Mattel, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardest part
Product Handler (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 31, 2017
unloading a full trailer my hand and stacking on the uniform style. the pattern will change when then size of the box changes. the trailer would be blazing hot and warehouse was not fully temp. controlled
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and balanced work/personal life
Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 15, 2017
If you do your job and don't slack off, this is a fun place to work. Much more relaxed than those warehouses that employ WMS. The majority of the people that work here have been here for 15+ years. Very friendly and knowledgeable and are willing to help the new personell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMay 11, 2017
If you like traveling for work this is for you. Great hours and very flexible. Good team and great management as well. They always checked on you and if you needed help they went to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The location that I worked at had a group of hard working, dedicated employees.
Retail Service Support Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wilmot, WIMay 2, 2017
I enjoyed and respected the people that I worked with on a daily basis. I liked the fact that it was close to my home.

I did not like all of the system issues that we had to deal with regularly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Murray, KYApril 29, 2017
Managers were great and didn't treat you like an employee. They were one of you.
saddest part of the job was they left for Mexico. Still miss it to this day.
Pros
Benefits, retirement
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CaliforniaApril 29, 2017
Incredibly large, corporate, US Toy manufacturer.
I worked within the Marketing teams, in both the UK and USA.
Cut through all the red tape and deep down its a great place to work.
Pros
half day fridays
Cons
not much progression, lots of bureaucracy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 26, 2017
Mattel is a great company to work for, although they need to move quicker with the changing retail culture, such as online shopping and technology fields.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small desk to work at
intern I (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAApril 24, 2017
I interned here for a while, the people are focused on their work. As an intern I was expected to do the smaller tasks. I wish I could participate in larger tasks
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Wasn't assigned many things to work on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Place to Work
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaApril 16, 2017
Great place to work and they will challenge you to succeed in your own light. Will need plenty of patience as things can get tricky depending on what role you are thrown into.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAApril 15, 2017
Work hard have good work ethic and show them you can work, you will move up fast and get what you need. Friendly people. easy to work with. Teach you new things
Pros
Move up fast
Cons
Most of the time seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Retail Merchandiser- Part Time (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAApril 13, 2017
Being a merchandiser for Mattel is great. The hours are flexible and I'm able to work while my children are in school and pick them up. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people, working with the management and seeing all the new items that come through.
Pros
Flexability
Cons
being part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAApril 12, 2017
Days can be pretty boring but I believe it is due to the profession more than the company- i work in HR.
Right now the company is going through a process of cut cost and they are eliminating whole departments and the general atmosphere is not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Copwriter
Senior Copywriter (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAApril 11, 2017
Very fun job, however, the position has more administrative duties, at times, than writing. Creative work that is fulfilling and great to work so closely with other creatives on a team.
Cons
Too many meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Sr. Manager Quality Assurance (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAApril 5, 2017
Mattel was a great company; they were innovative, contemporary, aligned and were growing. Always an opportunity to advance and you were rewarded for your efforts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build Boxes
Picker/Packer/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 29, 2017
On A Typical day we would build boxes some times i would use the fork lift to pull boxes from one location to another location i would also put boxes on pallets and move the pallets from one location to another one
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
House Cleaner (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CA 92408March 20, 2017
Hard labor was okay but overall it was a bad experience. Most workers did not speak English so it was difficult to communicate and also most workers were very rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mattel Review
Manager, Corporate Financial Planning (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAMarch 20, 2017
a top company to work for; great leadership and top talent attracted; hard work pays off; must perform but it is rewarded; very fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Life for Life and Work Balance.
Corporate Securities Paralegal (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAMarch 18, 2017
Great Place for Life for Life and Work Balance. The company is a very large one so things move at either a very fast pace or slow place depending on the time something is due.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
Lots of Legal Red Tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Creative Intern (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CAMarch 9, 2017
My review of Mattel honestly can't give much of a review i was young and just an intern it was alright seemed better if you had a creative job otherwise kind of boring office enviroment. why are you forcing me to do this anyway goodbye
Pros
Great
Cons
Great
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-life-balance workplace
Senior Tax Analyst (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAFebruary 27, 2017
Overall Mattel is a great company to work with.It has good work-life-balance, and the company is currently working towards becoming a more competitive company with focus on innovation and creativity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mattel, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 476 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8