Maverick Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accessory Control Coor (Current Employee) –  Laurinburg, NCFebruary 2, 2016
Maverick Transportation is a very good place to get into transportation and learn things dealing with transportation. The advancement is nothing great, it takes a long time and worthy employees seem to get looked over.
Pros
Location
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJanuary 1, 2016
It was an ok company and they had automatic transmissions which I liked. They never paid the money owed from time spend waiting at shippers and receivers.
Pros
automatic transmittions
Cons
Money not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 weeks was long enough
Driver trainee (Former Employee) –  Little Rock AR and cross countryDecember 21, 2015
The trainers in Little rock are a fun bunch if you don't rock the boat.Best to get along and keep your head down. Driver trainer was a piece of work.Did not follow safetry rules you learned at the shop.Said this tis the real world and this is how its done. Had the brakes smoking going down a long hill first day(the trainer that is).Had me use a jake brake in the rain at night,later learned that's a no-no.Taught bad securement and unsafe methods.Very dirty truck.
Pros
Well i got out of there easy enough
Cons
Bad food during training
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terminals were cool
Driver (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 11, 2015
worked here them for awhile really like the friends i made their. The Fleet manager i had really bad he did not care at all about his drivers. The managers were very indiffent in how the company was run.
Pros
terminals
Cons
fleet managers
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
home time
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 9, 2015
very good company with a lot of miles and good home time if you want miles they are the company you need to apply too .always friendly to make sure you get home time and great raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
accounting (Former Employee) –  ArkansasNovember 8, 2015
Management has to improve. Too many chiefs and not enough Indians. Lots of gossip and finger pointing in certain departments when they should be concentrating on their jobs & not who does what!!!
My regret was ever coming to work for Maverick.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
To many Management issues
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
CDL Flatbed Driver (Former Employee) –  N Little Rock, ARSeptember 22, 2015
Driving cross country was a life changing experience. Lots of miles on the road, no life with family. loading raw material was a long wait sometimes. Driving cross country was a life changing experience. Lots of miles on the road, no life with family. loading raw material was a long wait sometimes.
Pros
Independance
Cons
Long wait overs
Was this review helpful?Yes28No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best trucking company
Flatbed Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  N Little Rock, ARSeptember 18, 2015
Very good company all around. The pay, benefits, training, willingness to help employees, advanced facilities and equipment.
Pros
Pay, Benefits
Cons
Trucking Life
Was this review helpful?Yes28No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, good pay and home time
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARAugust 13, 2015
Overall maverick is a good place to work, decent home time pretty good pay, very willing to work with you. lots of policies to follow that seem a bit unnecessary but its their company and they like it run a certain way, can't blame them.
Pros
pay, equipment
Cons
hard work, lots of policies to follow.
Was this review helpful?Yes39No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Do as I say, not as I do"
Commercial Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJuly 2, 2015
Training program is a never ending migraine. From the military style of training to the constant tests and hoops and loops to jump through. The staff is a very small one with very few Indians, but a lot of chiefs with little to no power. Training at ASUN was by far the best and most helpful thing about the program itself.
Pros
pay, trucks, equipment
Cons
staff, respect, organization, attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes42No15

Want to know more about Maverick Transportation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High production, nonstop work
Student Driver (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJune 21, 2015
Non stop information, classes 7 days a week. I learned a lot about loading an unloading flat bed trailers. Proper ways of chaining, strapping, and tarp-ing loads. Management seem to be fly by the seat of your pants. Coworkers had a good sense of hummer for the most part. It was good to be around good hummer while we pushed through the stress, and exhaustion at the top gun of the tr4ucking industry.
Pros
They only wanted the best of the best. They want safe drivers
Cons
To much information packed in a short amount of time
Was this review helpful?Yes29No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to start a career with but only one year
Driver (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, AR.June 8, 2015
The health insurance and the training is good at Maverick and that's about it. Pay is average at best, once you reach highest pay your miles reach lowest miles. Made more money in 2013 than in 2014 and went from .42 to .52 per mile. (figure that one out) Very hard work if you haul Steel or Glass and get paid incredibly average for the work. The Refer group was run so poorly 1/2 the staff quit at one point, the turnover rate at Maverick is said to be about 168% If you like to wait hours and sometimes a day for a load Maverick is for you. Sorry I had to sugar coat this review, worked for Maverick for three years. (two years too long)
Pros
lots of down time
Cons
lots of down time
Was this review helpful?Yes40No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn' t a fun job
Truck Driver in the Regional Flatbed Division (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMarch 11, 2015
Stayed away from home to much. The company wasn't family oriented. I learned I wasn't a over the road trucker. It was a boring job.
Was this review helpful?Yes42No30
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company buts needs to look at management teams
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARDecember 27, 2014
This is great company for drivers, but this company lacks the ability to carry that into the office setting. Office employees were only recognized if they happen to be friends of owners of have been there extended periods of time. No advancement is available in the department that I was in and the turn over was almost at 100%.
Pros
working with the drivers
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes30No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pricing Analyst (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARNovember 12, 2014
Great place to work. Management is great and work/life balance is above average. Normally able to work 8 hour day and go home with no worries
Was this review helpful?Yes42No29
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not here anymore
Securement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Corsicana, TXNovember 9, 2014
this job up and left people without jobs and offered nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No22
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Glass Divsion driver (Current Employee) –  corsicana texasOctober 31, 2014
Hands down best flat bed training around,there training program is excellent. 500 a week while your in Training and with a trainer for minimun of 21 days. I drove over the road. Liked it truck broke down they gave me another one. They take care of there employess. I always got home when i was suppose to otr. Now in dedicated to have more time with my family. Current employee and very good company to work for esp if you have no experience and are just starting out.trucks are governed at 65 and the auto is nice. Very safety orientened company.
Pros
new trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes53No37
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have it all wrong
Truck Driver. (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARSeptember 26, 2014
They try and act professional, but once your there a couple days you learn its all a game. Its Mericks way or the highway. Even if they know they are wrong its still the Maverick way. I went for orientation and when they was about to offer me a job I got the heck out of there.
Pros
if you are a little slow this is the place for you.
Cons
they treat and teach you like you are a 1st grader.
Was this review helpful?Yes77No47
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best
Assist in loading and unloading as required (Former Employee) –  little rock ,arSeptember 24, 2014
super company to work whit it,good people and the best place to make friends
Pros
everything
Cons
stay away x home
Was this review helpful?Yes26No28
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving across east coast
OTR Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARSeptember 9, 2014
spend many days driving the mountains on the east coast. nights at shady rest stops and within gates that it isn't permitted to exit.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No27

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture