Find companies:
Maverick Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Maverick Transportation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High production, nonstop work
Student Driver (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARJune 21, 2015
Pros: They only wanted the best of the best. They want safe drivers
Cons: To much information packed in a short amount of time
Non stop information, classes 7 days a week. I learned a lot about loading an unloading flat bed trailers. Proper ways of chaining, strapping, and tarp-ing loads. Management seem to be fly by the seat – more... of your pants. Coworkers had a good sense of hummer for the most part. It was good to be around good hummer while we pushed through the stress, and exhaustion at the top gun of the tr4ucking industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to start a career with but only one year
Driver (Former Employee), North Little Rock, AR.June 8, 2015
Pros: lots of down time
Cons: lots of down time
The health insurance and the training is good at Maverick and that's about it. Pay is average at best, once you reach highest pay your miles reach lowest miles. Made more money in 2013 than in 2014 and – more... went from .42 to .52 per mile. (figure that one out) Very hard work if you haul Steel or Glass and get paid incredibly average for the work. The Refer group was run so poorly 1/2 the staff quit at one point, the turnover rate at Maverick is said to be about 168% If you like to wait hours and sometimes a day for a load Maverick is for you. Sorry I had to sugar coat this review, worked for Maverick for three years. (two years too long) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn' t a fun job
Truck Driver in the Regional Flatbed Division (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARMarch 11, 2015
Stayed away from home to much. The company wasn't family oriented. I learned I wasn't a over the road trucker. It was a boring job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company buts needs to look at management teams
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARDecember 27, 2014
Pros: working with the drivers
Cons: no advancement
This is great company for drivers, but this company lacks the ability to carry that into the office setting. Office employees were only recognized if they happen to be friends of owners of have been there extended periods of time. No advancement is available in the department that I was in and the turn over was almost at 100%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Pricing Analyst (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARNovember 12, 2014
Great place to work. Management is great and work/life balance is above average. Normally able to work 8 hour day and go home with no worries
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not here anymore
Securement Specialist (Current Employee), Corsicana, TXNovember 9, 2014
this job up and left people without jobs and offered nothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Glass Divsion driver (Current Employee), corsicana texasOctober 31, 2014
Pros: new trucks
Hands down best flat bed training around,there training program is excellent. 500 a week while your in Training and with a trainer for minimun of 21 days. I drove over the road. Liked it truck broke down – more... they gave me another one. They take care of there employess. I always got home when i was suppose to otr. Now in dedicated to have more time with my family. Current employee and very good company to work for esp if you have no experience and are just starting out.trucks are governed at 65 and the auto is nice. Very safety orientened company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have it all wrong
Truck Driver. (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: if you are a little slow this is the place for you.
Cons: they treat and teach you like you are a 1st grader.
They try and act professional, but once your there a couple days you learn its all a game. Its Mericks way or the highway. Even if they know they are wrong its still the Maverick way. I went for orientation and when they was about to offer me a job I got the heck out of there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best
Assist in loading and unloading as required (Former Employee), little rock ,arSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: stay away x home
super company to work whit it,good people and the best place to make friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving across east coast
OTR Company Driver (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARSeptember 9, 2014
spend many days driving the mountains on the east coast. nights at shady rest stops and within gates that it isn't permitted to exit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY
OTR driver (Former Employee), Little rockSeptember 5, 2014
Cons: everything
Maverick is horrible. I worked there for 1 year and they tell you that you will be home at least every other weekend but you never get home. You have to fight to get home. The trucks suck. They are all – more... automatic and are governed at 62 mph. They will give you a weekend load with only 250 miles. You will not make any money here. The orientation is like boot camp. If you fail a written test ( yes they give written tests) they tell you to go home, which you have to pay for. When I started there were 15 guys and only 4 were given trucks including myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family company
Manager (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARAugust 26, 2014
Managed $8-$10 million dollar revenue generating department. Managed 6 employees including 2 off site. Searched for third party carriers to cover available loads and negotiated rates to pay these third party carriers. Created and monitored annual performance plans for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maverick is a good company to work for. They issue you the latest trucks with lots of safety innovations
Truck Driver (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARJuly 15, 2014
Pros: great benefits if you could afford them. new trucks if you were on the list to get one.
Cons: maintenance shops too booked and too few. long waits at shipper or receiver.
I enjoyed working at Maverick Transportation. The company tried their best to get you home every weekend. A lot of times because of your current location, they could not get you home. This would be great – more... for a single person. Not that good for a family oriented person. Over the period I worked there, Home Time was changed to Through the house, which for a family, this was not good. You might get 8 to 10 hours at home, if you were able to get home, then back on the road again. When I first started, you were able to get most of your 34 hour restarts at home, but for the last 6 to 8 months, you drove on recaps because you couldn't get the 34 hour restart in. This made it very difficult to make a living. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work.
Driver (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARJuly 11, 2014
Pros: everything.
I loved it here and would go back if I could. Great place to work, very family oriented. Management was great to me. Got home every weekend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone into the industry
Flatbed Truck Driver (Current Employee), N Little Rock, ARJune 18, 2014
Pros: great stepping stone into the industry
Cons: in house politics
Maverick has been good to me. They pay decently but no bread winner. Their program in in place for a temporary residency. They do have options for insurance,ID protection,vision,and dental,and 401k. One – more... plus about them is their professional standards. If you don't have them, you will probably acquire them. Training used to be top notch,but has become a little slack. They used to also have strict standards when I started,but also has taken a back seat. Overall though Maverick has been good to me. Co-workers are mostly decent,and some out-standing. Management is not too bad. Keep in mind though this a trucking company. Soul purpose is to make money,and grow. The so called "Maverick family" has shifted internally. Drivers are now just numbers depending what fleet manager you have. Hardest part is being away from my family all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..........
Driver (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARMay 12, 2014
Wasn't really the long enough to get the whole feeling of things. orientation was ok its the training that killed me 5 weeks making 230 a week the lowest paying job I ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newer Equipment
Professional Driver (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARApril 28, 2014
Home on weekends
steady paced work environment
DOT training
Load techniques
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maverick review
Customer Service Representative/Dispatcher (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the job and the people i worked with.
Cons: when people were on vacation we would be very short handed.
I really enjoyed Maverick. I was in customer service and dispatching. My normal day would be to look at the orders we have and where our drivers are located and pair them up as much as possible with the least amount of deadhead miles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Driver (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJanuary 8, 2014
good job, good pay and benefits, good weekly mileage, good overall experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, GREAT training!!
Flat Bed Driver (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARJanuary 1, 2014
I really like Maverick Transportation. They have a great training program, great driving trainers, top of the line trucks, etc. My only complaint is, home time.

1 2 3

Maverick Transportation Salaries

Truck Driver
$535 per week
$15.00 per hour
Owner/Operator
$46,000 per year
Company Driver
$15.00 per hour
$450 per week

Maverick Transportation Photos

Glass home terminal and the truck.