Find companies:
MasTec
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
237 reviews

MasTec Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a goof company
Telecommunication Equipment Installer (Former Employee), RaleighDecember 22, 2014
Cons: where do i begin!
The company purposely hires people they consider to have less intelligence and then mistreats them. The level of prejudice that exists is astounding. The pay is low, the benefits are that of third-world compensation and management is less interested in leadership . The company is built on the back of un-professionalism, with leadership using abusive – more... language and mistreating technicians. The company does not like to pay for work performed and it uses this to leverage excessive work out of employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional
Satellite Television Installation (Current Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 21, 2014
Installing Directv at customers homes
Contractor Technicians must (NO EXCEPTIONS):
1. Be Customer Service Oriented
2. Follow DirecTv standards and guidelines
3. Have own insured vehicle (Van, mini Van, SUV, Truck)
4. Have a valid form of identification (Driver License, Social Security Card, etc)
5. Must pass a Drug Test and Background Check
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK HERE
Satellite Technician (Former Employee), Asheville NCDecember 16, 2014
Cons: long hours, little pay, rude management, excessive chargebacks
This company is a joke. I have been in the industry for 10 years and never made as little money as I did with Mastec. They will find excuses to send you back on job without paying you, and when you refuse they threaten to fire you. One day I had two jobs (yeah I know should have stayed in bed) six hours apart from one another, and no pay was given for – more... the drive time. They also charge you to rent their van, while I understand this industry usually requires own vehicle if you have one they do not allow you to use it. Do yourself a favor and go work for Dish or local cable company. Do not do this to your family. You will not get paid for work you do accurately,and will put you in a financial burden. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist
Receptionist (Former Employee), Irving, TXDecember 15, 2014
Friendly and Calm, sort mail, answer phones, order and receive supplies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not even enough pay to buy ramen
Installation Technician (Former Employee), DallasDecember 11, 2014
Pros: never a one
Cons: too many to list
You started way too early and worked way too late for way too little. There was no incentive to advance. Training was almost non- existant. Site managers were football bone-heads. Vehicles were worn out. Getting product for your van was a political joke. Your spouse better have been making a ton of money because YOU WEREN'T !!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Home Service Provider (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 10, 2014
Pros: work by yourself at your own pace
Cons: doesn't pay well and a lot of things are beyond your contriol
go in early, work hard, get off at no specific time, low pay for work, flexible work hours, self paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Satellite Installation Technician (Current Employee), Ronkonkoma, NYDecember 8, 2014
Working for MasTec is an exciting opportunity for young individuals to enjoy their freedom to work independently, while still having the support of a large corporation behind them feeding encouragement and growth opportunities. MasTec is dedicated to providing the best Customer Experience and Satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Installation Technician (Current Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 3, 2014
Pros: company vehicle
Cons: you pay $80 a week to take home
They contract your jobs not enough work for the hours you put into it and there's no hourly compensation while you wait for your next job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its A Job
SATELLITE TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Columbia SCDecember 2, 2014
Pros: company van gas card equipment provided
Cons: work/life work hours management
Pays the bills that's about it. Little chance for advancement. Long work hours. Fun experience meeting new people. Learning a new trade.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was employed during an acquisition-former employess of previous terminiated
TERRITORY MANAGER (Former Employee), Rochester, NYNovember 25, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: position ended
Was not employed long enough to review company. New company came inn with their employees and management team. Specific program I overseen was to be terminated immediately upon completion of merger.This was not indicated during said process despite assurances to the contrary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, little pay
DirecTV Satellite Technician (Current Employee), Asheville, NCNovember 9, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: piecework pay, when work slows down, your pay suffers.
MasTec doesn't pay their technicians enough for all the occupational hazards (ex. snakes, spiders, ladders, confined spaces)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
Satellite Technician (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 9, 2014
Pros: free tv
Cons: everything
This is by far the worst and most stressful job I ever had. The training you get sucks, and when you get stuck at a customers house and ask for help nobody is there for you. You get paid by the job which means if it's slow you might make 20-50. Dollars a day. You won't have a social life if you do this job because it doesn't matter how late you're on – more... the field they still send you jobs till they done, some days i stayed working till midnight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Service Technician (Former Employee), Chesterfield, VANovember 1, 2014
Pros: free tv
Cons: never home
This company wants nothing but for you to work all day and all night for little pay... Inventory is always messed up they are charging the employees for equipment that we never get or have just i wouldn't work for them again they just throw you away after there done with you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST JOB EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Routing Specialist (Former Employee), Coppell, TXOctober 30, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: checks are always messed up, management sucks
THIS COMPANY IS FULL OF LIES, MANAGEMENT IS THE WORST EVERYBODY IS MESSING WITH EVERYBODY TOO MANY LAY OFFS NEVER CAN KEEP AGENTS BECAUSE OF ALL OF THE STRICT RULES ATTENDANCE POLICY SUCKS.. YOU CAN RECEIVE POINTS IF YOUR BEING ROLLED OUT IN A AMBULANCE...THIS JOB IS STRESSFUL, YOU BECOME A BAD PERSON YOU GET TIRED OF BEING TREATED BAD. ****MOST PEOPLE – more... DON'T LAST 6 MONTHS BECAUSE OF MANAGEMENT. THERE ARE SO MANY COMPLAINTS WITH THIS COMPANY. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS JOB TO ANYONE. EVERYTHING THEY TRY AND MAKE YOU DO IS NOT WORTH IT FOR THE PAY.

THIS COMPANY WONT BE OPEN TOO MUCH LONGER, I PROMISE IT. I'LL GIVE IT UNTIL THE BEGINNING OF YEAR

WARNING *****DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME****** – less

November 4, 2014

this is so TRUE, I've been with this company for a year. It's too many lies

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
IT Security Analyst (Current Employee), Coral Gables, FLOctober 29, 2014
Pros: great company, great people.
Cons: location is in a very heavy traffic area.
I enjoy the culture and the people I work with.
I have to drive 50 miles each way to work here. The traffic is so bad that even if I move closer and pay more to live closer it will not affect the drive time. The surface streets are worse than the expressways. This location is right in the middle of very heavy traffic areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Satellite Technicians (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 26, 2014
Pros: free directv services
Cons: long work days and weeks
Very demanding job, 6 day work weeks during peak season and very long hours at time. Great physcail demand on the body to do it for long periods of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Fun atmosphere
Satellite Tech (Former Employee), Fort Worth TxOctober 24, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: long hours and certain locations of install
Impressing Customers with product outcome
Learned the science behind the job
My field manager was very attentive and understanding
My co-workers responded with additional equipment when I needed assistance. A lot of friendly employees
I enjoyed my classmates during training
The most enjoyable part of the job was being on your own. I didn't have someone – more... coming up behind me or keeping tabs on me. Other than quality checking my work on a random basis, I loved being my own person – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative / Installer
Customer Service Representative / Installer (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXOctober 19, 2014
Pros: work on your own time
Cons: benefits
Provide support to the sales team, ensuring all sales and service objectives were met, Answered incoming customer service queries as well as resolve issues reported. Providing customers with detailed information on new products, Assisted in development of new policies, procedures and training of new customer service representatives and associates, Client – more... follow-up and quality control of after sales service, Installer of Direct TV and Hi-def satellites, Provided support and troubleshoot for various issue, Ran RG 59 cables, splitters and diplexers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boynton Beach, FLOctober 14, 2014
Pros: nice lunches for holidays
Cons: no job security
Great company until they were bought out and laid everyone off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Service/Technician (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAOctober 10, 2014
Would not recommend anyone to work there! Management is`nt right,and they do`nt treat the techs right.

1 2 3 4 5

About MasTec

MasTec, Inc. (MasTec) is a specialty contractor operating mainly throughout the United States and Canada, and across a range of – Read more

MasTec Photos