Find companies:
maurices
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
192 reviews

maurices Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that made individuals feel respected and needed.
Shipping Supply Clerk (Former Employee), Johnston, IADecember 15, 2014
Every morning there was a informational meeting with management staff where all employees could speak freely. We were allowed to fulfill our duties in a friendly environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Weatherford, TXDecember 11, 2014
Went through 3 managers over the holiday season.
Encouraged to be too pushy too customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are considering a position here, reconsider.
Part time assistant manager (Current Employee), MichiganDecember 10, 2014
Pros: associate discount, free things here and there for holidays
Cons: they make you buy clothes in their ever changing theme, management, unpaid breaks for 30 minutes reguardless of your shift, lack of training, unattainable goals even if you are a "low volume" store, pressure people to quit instead of training them, expectation to harass customers into getting the credit card, ect.
The company is full of power hungry women who back stab in order to get to the top. I worked there for 3 years and absolutely hated it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good atmosphere to be a part of
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Coralville, IANovember 24, 2014
Overall, I liked working at maurices. It's sort of like working with a little family. It is a female's clothing store, so I think for the most part, the employees there understood the importance of confidence and building each other up, all while having a passion for fashion. The job did not really end up working out based on my schedule at the time, – more... which was why I left. I think I would have stayed otherwise. My co-workers were great about helping me figure things out in the beginning, and my boss was very patient and understanding. I don't think this would be the place to work if you are particularly shy. But if you love clothes, are a people-person, and want to work in a friendly atmosphere that really has a strong focus for good body image and style, I think it's a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Iron Mountain, MINovember 24, 2014
Pros: great customers
Cons: the store manager
Great place to work, except for the other employees that work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have a career
FT Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 24, 2014
Pros: incentives, friendly, huge goals
This company is all about customer servicing and it is not a commissioned job. I love the way you really get to know your customers and make them want to come back. They have an excellent training program for anyone interested in becoming a store manager. You learn so much. There is great communication within the entire team. The company does so much – more... for its employees. They always have incentives, competitions, or just a thanks for working here treats going on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
1st Assistant Managaer (Current Employee), KalamazooNovember 21, 2014
A normal retail position with incredibly high sales expectations. The way the sales goals are pushed, you would think it was a commission based job. Management varies, some have been great to work with, others are not consistent with following policy and procedures. Not somewhere I would recommend unless you were a very competitive, intense, aggressive – more... seller. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Working Environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MINovember 20, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: hours
Maurices is a great company i had a great working experience. The company is very caring, and catering to their workers. You are appreciated as a associate. There are numerous opportunities for growth in the company, management team is awesome. Great benefits in working with the company. I would love to go back and work there with a management position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging workplace with upbeat coworkers.
Full Time Asst. Store Manager (Former Employee), Florence, KYNovember 10, 2014
Maurices is a fun and challenging work environment with energetic staff and clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), MissouriNovember 7, 2014
Pros: bonding with customers
Cons: awful management team, drama, hours, pay, incentives
This environment is supposed to be fun. It is more stressful than anything. You also have to work with all girls which makes it more frustrating because of all the drama. Other associates will take your sales. If you are not a positive net producer your hours will be cut. If you do not receive the minimum amount of credit cards for the week you will – more... receive a supplemental. The most enjoyable thing is working with the customers. But on the flip side customers do become annoyed when you bother them after they just walked through the door. Maurices states that "LIV" needs to be greeted within 30 seconds of walking through the door... and not just a, "Hi, how are you?" You have to ask them what they are looking for, and basically be by their side the whole time, which annoys a lot of customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customers and benefit
Associate Manager (Former Employee), ILNovember 7, 2014
Pros: discount and contest incentives
Cons: everything else
Great company horrible people to work with and work for. The company promotes growth but they don't teach you anything and throw you to the wolves. There is no professionalism or maturity. From the district managers or the store managers. They are fake, willing to smile in your face but talk about your back. But then force you to think its you. Maybe – more... its different in other states just not IL. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun energetic work environment
Associate Manager (Current Employee), Olympia, WANovember 6, 2014
Pros: customer service
Cons: hours
Typical day involves customer service, cleaning, and cash handling. This job has taught me so much about everything in general. I have grown so much in this company in the years I have been here. I absolutely love the customer experience and getting to make people happy. The team environment helps make the day go by faster and I love my girls I work – more... with. the hardest part of my job is the hours, especially during holiday. Your hours are all over the place and you rarely have time to spend with family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment - Difficult to advance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Medford, OROctober 29, 2014
Fun place to work. Everyone is amazing. It's difficult to advance in management because people stay long term. Which is typically a good thing for retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSOctober 28, 2014
Pros: customers, ability to stay with trends
Cons: hours and holidays
Grew the most as a manager. Loved the ability to create the store environment. To get to hire, train and manage employees was a challenge. The level of customer service we provided was what made it the best. Enjoyed keeping up with trends in the fashion industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fayetteville, AROctober 27, 2014
maurices is a wonderful company to work for. The hours were negotiable and the work was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad Sad Sad Company to work for.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rincon,GAOctober 26, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: managments are snakes and users.
Working for Maurices is not really hard but the Store Manager and 1st Assistant manager make it hard on purpose. They are liars and always pinning others in a corner to make them stressed and incompetent. We had a strong team and the store manager purposely ruin it. She and her Assistant Manager were snakes and demons. Stay away from this store FIND – more... ANOTHER JOB! They will smile in your face and openly embarrass you and stab you in the back. I am happy I left and I got a better peaceful better paying job. Trust me stay away from this place. Management are users! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Assistant Manager - Do Not Work Here
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), North Aurora, ILOctober 7, 2014
Pros: basically get away with anything
Cons: no protection, horrible pay for the amount of work you're doing, short staffed
This was a good company to work for at first but soon after there were things happening in the store that could have been avoided, I soon realized the store manager and district manager had no idea what they were doing. As long as sales were up, that's all that mattered. There were a lot of internal conflicts and the manager basically told the assistants – more... to sort everything out -- the outcome of that was 2 managers quitting out of the 4 that were there. The people who work here favor certain personalities and offer unfair advancements to people who do not have the credentials or experience to advance. The job became so horrible I eventually quit and moved onto a company that knew what they were doing when it came to customer service and internal affairs. Maurice's tends to higher high school girls to avoid paying experienced people and that was the issue although I was still not getting paid much more than them. This store is FULL of drama and this is the worst retail company I've ever worked for and I've worked for Hallmark; trust me, that says a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfortunate eye-opening
Logistics (Former Employee), Boise, IDOctober 6, 2014
Working for Maurices was difficult due to the functioning or lack there of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, fun, fast-paced, and team-oriented
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Missoula, MTOctober 3, 2014
I would work for this company again, Every day was different, and there was never a dull moment. I had the opportunity to interact with new and even regular customers to put together outfits and learn about them individually in the process. Everyone on the team came to work with a positive attitude. Excellent customer service skills from everyone on – more... the team were required, and very easily developed, I genuinely enjoyed my experience in retail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Very low stress environment.
Associate (Former Employee), Sedalia, MOSeptember 29, 2014
I loved working here. The girls got along for the most part. I mean we were all females so of course there was some kind of drama sometime but it rarely happened. We tried having fun when things were stressful. The management is awesome! Real sweetheart. Got things done that needed to be done and handled situations very well.

1 2 3 4 5

About maurices

We’re maurices, a fast-growing women’s fashion retailer offering real style for women, sizes 1-24. It’s our – Read more