Find companies:
Maxim Integrated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Maxim Integrated Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work with
IC Robustness and Validation Engineer (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJune 19, 2014
This is a good company to work with. Co-workers are really friendly. I learned more about switch voltage regulator and LabVIEW programming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning potential. Many employee perks.
Spec Reviewer II (Former Employee), San Jose, Ca.June 14, 2014
2nd temp position at Maxim and really enjoy being employed with them.
On going training, excellent co-workers, nice atomosphire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leader in Analog and Discrete Components
Equipment Specialist (Former Employee), Beaverton, ORJune 4, 2014
Pros: working a shift that allowed my mid-day and front end of the week participation.
Cons: the lack of actual visible contact with the opposite end of the week counter parts.
The start of a typical day is catching up with the most recent issues and understanding what has been accomplished and where I should begin my investigation. I like to have a full grasp of what communications have been made about the concerns and the steps to figuring out where in the problem lays. Management wants to have a clear picture of the concerns – more... and this was accomplished through various channels of communication. Documentation was a living, breathing system that continued to grow the factory in a level of comprehensions to better serve future issues and historic paths followed. Having learned that there are different models in each situation and developing the responses to the conditions better resulted in long term successes of tool operation. I often found it difficult to sift through the many levels of communication about an issue and taking it to the next level of understanding. I found it to be a pleasure at being challenged to a concept or a paradigm shift that provides a new idea. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy in upper management
Senior Test Engineer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 15, 2014
Pros: equipment
Cons: poor job security
Top-down in managing projects
Frequent layoffs
No control over overseas production
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract position
Creative ServicesTraffic Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: great team of individual contributors
Cons: quarterly budgets detemine workforce.
I had great reviews and discussion of being hired on fulltime.
Due to budget issues I was not able to be hired or for my contract to be renewed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with enough break time to take
Metals department operator (Former Employee), Beaverton, ORFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: we got reward more often like donuts, pizza or lunch
Cons: you can adjust your own break, but 3 breaks during the days with enough minutes they gave
Work long 12 hours shift with dependable help when needed.
you have a lot of help from over time person.
Anythings depend on the spec. book, there is no short cut.
You have general meeting every week.

The most hardest part when we have to make up work when many work had problem or miss processed.

When we meet the goal expectation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot and enhanced many IT skills - Oracle,IT Management
Sr. DBA (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: close to home - performance oriented company, very good annual bonus
Cons: recent outsourcing and reduce of it workforce here.
Learned to be a team player, deliver excellent support to all business customers. Was lucky to get various training to enhance skills - both technical and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Work
Audio Applications Intern (Former Employee), San Jose, CADecember 8, 2013
Every day at work is a new challenge. I am talking to customers every day via e-mail or telephone and help them design their applications.

My team consists of a mixture of young and senior engineers and we work together to solve customer needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good place to work.
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee), Chelmsford, MANovember 7, 2013
Most co-workers are quality people.
Boredom was an issue.
Being a member of a successful team was satisfying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 5, 2013
Great career, great advancement and great pay and I have a great love for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day includes very little time for training
Wet-Etch Equipment Specialist (Former Employee), Beaverton, OROctober 21, 2013
A typical day includes very little time for training, it's always hit the floor running. I learned the average productive lifespan of a maintenance worker is about 5 years, then burn-out occurs. The hard part of the job was never quite knowing what to expect. In my opinion management makes knee-jerk decisions and seldom has all the facts or bases the – more... decision on bad or false data. The maintenance and production crew were a pleasure to work beside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing culture - becoming more competitive.
Layout Design Engineer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 11, 2013
Changing culture - becoming more competitive and less sensitive to your needs as a person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard
Human Resources Business Partner (HRBP) (Current Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 16, 2013
A lot is required of everyone as the company is kept extremely lean with regards to headcount, however Maxim has wonderful employees and a generally "homey" feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly fast paced work environment
Test Development Engineer (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 22, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: unstable job security
Maxim Integrated is a great place to work and gain experience in the semiconductor field operations. Engineering and manufacturing combined with Maxim values has inspired me to advance my skills and collaborative skills to push forward new technologies and cutting edge processies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good people
Senior CAD Engineer (Current Employee), Hillsboro, ORAugust 12, 2013
Pros: working with people
Work with worldwide organization solving issues with layout tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maxim core values
WetEtch Technician (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 31, 2013
Pros: half the week off
Great benefits, great benefits. No much room for advancement once in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Farmers Branch, TXJuly 29, 2013
Pros: work with some of the best people around
Cons: hr and upper management
I was contracted out to work at Maxim Integrated. My boss wanted to hire me on permanently but upper management would not allow for it. They constantly overload the engineers and technicians with work because they refuse to hire. They have horrible policies and if you work there under a temporary agency HR treats you poorly. I have been working here – more... for 3.5 years under a temporary agency. They had a change of company policy regarding temporary employees and now temporary employees can only work there for a year before they let them go. Seeing how I have been here 3.5 years I was the first to go. What ticks me about the situation is they did it without warning or a decent notification about being let go. Instead they told me I had five days to work then I could no longer work here. They should have told me a month ago that I needed to search for other jobs if they new there was going to be a change in policy not at the last minute. The problem is not the workers. People I worked with were awesome the problems is HR and upper management creating bad policy and refusing to spend money on new hires or on new equipment needed to perform work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to have a first job
Member of Technical Staff (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 19, 2013
Learn everyday from anyone and everyone.
Good to know and interact with different people who think from different angles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Engineer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 18, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: upper management, low morale
The employees are friendly and good at what they do. The benefits are great compared to other companies. The lower levels of management are supportive of their employees and back them up. Upper levels of management are disconnected and lay people off without having any idea what they are working on. This causes the morale to be really low because people – more... are constantly having to worry about their job security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great analog / mixed signal technology company
Unwritten (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 17, 2013
I have been in semiconductor recruitment for a number of years, and have worked at the best companies in the industry. Maxim is and always has been one of those I admire. I am fortunate enough now to be working here. The leadership has appropriate and truly innovative vision. Maxim presents a difficult recruiting environment because it is extremely – more... choosy - a good thing, sometimes not so good because I feel some of the criteria employed is a little arbitrary. But in the end I believe Maxim makes the right and best choices. This is an innovation environment, for sure and Maxim does treat it's teams very well. – less