MasTec Advanced Technologies Employee Reviews

Found 746 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't work there again
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJuly 6, 2017
Liked the idea of being on my own but some days you have no control of your day. The nail in the coffin was when I spent all day driving to customers houses that weren't home or had cancelled their service call. Completed one service call for a whopping 20 bucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service and Dispatch
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLJuly 5, 2017
Up tempo, time sensitive and team player atmosphere. Small office attention to big details for Satellite Installation. Answering field technicians and following up with customers and appointment scheduling and rescheduling. Routing work orders, inhouse payroll processing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor organization
Satelite technician (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 3, 2017
Installed DirecTv in homes and businesses. Was a pain at times to acauire the proper equipment to do the job as well as unrealistic performance demands.
Pros
Work alone
Cons
Very poor organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Technician (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 2, 2017
No life.. Extreme micro managing.. Bias supervisors with hidden agendas. Preach safety is #1 yet do not practice it. Will have u working on ladder 30 ft up with winds at 65 mph.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
SR. Technician (Current Employee) –  Longwood, FLJuly 1, 2017
Awesome place to work for. I really enjoy working for Mastec Advance Technologies. The job is very fun and you really can't ask for more in this type of industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
DirecTV Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Avon Park, FLJuly 1, 2017
Run from this while you still can. They don't pay you enough for what you do. The best thing about this job is the brotherhood you have with your fellow techs. Other than that, the pay is not great. The management demands you to do work that they are supposed to do, with particular attention to doing self quality assessments. They require you to take pictures of every wallplate off the walls in the house, even if it was a service call completely unrelated to the system itself. And if its not correct, they have you change everything and they don't pay the proper flat rates for rebuilding systems that were installed improperly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a so so place
Installation Technician (Former Employee) –  College Park, GAJuly 1, 2017
Was not all that good from time here. The pay was decent and the fact that they provided a company vehicle was good. However the amount of time spent out on the field at times was not worth the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teenager job.
Satellite TV Technician (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLJune 30, 2017
great people to work for but theres no money to be made..made more money at mcdonalds part time.. not a job for a grown man with responsibilities..if you live with grandma, or you're a bum living with your parents..this is the job for you..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money oppurtunity
Satellite Installation Technician (Current Employee) –  New Bern, NCJune 29, 2017
Working for this company really was a big break for me , they take the time out to train every employee so they set us up for success , the benefits are great
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The director I had was great.
Access Developer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 28, 2017
The director I had was great and very knowledgeable however when new management took over it became a terrible place to work. Their objectives changed with the wind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is paid in piece work. You can make a killing and you can lose it all.
Satellite Installation Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 26, 2017
You can make a killing and you can lose your butt. You work a rotating 5/2 and 6/1 work week. You must be at the home office at 5am. One day a week to stock up your van. You must be on site at your first job by 8am. On average you'll make anywhere from $50-$150 a day. Sometimes you'll make $300. I never have but other techs do. I worked in the 35 Region.
Meaning i worked in bastrop. Del valle. Smithville. La grange. Fayetteville. Lexington. Giddings. Swiss alp. And so on. I primarily worked giddings and la grange.
Overall. Its a decent job. The people are great and truly care about our safety. How ever. There will be lots of days where you'll bust your butt working 10-12 hours a day and only close out $85 worth of work orders. To bust $1,400 a paycheck. I had to put in 110 hours every 2 weeks. Meaning. I left my house at 6:30am. And got home that night at around 9pm. 11 days every 2 weeks. The people are nice though. My Supervisor said that would take me back in the drop of a hat if i wanted to work for them again.
Pros
Free DirecTV, You only have to pay for the boxes which is like $7 a box, You get all of the channels except for pay per view and XXX channels.
Cons
Routing is usually horrible, There could be a job 10 minutes away and I'll still be sent to giddings which is 45 min from me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phone Expert
iOs and Android Set Up Professional (Former Employee) –  La Palma, CAJune 23, 2017
I loved my job as a Phone Expert and Inventory Manager as apart of Sprint Direct 2 You. Unfortunately my entire department got laid off when with only 2 days notice because Sprint decided they didn't want to fund the program anymore. Mastec gave all of us some bogus $300 for laying us off and not even willing to give us new jobs within the company. Again I LOVED my job, just hated how both companies treated us when they decided to lay us off.
Pros
Excellent Benefits, Great Work Environment, Free Work Car
Cons
Got laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodactive and full independent work area
Satellite Dish Installer (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX 76118June 22, 2017
I like the company's policy and the work attributes. It could be with a long days jobs, if want to make more money, you need to work fast. Indeed fast working brings the quality down, which I don't like some technicians do this. there are not enough field technician supervisors available to help you out when you need their assistance, good money is the most enjoyable part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They gave the techs everything they needed to be successful
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 16, 2017
Between MasTec and AT&T the technicians were provided with everything they needed to be successful in the field.
Between the training, the truck and the tools everything was provided.
The pace of the installs was fast but very doable.
Pros
Everything a technician could need was provided
Cons
Days off were split up, so no two days off in a row.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Learning Environment
Project Coordinator/Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 15, 2017
I have had the opportunity to learn a lot from everyone I work with. They are pro-active about sending out bulletins and newsletters so you can keep up with the current goings on in the company. They advocate fitness, health and safety. I am proud to work for this company. They have a list of core values that they strive to adhere to every day. They are very veteran proud also, a plus for me!
Pros
Newsletters, Job opportunities, Company town Hall meetings
Cons
Geographically separated a lot of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make A Simple Task Extremely Complicated
Satellite Installation Technician (Former Employee) –  Longwood, FLJune 15, 2017
Where to begin......

I have worked at Mastec for over 4 years. I started in Jacksonville, Fl and ended in Longwood, Fl. I have had the pleasure of traveling to different states to help out. I spent 3 years in Jacksonville and 1 in Longwood. At first it was awesome. I worked alone, had a decent paying job. Supervisors were not bad at all, the other techs for the majority were awesome as well. Pay is based on your production. The more jobs you do the more money you make, your money is generally coming from Installs. That's if there is any, majority of the work now is Service calls, which you make $23 for. So if it takes you 1 hr or 3 hrs, you make the same amount. The rules have changed in the past year. Although your performance is based on metrics, which changes based on what numbers your office needs to hit. Rules change every month depending on what is going on in the office. What you can do one month, the next month your not able to do it. Supervisors don't care about the techs, some might but most don't. Your just a number to them, they are more concerned with your metrics then they are about your safety. Very very little room for advancement.

I put in for the rest of my PTO and then put in my 2 week notice that same day. I was promised by my supervisor that I would receive the the pay, but only if I turn the van in that following Monday (It was Friday). Meaning they didn't want me to work my last 2 weeks. I agreed to turn the van in like they asked, they then after me doing so, denied my PTO. And that's basically it.
Pros
Discounted DirecTv services.
Cons
Long hours, Little pay, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long working hours.
Cable Instalation Technician (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 14, 2017
No support in the field you are by your self.
The piece work pay is not fair most of the times
No life/work balance.
Very demanding in metrics.
Raleigh office management are friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and close environment
Field Installation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAJune 13, 2017
Work as a team type atmosphere. Hard workers beginning to end of each day. Everyone on same page that the customer comes first. Plenty of support from the management.
Pros
plenty of support for employees
Cons
short breaks, long hours sometimes work days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, productive , learning environment
Field technician (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, LAJune 12, 2017
While working with Mastec, I learn to better my craft with cable, internet and phone installs. They taught me more about the industry and provided the tools I needed to get the job done with great customer service.
Pros
everything
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Forman (Current Employee) –  114 Commercial Place Sebring, Florida 33876June 12, 2017
Really appreciate Mastec for hiring so many people , great place to work, great opportunity
Good people, great management, hard work great pay, and benefits. You
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MasTec Advanced Technologies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 752 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

MasTec Advanced Technologies Reviews by Location