of work.
Contacting new prospects to introduce them to :

Retirement analysis and programs
- Estate strategies
- Employee benefit and retention services
- Business continuation strategies
- Trust services
- Life Insurance
- Long Term Care
- Disability Insurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Rs Operational Data Analyst Expert (Current Employee), Enfield, CTApril 29, 2014
I was happy working with Mass Mutual; however, I would prefer not to review them at this time on Indeed.com. They are a great company, but I just prefer not to go into details at the moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a high pressure commission only outside sales job.
Financial Services Rep (Former Employee), Troy, ALApril 23, 2014
Cons: commission only pay.
The management staff were very misleading as to what the job would entail. The typical job day would call for an employee to call and aggressively attempt to make people buy insurance products they may not have needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good atmosphere
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXApril 20, 2014
Typical day at work involved cold calling in person or by phone. Learned a great deal about insurance in regards to benefits and the ability to structure products for the clients. Management was always willing to help in some way. Co workers were great to get feedback from and work with. Hardest part of the job was cold calling and working through names – more... and numbers. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I was able to show a client that they needed a particular product(s) and how it would serve them in the future. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About MassMutual Financial Group

MassMutual's business structure is built to support its mutual ownership. MassMutual’s strategic investments – Read more