Find companies:
Mathis Brothers Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Mathis Brothers Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office environment
Compute sales (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 7, 2012
Financing & dealing with cash. Paperwork, customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to hone your sales skills.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 7, 2012
Pros: good pay scale and opportunity.
Cons: no weekends off.........ever!
Working with customers and meeting furnishing needs was the best part of the job. The store is one of the best looking retail establishments in America. Overall, the sales staff was good to work with having some exceptions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away.
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 4, 2012
No loyalty to customers or sales. No base pay and low commissions. Few, very few, people make a living here because they manipulate who gets the clients. This is a dishonest company to the sales and the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company with Family Values
Sales- Design Consultant (Former Employee), Ontario, CAMay 22, 2012
Pros: so much furniture to choose from, outstanding value, many clients
Cons: too many salespeople on the floor, large showroom over 200, 000 sq ft.
Mathis Brothers is a wonderful company to work for. The co-workers are friendly and considerate.
Managment take great pride in helping all sales persons and
make it a fun and rewarding place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employment Adventure
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 30, 2012
Pros: free breakfast on saturdays, great opportunitys for extra cash.
Cons: long work hours
Typical day at Mathis brothers starts with a team meeting, new products and sales goals are discussed. I've learned that dreams can come true and anything can be achieved with hard work and the ability to learn and grow. My team is like a family, we help each other through daily challenges like being treated poorly by customers and feeling like we are – more... in a shark tank.
The most enjoyable part of Mathis brothers is that their are never ending possiblitys. – less

June 23, 2012

I woul love to work here.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Receptionist (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 28, 2012
Pros: free lunch on saturday and sunday
Cons: schedule constantly changes, required to work nights and every weekend, some managers are unprofessional
I open the reception area 4 days a week. The hardest part of my job is not being able to be more helpful to customers because I have to transfer them to a different department. My co-workers are amazing, I work with 4 other ladies including my manager and we all seem to get along extremely well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Anonymous (Former Employee), NYFebruary 3, 2012
Very good career benefits, Sales commission, Medical Card, Staff price
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to really call home.
Manager (Current Employee), OKC, OKOctober 5, 2011
Pros: great benefits
After 21 years with the company I can honestly say that the same terrific atmosphere that I get to enjoy daily is shared by each of my co-workers as well. From the top down Mathis Brothers mantra is that the employees make or break the company and that each person is a vital, indispensable part of the operation. At every level of management you will – more... find someone that has worked their way up the ladder and has earned through their hard work more responsibility and a better position. It really is a team environment where people care for those around them, both as an employee and as a person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leading furniture retailer
buyer (Current Employee), oklahoma citySeptember 26, 2011
I've been working at Mathis Brothers since Jan 2003. I've seen so much change and progress for the company in that time. That's really an accomplishment considering the company has been around for ages. They continue to innovate and stay ahead of the competition and other retailers. It's a really great working environment, a place where people care – more... about their job, care about each other, and try to treat the customers right. I've had opportunity to advance through the ranks, and have seen many others grow up in the company also. It's great to work for a company that's growing and thriving and stable in this difficult economy! Also love the people I work with :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mathis Brothers Furniture
Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 23, 2011
Pros: on site wellness center, great co-workers, enjoyable atmosphere
I have been with the company over 10 years and I enjoy being a part of the family. It is a wonderful place to work with great opportunities. Mathis Brothers values their employees and makes sure each and every employee is treated wonderfully. There is plenty of room for advancement and the environment is always friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and be part of a team that's always improving
Graphic Design and Retail Display (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OkSeptember 22, 2011
Pros: on site gym and doctor, great benefits and incentives, awesome people to work with
Working at Mathis Brothers has been a great experience for me. It's an environment where each person is given the opportunity to reach their personal goals but also make positive contributions to the team as a whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding place to work if you live in Oklahoma or Southern California!!!
Regional Sales Manager (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 21, 2011
Pros: top salaries, flexible vacation days, opportunities for advancement, state of the art wellness center, doctor and physical trainer on staff, convenient employee parking, matched 401k
Mathis Brothers Furniture is a company that truly cares for their employees. The prospect for success is GUARANTEED, and the opportunity for advancement is great. The owners are accessible, more than friendly, but even more anxious to let their staff know how much they are appreciated. They provide many incentives for their employees. I personally have – more... won a 7 day Caribean cruise vacation, countless amounts of cash prizes, flat screen tv's.....the list goes on and on!!! Working for Mathis Brothers has completely changed my family's life, I'm so grateful that I applied 7 years ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee and Customer Focused
Information Technology Director (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 21, 2011
Pros: family oriented, positive work environment, onsite gym, great benefits
I feel extremely lucky to be a person that looks forward to going to work everyday and this company is the primary reason. In fact, one of the core values is "A fun and friendly environment." Mathis Brothers strives to promote within, and I am proof that you can start at the bottom and work your way up. This is a fast-paced, forward-looking company – more... that invests in its employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Lots of opportunity to excel.
store manager (Current Employee), Ontario, CaSeptember 21, 2011
Pros: great working environment, lots of smiles
I have been at this company since 2001 and in the industry 30 years. I have always been given great support for both myself and my family. It is a workplace that you are happy when driving in to work because you know you work with and for good people. It feels good to know that you can take care of customers the way they deserve. Being a busy woman – more... it is great to know you are listened to, respected and appreciated. This is not just a job, it is a family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented and Great Management support to grow in company
Internet (Current Employee), OKC,OKSeptember 21, 2011
Pros: family atmosphere, growth opportnities, great management, personal growth opportunities, integrity, more than can list
This is a wonderful place to work, and the owners truly care to know all the employees,and have a business that supports a family friendly environment. With a larger company of this nature, there is always growth opportunities, and they value hard work, and are great at recognizing people who are overachievers. They are a very customer-focused organization – more... that values feedback both from their external customers, but also from their internal customers, the employees. They make you feel like family with warm smile and a wave each time they see you, and have a great culture that is built on honesty and integrity. Also, they do everything they can for thier employees, which includes an on site wellness center to support positive employee health, a continual training program to help employees with personal growth opportunties, and wonderful compensation with 401k and insurance, just to name a few of the many great incentives this company offers its employees. Wonderful place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Focused, Fun and Friendly place to work!
Director of Operations (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 31, 2011
Pros: opportunity, a place where one helps another to succeed, care and compassion for customers and employees
Mathis Brothers has proven to be an industry leader in furniture and home decor for over 50 years! Its also an outstanding work environment for energectic, positive, and friendly people that have a sense to succeed. I've been a part of the team since 1997 and had many opportunities to grow within the company. A few friends of mine joined me, one summer – more... break, in the warehouse loading out customer orders. Several of us have continued to take on additional responsibilities over the years that align with our skill sets. Each one of us, along with every employee, play an important role in serving our customers and continuing to make Mathis Brothers a place to be proud of. I would encourage you to join the us! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment and everyday is a different day.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 31, 2011
Pros: fun and friendly work environment, onsight gym
I have worked at Mathis Brothers for 8.5 years and love it. I started as an entry level cashier and have worked my way up over the years. Mathis Brothers is a family friendly environment and a fun place to work. There are many perks that come with the hard work. One thing I value most is they allow us to have a life balance and encourage a healthy work – more... enviroment by providing us a gym that we can work out at on our before work, after work, or during our lunch. I feel this is very important. It's a place where when you leave at the end of the day you know they care about their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mathis Brothers Furniture
Associate (Current Employee)August 23, 2011
Pros: cross training
Cons: long commute
I have worked at Mathis Brothers since 2009 and have no complaints. The management really work well to hear the voice of the employees and I have had the opportunity to work in different departments to further my education and knowledge. It's a fun environment I am glad to be a part of!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work!
e-Commerce Director (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 10, 2011
I have been employed with Mathis Brothers Furniture since 2004 and I have worked in several departments around the store. It has provided great opportunities for educational growth, at work and home. Mathis values employee retention and focuses on training within and promoting within. As proof the Mathis family has recently made an investment in their – more... employees by opening the Mathis University, which focuses on providing additional training and educational benefits for all of us. I love the company and the people! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mathis Brothers. One of the Family!
Manager (Former Employee)August 1, 2011
Pros: friendly staff
It started as a family business, and when I joined the Oklahoma City store I felt like I was just that .. family. For the 2 years I worked there I had a wonderful experience. I was promoted after year 1 and definitely learned a lot about the industry.

About Mathis Brothers Furniture

Since 1960, family-owned and operated Mathis Brothers Furniture has continued to revolutionize the furniture industry as a one-stop – Read more