Mavis Discount Tire Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Tire Technician/Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Pawling, NYMay 7, 2017
terrible place to work, schedule is never the same, can't make any types of plans because they. change the schedule from day to day and you never know when your off and not. overall terrible place
Pros
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fast paced place to work!
Regional Manager (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 5, 2017
Great uppermanagement, personal interaction with the owners, and COO of the company, can move up the ladder fast with dedicated hard work, great support from the home office when needed. I feel like part of a family here and not just a number! Been with the company for 5 years and have had nothing but great success! if you have a strong work ethic and are a team player the possibilitys are endless with Mavis, I highly recomend!
Pros
Where do i start...Its all good!
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even bother
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Millwood, NYMay 3, 2017
This place is only good if you need a job or need to gain some expireance. They say they "love to hire within" but thats not the case at all. They will give you any title you think you deserve with out any pay increase and tell you "you don't have the education to get the pay". All the higher up do is gas your head up and give you false hope and make you think you are valuable when they need you but when push comes to shove they drop you like nothing. I wish the company cared more about their employees and not nickel and dime them any way they can.
Pros
Flexiable schedule, co workers are cool
Cons
No overtime, Insurance coverage sucks, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to be a part of!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Millwood, NYMay 3, 2017
Four years ago I started at Mavis as a Time Recording Specialist. Just a few months working in the company I was promoted to manager of the Time & Attendance Department. The opportunity to manage the department showed me that Mavis values me as an employee and wants me to succeed. I really appreciate the chance to develop professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspirational leadership!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Millwood, NYMay 2, 2017
In the two years since I joined the team at Mavis Tire Supply LLC, I have had the opportunity to work closely with its leadership. I have learned that the company is led by people who are dedicated, thoughtful, passionate and talented. It is truly a pleasure to work with people who care not only about the success of the company as a whole, but who also empower individuals within the company to achieve personal success. I am proud to be a member of Team Mavis!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Learn
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NYApril 30, 2017
hours are consistent, depending on the location, you can have a very busy day for business. management turn over rate is ridiculous. some are professional, but others will give you a hard time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company To Work For
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Millwood, NYApril 26, 2017
I began at Mavis as a receptionist about 7 years ago. In addition to assisting the stores; part of my job was to deal with customers and help resolve their issues. I fell in love with the responsibility of turning an unhappy customer into a Mavis promoter. I decided to request to be moved into a customer service position, as I felt that is where my skill set really shined. Management agreed and were happy to make the change. Mavis taught me the importance of following their "Golden Rule" which is to treat others the way you want to be treated. Following that rule is what allowed me to remain empathetic to customers and do my job to the best of my ability. Soon after that, I was asked to be the manager of customer service. I felt so honored that my hard work was recognized by management and readily accepted the challenge. I have been the customer service manager for Mavis for a little over a year now and continue to learn more every day. This company has always made me feel valued and appreciated and I'm very proud to be part of an organization that cares for their customers as much as they do their employees. Thank you Mavis...for everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people i work with
Picker (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, NYApril 22, 2017
Typical day at work would be coming in clocking in on computer putting on harness then login into gun to scan paper for the first truck of the day

Learned how to stack a high volume of tires on a single pallet in stores order and how to use a picker

Management us very nice n fair

Work with great group of guys everyone helps each other and does job well

Gettin tires from bottom of a stack from location

I enjoy working hard n with good team
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No set time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to start if you want to learn about the automotive industry
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Walden, NYApril 18, 2017
Not for people who love their weekends but educational learning a lot of new things about cars and tires company is growing so there will be more opportunities to move around and transfer nationwide
Pros
Great teams to work with
Cons
Greasy
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours low pay
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  NJApril 17, 2017
company does not care for its employees. every day you go from hero to zero or zero to hero. they put quotas 0n credit card applications and have you bait and swtch the customer by saying its also a discount card,
Pros
can get work on cars for less
Cons
long hours mandatory weekend scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fishkill, NYApril 17, 2017
Great work enviroment with an encouraging staff. Upper managment is very supportive and invested in their employees strengths. They value and demostrate excellent customer service by ensuring their customers leave happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
empty promises
B Level Automotive Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Rocky Point, NYApril 10, 2017
weak management strong team work through the techs. Base pay should be higher. Better advertisement. Management is micromanaged by individuals that do not utilize their faculty
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodactive plase
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NYApril 7, 2017
a typical day at work,service car,replace tire,oil changes,tune ups,inspection,the working condition is not to grait must work every sunday wigh is not fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job can be Chaotic, feast or famine, seasonal
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, NYApril 7, 2017
Upper Management uses cameras and microphones to view thier employees constantly. They use a call center to book and sell jobs regardless of time or staffing. They expect profit results but sell jobs at less than 10% margins with that call center. They even watch techs and tire techs for compliance purposes, very invasive. Some of the upper management people have never worked at the jobs they evaluate. They also book work to what ever time it takes to complete it. Even if it is hours after closing.
Pros
Pay and Insurance benifits very good by comparison to industry
Cons
cameras and microphones
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
Assistant Service Manager (Former Employee) –  utica ave brooklynApril 3, 2017
cant fire workers who do drugs & steal lie & the management just turns there backs & does nothing all is they is there bounis money period you must keep making mavis money or your out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
work on own cars
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level job
Tire and Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Syosset, NYMarch 31, 2017
Busy shop dealing primarily with mechanical repairs. I gained many skills with basic repair from older mechanics, very friendly coworkers and management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place and good experiance
mechanic (Former Employee) –  Lindenhurst, NYMarch 23, 2017
very organized place and inventory,constant work to be done,never a bad day,managment was a+ from start to finish on workers and on jobs being done by the workers,always a smile and happy day working there
Pros
automotive parts discount
Cons
hours was not enough in a day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only took me a month to quit Mavis after they bought out STS
Technician (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMarch 16, 2017
Do not apply to this company
Everything about this company is how they can make the most money and not caring about the employees. For get about your home life there isn't any.
Pros
None
Cons
No home life hourly pay commission management ALL horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Tire and Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  store 129 middletown, nyMarch 12, 2017
I worked for mavis and they let me go due to a altercation with a tire tech trainer. I had tried walking away, they would not allow me to they kept pushing my buttons. It all started over because I found a fast way to get cars in and out. They didn't like that. So if you don't do it the way they want you to they don't see the sense on keeping you. You'd think they would want cars in and out fast to produce more sales... guess they don't like other people's way of doing things
Pros
good coworkers. good field of work.
Cons
horrible managers. horrible pay. no room to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer accounts was happy until CRS got ahold of them.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMarch 10, 2017
Horrible place to work at management sucks recommend stay away, and never look back. Disloyal work hard and they never appreciate it before you apply to this job take my advice seriously. It's in the name CRS ( Can't Remember S***).
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mavis Discount Tire. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 96 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.0
Culture
2.9