MAXIMUS

800 reviews

MAXIMUS Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned allot loved the environment
Appointing and Authorizations (Current Employee), Folsom, CAAugust 29, 2015
Great learning environment and friendly team of people learned new things great hours makes me want to do this as a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entergetic and enjoyable
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Athens, TXAugust 26, 2015
Pros: Activities, recognition
Great morale, fun, and rewarding. During my time at Maximus I felt apart of a great movement. Coworkers & management team were so helpful. Everyone had a great personality and although we had fun and enjoyed our days, our main focus was to help the client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informed callers about HHSC programs
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Midland TXAugust 26, 2015
Pros: Helping clients out
Cons: not being able to help them when they needed it the most
A typical day at work was getting on the phones and informed callers about the HHSC programs, Researched and provided existing case status to our clients. Management was always there to help you out as well as the co-workers the hardest part was giving our clients bad news and the enjoyable part of the job was giving them good news and providing information they needed to help them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work
Case Review and Compliance Representative (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TnAugust 26, 2015
Pros: busy work
Cons: no benefits
very busy work and must multi-task. good to work with public. only no pay for overtime nor benefits. also only a temporary job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My coworkers were cool
Customer Service (Former Employee), 3750 Monroe AveAugust 26, 2015
I enjoyed working around my peers they were really cool and very helpful when learning new things. Pretty much everyone got along and were very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and benefits
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXAugust 24, 2015
had a great experience and good environment. i learned a lot of customer service experience. management needs to be improve
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need less idlesome supvisors and teamleaders. Its a beautiful job with good pay. An opportunity for anyone to have Health Care Coverage.
Consumer Service Specialist 111 (Former Employee), Albany NYAugust 24, 2015
Pros: Great lunches/snacks
Cons: Breaks too short
Usually answering the phone and typing in required answers from the customers to questions on the electronic forms provided.
Everyday I learned more about the job inroder to help customers to have their – more... health coverage.
Managements needs to interact at times with staff to know the difficulties being faced inorder to improve efficiency, especially in locked portals on some of the computers that caused a poor and a difficulty day's work
I had the best co-workers, they were helpful whereever possible.
It was difficult when some customers complained the cost was too high for their health care coverage and therefore requested to be deactivated.
When I feel the joy of exclamation from customers who have received their low/free health care coverage for the first time ever, or for those whose I renewed same, so they can continue to have their prescription filled same day as I gave them their verification numbers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Sure
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boise, IDAugust 24, 2015
Pros: hours were great
Cons: job ended
This place started off great. The pay was somewhat good. Some poor things about the place was that it took you 5 minutes before you could even walk into the building because security would make you empty – more... out your pockets and bags and the use a wand on you. Really? Also supervisors there had no idea how to do they job because we were all new and learning. They ended up laying off 1600 workers at one time, so that was a bummer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of health insurance
Customer Support Representative (Former Employee), Burlington, VTAugust 21, 2015
My days were either extremely slow or extremely busy, depending on the volume of calls coming in. On days that were slow I felt I was better able to find solutions to people's problems simply because there – more... was no supervisor telling me to keep the calls short because so many folks were calling. On busy days your strengths were tested. It was most important to keep people's information safe and to relate to them the laws surrounding the new health care system. I relished the challenge of being able to be thorough and kind to my customers while tackling their issues. The hardest part of the job was when you simply could not help the people. Everyone needs health insurance and there were so many rules regarding enrollment, but there were no loopholes. The most enjoyable part of my job was digging deep into the system and finding ways to help people that other representatives had missed. I loved it when I was ending a call on a good note. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Enrollment Broker (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 20, 2015
A typical day of work at Maximus Inc. conists of logging into your computer and start taking calls from a really busy queue as soon as possible. You are so busy with no breaks between calls once you are logged in. The only breaks you have are the two 15 minute breaks you have scheduled and your 45 minute lunch break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Experience
Child support program specialist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 20, 2015
I loved working for this company, it proved to be a great working environment showing respect for it employees and offering and providing training according to office and state guidelines in the attempt – more... to provide families with the knowledge of how child support works and assisting to receive the help necessary to care for their children.

I was very surprised the current management company was able to win the bid to manage child support it was a big mistake!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center with weekends off
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 19, 2015
Need to resolve inconsistencies in training and revamp point system. A typical day consists of taking calls from customers about a variety of issues. The people are nice. The most enjoyable part of the job is the sense of accomplishment in being able to help someone feed their family or get much needed medical care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee), Rancho Cordova, CAAugust 18, 2015
Maximus was a very fast paced work environment that always kept me busy. There was room for advancement in the company and because it was a bilingual call center the culture there was very diverse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place that I have worked for close to 6 years
Team Lead (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 18, 2015
Pros: able to combine lunch and breaks together
On an average day I provided supervisory coverage,mentored CSR's (on the floor and in new hire training) in need of coaching and development, coached staff on unusual or complex issues that require on-the-spot – more... responses that CSR'ss are unable to address independently,took escalated calls when supervisor is unavailable and communicated with supervisor regarding any potential needs or concerns within team. The people I work with are great and keep things interesting. There isn't really a hard part of my job. Its pretty straight forward but its a job that I have been doing for a long time and am now seeking a change of pace, something challenging and different. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits, but will drain your soul.
General Clerk I - Monolingual Web Chat Agent (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXAugust 18, 2015
Pros: Money, Free Health Insurance for non-supervisory positions
Cons: Client takes forever to update scripts, scripts are illogical at times, stressful work environment.
I quit my job at a liquor store that paid me minimum wage for bone-aching labor to work at Maximus, which paid a lot more and had free health insurance. Despite that, working as a call center customer – more... service representative is a stressful work environment. You don't really see the product of your work and don't feel that fulfillment you usually get from putting effort into your job. You spend most of the day, telling people you really can't do anything to help them in the nicest way possible, which is the exact opposite of how you want to tell them because they're calling you derogatory names and interrupting you every second. Apart from being a call center, I also had the opportunity to work with the Health Insurance Marketplace project- which as you've heard, is fraught with controversy over how ineffective and ridiculous it is. I understand it's a new law and the exchange has only been around for a couple of years, but a website is not a new invention...we're not banging rocks these days. Yet, the website and all the information we're made to read from a script is so unhelpful, that I've had my best calls done when I give the consumer information that came from experience instead of the scripts we had to read verbatim. But of course, giving information like that caused us to fail calls, which resulted in a disciplinary process that could eventually lead to one's termination. With my wife's blessing and encouragement, I gleefully resigned after 2 years with Maximus. I couldn't bear to witness another open enrollment period and new "glitches" with the system, along with new people I had to lie to. I'm currently unemployed, but in a strange way, I've never been happier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/while it lasted
Customer Support Representative (Former Employee), Boise, IDAugust 13, 2015
Maximus was great to work for. It is unfortunate that the government contract did not work in our favor, although we were performing very well. 1500 employees lost their jobs when the office closed it's doors, in Boise Idaho March 2015
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited advancement opprotunities
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 13, 2015
Management was not very open with expectation and benefits. No open-door policy with upper management. No standards on policies when asked to explain reasons for decisions made by management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and productive work place.
Internal Auditor / Compliance Specialist (Current Employee), Folsom, CAAugust 12, 2015
Pros: Very accomodating to needs whether they be family, health, religious, etc.
Cons: Pay is not at the same rate for the position as other places.
Fast paced, challenge after challenge. Supportive management, great team environment. Sometimes things can get chaotic with tasks being thrown at you from all directions. Learned a lot about Project Management and how to implement new projects on the go. Learned a lot of analytical skills. Learned how to create reports in Excel from the floor up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Client Services Representative (Former Employee), Atlanta, GaAugust 12, 2015
Pros: Hours of Operation, weekends off
Cons: Sometimes breaks were taken away due to heavy call volume.
Very simple work, management does not micromanage, and you are allowed to move at your own pace. Also a fun working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 12, 2015
Its was a great job i really enjoy working for maximus they are very hands on nd ensure that you are happy at your job everyday
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
1891 Metro Center Drive
Reston, VA 20190
Revenue
$1B to $5B (USD)
Employees
5,001 to 10,000
Industry
Links
MAXIMUS website