Find companies:
MAX & ERMA'S
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

MAX & ERMA'S Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy downtown restaurant
Dishwasher/Busser (Former Employee), Birmingham, MINovember 7, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: horrible customers
a typical day would consist of coming in washing dishes and busing off tables. i learned how to stay in a routine and keep things organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment within this company and teamwork with employees was on point
Pantry Chef (Former Employee), Birmingham, MISeptember 24, 2014
Definitely was a learning experience as this being my first restaurant job ever. I can honestly say it humbled me from being an impatient customer to understanding how difficult it can be as a cook getting orders out on time due to time management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compatible Co-workers; Understanding and considerate Management
Server (Current Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low wages
While this job has helped me with customer service skills and has given me the ability to have longevity in a work place, it is not ideal financially. The management team is beyond comparison, they are understanding and considerate. They will go out of their way to make sure that you are set for your shift and help in whatever way they can. My co-workers – more... are wonderful people, some of whom I have created long lasting friendships with. We all work well together, and have maintained the same employment status without many changes in the past two years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was alright
Line Cook (Former Employee), Edinburgh, INSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: worked with my school schedule
Cons: no benefits
The first nine months I was there was great. When they had a manager come from a different store the restaurant went downhill. He had got a lot of people fired and caused a lot of people to quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and a fun place to work
Cook (Former Employee), Edinburgh, INAugust 26, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no insurance
I cooked for Max and Erma's. We did a lot of cleaning, prepping, doing dishes, and preparing all different types of food for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience.
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Monroeville, PAJuly 14, 2014
Very long hours and involved workplace for very little recognition and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers, easy job
Certified Trainer, Server, Bartender, Cook (Former Employee), Crestview Hills, KYMay 27, 2014
Pros: discounts, amazing tortilla soup
Cons: bad management communication, scheduling issues
Everyone tends to get along pretty well. I loved my job at Max & Erma's but it was just a job. The work load was fairly easy with decent pay but, your lucky if you get enough hours to make a living. As far as the management goes they are all easy to get along with but they have communication problems between the four of them. The employees get sent – more... home during slow periods of the day in order to save the company money. Instead, i feel they could be utilized to perform extra cleaning duties to help keep up on the appearance and cleanliness of the restaurant as a whole. Restaurant jobs are not good jobs to have if you are trying to have a life outside of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough hours
Server/Waiter (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOApril 10, 2014
the co workers are great but business does not produce enough hours weekly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked there for three years and was treated poorly
Hostess, Waitress (Former Employee), Lancaster, OHApril 1, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: terrible treatment of employees, late nights, no understanding of family things
Max and Erma's was my first job ever.. I worked there for three years and busted my butt every day. Management was awful they treated everyone poorly. Demanding respect and giving none. You can't expect your employees to respect you when you give them no respect and treat them like they are disposable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people to work with, flexible schedule.
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee), Mentor, OHMarch 31, 2014
Pros: discounted food, flexible schedule
Cons: terrible management-employee relationsihp
A typical day of work consisted of preparing various food items for later use while maintaining a clean work space and cooking food being ordered by guests in the restaurant. I learned to be quick on my feet and stay organized which helps efficiency and the ability to multitask proficiently. I also gained some hands on experience on how to prepare many – more... different dishes. Management was disconnected from the employees, having little to no understanding of the difficulty of the tasks they were assigning in the given time they wanted it completed with the quality they wanted. The hardest part of the job was keeping track of cook times of different items on the grill while simultaneously making side dishes to accompany them and timing it all correctly with the rest of the tables order to deliver a quality meal right off the grill as fast as possible. The most enjoyable part of the job was the fellow employees, an amazing group of people that had amazing team work, the main reason the restaurant accomplished the high level of quality and efficiency on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be Great
Supervisor (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: free meals with shift, and fun
Cons: all or nothing business, no preparation for the rush, and lack of training
A typical day at work could be hectic from beginning to end, or so slow you will catch up on lots of paperwork.
I have learned a lot about leadership, and working within the corporate world.
My co-workers work hard, yet lack the leader they need.
The hardest part of my job is having great ideas, and no authority to implement them; I have so much experience – more... and want to help the business grow, but a lot of people in the company have already given up on it.
I love my co-workers, fast-paced excitement, and paperwork-as well as self training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing more than a Job
Line Cook (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MIJanuary 15, 2014
I work at the Farmington hill location and it would always go through different managers so sometimes we would get a manager that made it fun and exciting to come to work and then we would get some that made the job difficult for no reason.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transitional Job, great people
Server (Former Employee), Monroeville, PANovember 6, 2013
I cannot remember much other than I enjoyed my experience there as it was a transition job before I entered the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of turn around with mgt
Bartender/Trainer (Former Employee), Springboro, OHSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: hours
Cons: benefits
Ok place to work when you have the right staff and Mgt. Poor Benefits and low pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An up beat working environment
mentor to junior team members (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: experience
I have worked for Max & Erma's for 3 years now, I have seen a variety of typical work days.
1. I open the store, and run a few stations and a section of five tables, the section is large enough to seat up to 30 guests.

2. The day is rather routine, I greet the guests tell them the store promotions, fundraisers, and events that may be coming up. I interact – more... with the guests, pertaining to their work day, what they do, and how my classes are going.

3. The great majority of the guests, like me a lot.

4. I have learned a great deal about how to give the guests exactly what they pay for, and also something unexpected. I give the best service that I can, without going overboard, or making the guests feel uncomfortable.

5. The management could use a little more education in dealing with understanding the flow of business, the guest, food safety, and how to treat people.

6. The majority of my co workers were fun to be around, they have given me a connection as a friend, moreso, than a coworker.

7. The most difficult task about being a server is having to adjust to getting multiple tables of guests at one time.

8. The most enjoyable part of this job was getting the experience, to become more self managing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Server (Former Employee), Gahanna, OHSeptember 11, 2013
Served tables.
Management was good.
Co-workers were fun to work with!!
I enjoyed meeting new people everyday!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Max & Ermas Review
Line Cook / Dishwasher (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 3, 2013
A nice working enviroment, good management, low flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Server (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MISeptember 2, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: poor training, unorganized, rude servers
I hated working here. I worked for this company for only a few months. I was not properly trained, servers were rude, and very unorganized. When I was hired I was told we would take a test everyday of training. Ok fine. They told us we would take a food and beverage test and that they will pass out the booklet with the info when they get copies. Well – more... fast forward they give me the food and beverage test expecting me to just no it.i didn't get a booklet or anything. I told them and they said to try my best. I gave it back to them and told them I don't know it and so they gave me the restaurants copy (at 10 at night) and told me to bring it back the next day I worked ( in the morning) and I would take the test then. Well obviously I still didn't no it. How could I learn this in 1 night? I quit because one day the supervisor was in charged for the night and my table kept complaining about their food not being cooked enough or burnt so the supervisor told the cook to put another fish and chips in the microwave. This was the worst job I have ever had and I cannot believe they put food in the microwave. Not to mention my table could tell it was put in the microwave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Former Employee), Westerville, OHAugust 5, 2013
Pros: walk out the door with cash each shift
Cons: inconsistent earnings
M&E has also given me a great understanding in customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship
Management Intern (Former Employee), Lansing, MIJuly 15, 2013
The summer internship with Max & Erma's was a great experience