MATTRESS KING Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day and life at Mattress King
Manager Retail Store & Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 27, 2013
A typical day at work is 9 to 10 hours; one man store, no breaks including lunch, either bring some thing or order in. I learned how to be very patient because you can go days with out even one customer or even a phone call. Management doesn't match it's size, over 22 stores, but ran like a mom and pop shop in a rural town in mid Missouri. Co-works are mostly good people but very hard to build friendships with unless you like the party life; mattress king doesn't drug test. The hardest part of the job is the down time. If you are a people person and find it hard to sit hours on end for days with no one to talk too, you will most like burn out fast. Selling bedding really is an opportunity to change lives. One call from a customer who hasn't slept all night for 10 years, will for ever change your perspective. Over all I give them 3 stars out of 5.
Pros
income possibilities when economy is good
Cons
promotion based on if your liked not based on your performance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Mattress King for a variety of reasons listed below
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 9, 2014
I enjoyed working with and for a variety of different people on a daily basis. Through my experience at Mattress King, I traveled throughout the Front Range of Colorado. That allowed to see many parts of the state that I had not seen before. The Sales people I dealt with everyday were terrific and made the job easy for me and hopefully I made there jobs easier too! The hardest part of the job was the heavy lifting I did daily.
Pros
working with good people
Cons
constant heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the owners and all the employees, fun atmosphere
Store Mgr (Former Employee) –  Gardendale, ALAugust 21, 2013
I learned how to sell with confidence. How to sell an overall better nights sleep and the importance of a great night of rest. the hardest part was when there were no customers to sell to. when you sat there all day waiting on that one person to walk thru the door..
Pros
getting to know the people in the area, and referrals
Cons
commission based pay, so it was feast or famine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marginal
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Pelham, ALOctober 16, 2013
Could have been a good company but the owner at the time I was their lacked adequate funding i.e. advertising, and payroll. This led to closing stores during that period of time.
Pros
nice people
Cons
lacked funds to run bussiness
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALMarch 15, 2015
Miss the old owners. The company is still run as smoothly as it was under the new company name. The supervisors are amazing at problem solving and help with anything you need.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of respect for employees
Sales Person/ Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PAAugust 7, 2014
Owner does not work well with others! Total lack of respect for employees. Poor compensation for the hours worked! The only reason I stayed there was I needed the job!
Pros
none!
Cons
too many!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Delivery Driver/Warehouse Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 25, 2014
Nice clean work place the employees were nice as were the managers.
Pros
good pay
Cons
sometimes very heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Large Item Sales
Sales Associate/ Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 26, 2014
Manage/ clean store, handle money/ deposits, sales, solve customer problems, inventory on stock, community ‘outreach’ program
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
2nd Key Manager (Current Employee) –  Cullman, ALJanuary 6, 2015
Sales became rather slow with little advertising help from Corporate, therefore, salary decreasing rapidly
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very enterprising.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 21, 2012
I enjoyed my job very much. My co-workers were great to work with. Very pleasant
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work invironment
Delivery Truck Driver, Sales (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, OKApril 23, 2014
Relaxed
team oriented
great owner takes care of employees
great staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture