MAY TRUCKING Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller company feel
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Brooks, ORJuly 26, 2017
Seems to me like everyone over at may knows everyone else. Not the best pay scale there but its a great place for new drivers to get on the road and get some experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best CDL starting company
OTR Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  OregonJuly 5, 2017
Best staring up CDL company; Terminals are not good :( because limited showers/ bathrooms; have to keep a close eye on your miles and retention pay etc if you don't have a good DM you may have to to battle for it.
Great Tractors many bad tandems trailers but getting better; get your experience give them your best and move on... Lease Operator program doesn't sound goo; I don't the numbers on my favor ...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
CDL Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  OTRJune 18, 2017
Great Job! I have not issues with the company. I am only leaving to pursue a different career. I would work for them again in a heartbeat. They are the best!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent OTR job
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 7, 2017
Not a bad place to start work as an OTR driver. They have great tractors and some old trailers. dispatchers are questionable at times but that's the life of a trucker I suppose.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
trailer driver (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORMay 29, 2017
Due to my disability could not work there anymore. Enjoyed working there. I was a over the road tractor trailer driver. I delivered general goods through out the mid west.
Pros
good pay
Cons
driving truck was bad for my condition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for Advancement
Driver Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooks, ORMay 4, 2017
nothing positive to say, work ethic and experience mean nothing. May makes promises that they never follow thru with, working at May is an epic let down whether you are a driver or office worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellient company for entry level drivers to start at.
Over the Road Semi-Trailer Operator (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 3, 2017
Great pay with good miles each trip/load. New equipment with excellent maintenance programs. Management is great, treats drivers like adults, no micromanagement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant driving experience for over the road.
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORApril 8, 2017
It keeps you away from family which is why I wouldn't recommend for someone with family. If your single this job would be for you.
You get to travel and see the US.
Pros
Good driving experience
Cons
Away from home alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for new drivers
Long Haul OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  ColoradoMarch 28, 2017
Mays is one of the better companys to work for for new drivers. They provide a good vehicle and good benefits for their drivers. Would like better pay though
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORMarch 5, 2017
May Trucking is a great company to get the over the road experience you need, The pay is great after a year very low pay from the beginning.
Pros
good pay after the year
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great starter company.
Truck Driver Over The Road (OTR) (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 12, 2017
Overall, this company is a great starter company. However when you receive a lot of short runs, your check fluctuates and you receive a small check. Feels like you are constantly playing catch up. Management is good.
Pros
flexible scheduling
Cons
Receive short runs, fluctuating checks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level Trucking firm.
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Layton, UTJanuary 27, 2017
If you are new to Truck Driving, this is the place! They have a great training program that really focuses on the teaching you all the aspects of driving tractor trailer operation and life on the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome prodcut
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJanuary 17, 2017
accounts manager- make phone calls to clients with delinquent accounts assist our customers with purchases and delivery dates and times.
team meetings
delivery times
Pros
flexiable
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good miles and home time
Owner Operator/Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Payette, IDJanuary 13, 2017
Delivered different commodities to different companies.dispatch is your main source of communication.sometimes timelines were very tight and hard to meet sometimes due to weather .sometimes loads were scares in an area where you delivered so you had to move somewhere else to be able to get a load'
Pros
Good equipnment
Cons
Log book
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back and easy going
Driver manager (Former Employee) –  Gary, INJanuary 4, 2017
Loved coming to work everyday, my coworkers and boss made it a pleasure to be here. I loved all my drivers, my hrs and all the OT I can get
Pros
co workers and drivers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring place to work
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLDecember 20, 2016
They seem like good people. I enjoyed working with them. I would definitely work for them again. They go out of thier way to make you feel comfortable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new experience
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORDecember 5, 2016
Pre trip to start off day. Preplan trip , check wheather. Make fuel requests and follow rules of the road. Deliver in timely manner
Pros
Seeing the country
Cons
leaving my family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a training company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Brooks, ORNovember 29, 2016
Good for a training company. Good benefits and pay is weekly. Pretty typical trucking company. Does tend to feel a little impersonal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to get my wheels back again low pay
Brook Lake Road, OTR Commercial Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  salem orNovember 23, 2016
good work coundition good support otr nice trucks new models work drive delievery of freight 48 states up keep mant of truck safty enspection day and night
Pros
good suport
Cons
never gat home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Brooks, ORNovember 22, 2016
I would recommend starting somewhere else if your starting out and I would recommend to not stay here longer than 2 years
Pros
Sense of freedom
Cons
Changes loads on me and not enough miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MAY TRUCKING. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4