Matco Tools Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Franchise Owner (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAApril 26, 2016
I learned that running a business is not easy especially this one, a lot of hours, headaches and people that do not pay you is hard to deal with. A bad economy in this type of a career will put you out of business!
Pros
I'm still thinking!
Cons
What do I need to say!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work on a part time basis
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  TNOctober 12, 2015
I work for my brother , he is a distributor for the company. My responsibility are to file month fuel taxes, keep accurate records of monthly expenses organization of inventory,
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely time consuming job
MOBLIE TOOL SALES AND DISTRIBUTION, TECH ASSIT (Former Employee) –  Niles, MIApril 27, 2015
Loved the Job but the hours hurt the district manger at the time was bad. Would still do this job today if I were able. The company was Fair but lacked focus down on distbrution level..
Pros
you made or broke your day
Cons
people that wouldn't pay their bills
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Group of People
Financial Services/Credit Correspondent (Former Employee) –  Stow, OHOctober 24, 2014
Working with the distributors was great and the small group of people in my department was wonderful. Department management was slightly different as there were 3 different Supervisors in 4 years.

Was hired for credit applications and assiting the distributors as there was a seperate collections department and by the time I left, we were doing collections as well.
Pros
amazing benefits all around-will never complain in that arena
Cons
unstable management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Franchise Owner / Operator (Current Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CAMay 28, 2015
No advancement. Being an owner / operator franchisee is not worth it if you value having time of or making any real advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They sell tools for cars, tractors, trailers, helicopters
Co-owner (Former Employee) –  Laverne and SmyrnaFebruary 5, 2014
Our work day started at 6:30 am and we had a route different customers every day, showing new tools, delivering orders and showing what could be useful for them. We conducted raffles so they got in our truck and buy was way to stimulate with raffle tickets. Sometimes we were having lunch with them. I drove the truck all the way and my husband was checking on his computer what we had for the next stop with the customer.
Pros
we enjoyed each time with our customers.
Cons
this work was for young people, because the tools are heavy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned many skills
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Stow, OHMarch 26, 2014
Answer inbound calls from distributor, initiated freight claims, placed orders and credits. Patience. Management worked well if you had any issues. I got along with my co-workers. The hardest part was the issuing of the credits and trying to find a specialty tool
Pros
hours
Cons
the health care
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
account manager
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Stow, OHJanuary 7, 2014
answering inbound calls, and making outbound calls, offering payment plans, settlements, deferment programs, taking credit card information, checking information, emailing customer and clients, faxing, mailing, customer services
Cons
only one brake in the whole day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced
warehouse person (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, UTApril 20, 2014
learing tools and how much there is for mechanics and the automotive field. great co-works and the temps that came in for me to train were very interesting
Pros
tool discounts
Cons
inventory prep was very long
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mobile route sales...I must sale in order to collect...Inventory is key
Owner/Operator Franchise (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 20, 2014
Manage the movement of automotive air, hand and electrical tools and
equipment on a define territory, in and out of production facilities, such
as auto dealers, body shops, specialized shops, city/county fleets,
heavy truck trucks and chain automotive repair shops.
Review financial statements on purchased inventory, sales and
daily/monthly activity reports, and performance data to measure
productivity and goal achievement to determine areas needing more
sales/service for route improvement.
Plan and direct activities such as sales promotions, coordinating with
auto technicians and shop foreman implementing, demonstrating and
showing new products.
Recommending new products, such as vehicle scanners, lifts and tire
equipment, a/c recycling units, brake lathes and air compressors.
Establish and implement rules and policies conferring with technicians
and purchasing agents in regards to time and payment based on mobile
self owned/operated business
Pros
self employed, own business...
Cons
lack of support from certain affiliates
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed this line of work.
District Sales Manager - East (Former Employee) –  INMay 27, 2014
District Sales Manager – East/Central Indiana, Southwest Ohio & Northern Kentucky 2005-2013
 Hire, train, supervise, and monitor performance for a team of 24 independent regional sales associates
 Work closely with franchisees to successfully increase sales and market share throughout the district
 Actively recruit new franchisees for open territories and identify opportunities for business growth
 Organize sales meetings, conduct executive presentations, and support various strategic initiatives
 Perform periodic business evaluations, compile reports, and ensure the accuracy of all documentation
 Call on automotive technical schools and foster profitable relationships with high-profile clientele
 Increased district sales 23% in the first year, 40% in year two, and boosted revenues from $4.2M to $7M
 Effectively build brand loyalty amongst clients and achieved #6 District Sales Manager in the company
 Recognized for #1 Region, #1 Franchisee in the nation, and #1 Rookie Franchisee in the region (2010)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Matco Tools
CNC Brake Operator, Fabrication Cell Leader (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NYMay 22, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Matco. I had the opportunity to work in many different departments (cells), with great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flowery Branch, GAFebruary 1, 2013
A day at work included filing paperwork and receipts into the correct files. I would also make sure deposits were made correctly each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
CNC Brake Operator, Fabrication Cell Leader (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 9, 2012
good place to work,good people,learned new skills,caring supervisors,long hrs
Pros
good perks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture