Find companies:
Mathis Brothers Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Mathis Brothers Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Picker/Loader (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 12, 2014
Pros: always on your feet good cardio and they have a cafe that is awesome.
Cons: no real good place to put your food if needed to be refrigerated
Overall everyone is really nice fun to work with good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, and fun work environment. Great co-workers, great pay, great benefits.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 5, 2014
Pros: good pay, challenging work
Cons: no breaks, no lunch break, always work weekends
You start your day off with a sales meeting. Every day except Sunday. Most of these meetings are not necessary. Once a week would be enough. You will very quickly learn through interactions with customers that you cannot have a one size fits all solution for talking to people. Every customer requires something different and you have to be very adaptive. – more... My experience with management is rocky. In 2 years I had four different managers. Only one of which was a true professional. Upper management needs work. In sales you will have over 100 different co workers at least. So finding someone you fit in with and connect with is easy. 99% of your co-workers will be likable which is good because you will spend a lot of time with them. The hardest part of the job is all the down time, the roller coaster ride of fast and slow paced days. Even if you are very adaptable it can be difficult to adjust to a slow paced day after a fast paced day and vice-versa. I would say what is harder than that is the amount they ask from you. Not because you always work, or work extra hours, but because no one ever says thank you. Which can make a HUGE difference in a company. The best part of the job is that it is very rewarding. There is an overwhelming feeling of success when you close a sale and help someone find exactly what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Full time Warehouse Section 3 Manager (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 10, 2014
Crazy busy during the holidays. Co-workers are great. Management really nice and understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Endless oppurtunities
Sales (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 8, 2014
Great company with awesome benefits. The work schedule
is not conducive to any family time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly environment
Material Handler (Current Employee), Ontario, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: benefits, sometimes free lunch, certificates
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work, can be smooth or very busy. I've learned to assemble and disassemble furniture. Management is great, they always make ways to help their employees. My co-workers are great as well, we are like a family we help one another. The hardest part of my job, i cant say i have no complaints a job is a job, im grateful just to have a job. – more... The most enjoyable part of may jobs is getting certificates, it helps motivate me to do even better, because i know that my hard work and dedication is being noticed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Interesting
Receptionist (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 29, 2014
I answered the phones and direct internal and externals to departments and employees. When a fax came in I would get it to the person it was addressed to as well as fax for employees and customers as needed. I also greeted customers as they entered and exited the store. If needed, I directed customers to specific areas. I prepared air bills for FedEx – more... and scheduled pickups for packages and took packages that had been delivered to the appropriate person. Another duty was to enter customer surveys into the computer system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but you have to earn it!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 6, 2014
You have to work your butt off because you are there a ton of hours per week and a lot is expected of you but you can certainly make a lot of money if you hustle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work.
Floor Crew (Former Employee), tulsa okMarch 2, 2014
good people. great pay. hard work, but treated good.
move stuff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
LOGISTICS MANAGER (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: 1 hr lunch
First I would show up and turn on the computers and start to put in what people bought the night before so in could be delivered. Then I would help open the doors so customers could pick up merchandise that they want now, thru out the day I would help co-workers load merchandise on truck, also I would put the merchandise into the lift trucks onboard – more... so they could drop the merchandise off when it needed to go. I learned how to do Microsoft office and word and outlook plus alot of others. I enjoyed learning new things here and hope to learn more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKFebruary 4, 2014
As a part of the sales team at Mathis Brothers Furniture I assisted customers throughout the store while expressing my knowledge of products and services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ontario, CASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: opportunity to make a lot of money, paid training, free lunch sometimes
Cons: on your feet all day, no job security, always guessing if merchandise would be returned, stressful
Working part time at this establishment meant fitting all 20 hours into one weekend. Saturday from 9am to as late as 9 at night. Sunday from 11-7 pm. Sometimes we'd be dismissed early if the store was slow or if we had a pressing family function. The whole time we're on our feet, running around the showroom floor. The management here is quite friendly – more... and understanding for the most part. It's definitely a numbers game with this company. If you miss your high quota a couple of times you're terminated, no matter what the reason. The camaraderie of fellow sales associates was the most enjoyable part of this job. While employed with Mathis Brothers I learned a lot about how furniture is made and how to spot a quality piece of furniture. I also learned a lot about the character of other people as well as how to better understand body language and what certain signs mean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Lift Truck Operator (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 14, 2013
Pros: giveaways, get to choose your break time
Cons: bad hours, hard work for little pay, very hard to move up in the company, cant mess one thing up at all or you get wrote up.
It would be a good first job for people because you get pushed qutie a bit to your limits. Weather thats being out in the heat all day or lifting and moving furniture all around the warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Front Office Clerk (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 31, 2013
Sell. Sell. Sell is all I can say about this job. It was surely a learning experience with working for this family company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Furniture warehouse
Lift Operator (Current Employee), Ontario, CAMay 30, 2013
Good place to work. Great environment with really nice and respectful coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downside: Very Poor Management Upside: Employment and Insurance Benefits
Service (Former Employee), Oklahoma CityMay 23, 2013
To be realistic and honest, this place has gone downhill. They have hired new management who are unfortunately not very well educated to run any kind of business. Store manager and director of operations in Oklahoma City do not know how to treat their employees. They micromanage and only care about making sales. As far as Mathis bros claiming they care – more... about you and your family here they do not. Coming into retail you must understand you will never have any weekends or holidays off... EVEN if you have earned vacation hours and want to take them they limit you on when you are able to do so. Making sales/profit is their number one priority here. Not their customers and most definitely not their employees. Everything is based on politics here any kind of contest or job advancement is based on who you know or you are doing. I used to love it here. Now this place just stresses everyone out more than helps, no fun anymore. A job is a job and if you only have this place as an option by all means take it people need to make money but be prepared this is not a place for your future. The only good thing is that you get good insurance. Other than that, poor pay in all departments, overworked, unappreciated. You can make great money in sales, but you are working 7 days. Week 24 hr days. This place is great for people who don't have families or lives. The HR department is not ran well either. Nothing is confidential. Terrible, every department in OKC is very short handed due to management not wanting to hire because they say there is a "budget" if I owned this multi million dollar company it would always be ran efficiently and customer satisfaction would be number one priority not making sure I pinch every penny I can for my pocket -even if it means poor service. You can't do your job without someone hovering behind you. You will always be told what is wrong not ever praised for good work. It is so hard to stay positive in this environment. Get away if you can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Sales Rep. / Designer (Former Employee), Tulsa,OkApril 5, 2013
Pros: met neat people
Cons: straight commision, too many sales reps, no room for advancement, & horrible hours
Job came as a Blessing. And ended horribly .... This page is making me post a Review .... I really do not care to post anything about this place ... I just want a Job here in Florida ......
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best!
Dont want to share (Former Employee), OntarioFebruary 10, 2013
Cons: long hours. don't value many employees. management over promise
Loved the job i had at the time but decided i needed to take the opportunity they offered me. They promised me great things and a better salary. I was let go 1 day before i got hired on. What a slap in the face.! I was working 7 days straight and very long hours. I was always praised for my work and yet when laid off they said i was not needed anymore. – more... Very unethical! Since then i don't shop there, and don't recommend it to anyone. Happy employees make happy customers. – less

February 22, 2013

As Im reading these comments I have to laugh! I use to work for this place for years and to read that people that are current and former employees that have nothing but nice things to say is a JOKE!! this is by far the worst place to work! Everything about this company is unprofessional! You are promised so many things and you get nothing! Pay is changed on you over and over! You never know what the right way or wrong way is because the left hand NEVER knows what the RIGHT hand is doing! Mangement SUCKS!!!! The only way you will ever move up in this company is if you are sleeping with someone in mangment or you are part of someones family that is sleeping with someone in managment. If this is your only job you can get then go for it!! If you have other optionsPLEASE for the LOVE of GOD use them!!!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lift Truck Operator, Deliveries, Inspect (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 3, 2012
Pros: good hours
It a good company to work for and if you have potential to go further they will take you further
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Disneyland of Furniture
Training Sales Manager (Current Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 30, 2012
Pros: commission - you get what you put out. no limits.
Cons: commission - you get what you put out. no limits.
There have only been a few jobs I have had where I look forward to going to work. Disneyland, The Ritz Carlton Hotel and Mathis Brothers Furniture. The work is fun and allows me the freedom to be creative; The employees are very friendly and the pay is great. If you enjoy sales and unlimited income potential, join our team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced productive environment
Senior Sales Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 25, 2012
Pros: fast paced environtment with excellent benefits and management support
Cons: long retail work hours. nights and weekends are a must to be successful
This position allowed me to interact with literally hundreds of people a week. This was both the most enjoyable and the hardest thing about this position. I enjoyed helping, directing, problem solving, and encouraging my sales staff to be as efficient and effective as possible. Every level of management was focused on the ultimate goal of producing – more... revenue and were available night and day. A normal day of work began with sales strategy meetings with our teams and then hit the ground running. Throughout the day I solved virtually any problem that arose in the building from sales questions and concerns to operational hurdles. Direct customer service problems were addressed on a regular basis to prompt a quick and viable solution to upset consumers. Time management was the key thing I learned at this position. Throughout my tenor the store volume and size increased to the point you had to be very focused on using your time wisely to increase profits. – less

1 2 3

About Mathis Brothers Furniture

Since 1960, family-owned and operated Mathis Brothers Furniture has continued to revolutionize the furniture industry as a one-stop – Read more