Find companies:
McAlister's Deli
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
184 reviews

McAlister's Deli Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Rosenberg, TXOctober 13, 2014
Opening job duties, getting FOH in order. I have learned that no job is easy, but can be fun and exciting if you allow it. Management is great, as well as co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place but needed more advancement
Food Prep Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 8, 2014
It was a good starting place for me once I moved back home to Virginia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Cashier/Server (Former Employee), Sherman, TXOctober 7, 2014
Awesome place to work, the hardest part is carrying plates and drinks without spillin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already Done
Production Manager/Associate Manager (Former Employee), Roswell, GAOctober 2, 2014
Pros: already done
Cons: already done
Great atmosphere with the employees. A lot of work with long hours. I learned many aspects for the restaurant industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistant working enviroment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Richland, MSSeptember 30, 2014
Managers were a little too flirty. Pay was not good at all. Not worth driving to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great High School Job
Head Shift Leader (Former Employee), Fishers, INSeptember 29, 2014
This was a great job I could work throughout High School. It was good hours and good work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like being in high school all over again
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling, provide meals when working doubles, and close relationships
Cons: inconsistent and poor management, always short staffed, low pay with no benefits or chance to advance in career
This job is for people still in high school that don't take their job serious, having health insurance or paying bills is not a problem, are not effected by rude customers, and don't really care if they work or not. You could write a novel about how horrible and unprofessional the management and staff are there. Any one who does work there and take – more... their job serious deserves better. You will be taken advantage of your dedication and sacrifices. The long hours of non-stop out the door line of people and low pay really wears on you and drains the life out of you. This job is a good starting job for anyone who has never worked (teenagers), and just needs experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McAlister's Deli
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 17, 2014
Managed a rotating 35-40 member team

Cost of Sales and P and L experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Paducah, KYSeptember 11, 2014
Always had something to do, and Mark was a great person, sad that the business with out of business or id still be there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the work it was mostly the same everyday two rushes a day
Follow Direction from team lead and management (Former Employee), West Monroe, LASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: cool people
Cons: management can be shifty
see summary working there was alright for a restaurant in my opinion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Table Buser (Former Employee), Starkville, MSSeptember 1, 2014
managers didn't care about anything outside of work; went to military summer camp and when i returned i didnt receive any hours for over 2 weeks even after i talked to the managers and let them know i was back in town and ready to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McAlister's Deli
Cashier and Server (Former Employee), Tulsa, OkAugust 31, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, discounted food
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work would consist of being greeted by a friendly manager and other co-workers. I welcomed every customer with a smile and a welcome, I then waited until they were ready to place their orders and I would assist them with any questions or offer suggestions on the menu to help them with their experience. I also had basic cleaning duties – more... that included: sweeping, cleaning windows, busing tables, scrubbing the floors, and cleaning the restroom. The most enjoyable part of the job was connecting with other co-workers while sharing a friendly connection with our guests; I however, did not find anything about my job experience too difficult. I learned a lot about patience, friendly customer service, time management and maintained a friendly, hard work and always busy attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 31, 2014
Fun family environment. Busy but have to love customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Co-workers I have ever seen
Team Member (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COAugust 23, 2014
Pros: co workers, managers, regular customers.
Cons: short on hours
Getting prepared for lunch rush was always fun with coworkers. I learned that getting along with who you work with is very important. Best management ever. Hardest part was the crazy lunch rushes but still wasn't even that bad. The most enjoyable part was being the best group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could have used a bit more team work
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCAugust 13, 2014
the job itself was simple but no one worked together to achieve a common goal and management was little to no help at all. its no wonder the place closed a few months after i left
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more for someone going to school and needing a side job
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: no raises hardly ever no advancement to go to other positions
its an ok work enviorment the pay is not that great for the work that you have to do no raises
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay job at beast
Cook (Current Employee), Ballwin, MOAugust 9, 2014
Pros: rarely free food
Cons: split shifts, bad managers, hot in the kitchen, and always standing.
A typical day in McAlister's as a cook would be preparing for the lunch/dinner rush by stocking your station, making food in a timely manner, then cleaning and restocking to prepare the next rush. I learned about time management, qualities of a good employee and leadership. What I did not like about McAlisters is the management. They're some managers – more... that I loved, but in my experience most of them had major issues. I've dealt with a lot of managers getting fired or relocated. I've worked there for a little over two years and I would say what makes this place decent is the co-workers. They are down to earth and really fun. I would say the hardest part of this job would be dealing with the dinner/lunch rush or working a split shift there. A split shift would be like 9-2 5-9(close). Another thing people may not like is if you're scheduled 5-8, you won't normally get out at 8. Sometimes you might get out earlier, but for the most part you stay around and help until the job is done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place you want to work.
Food Runner (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARAugust 8, 2014
I didn't like nothing about the mcalister's. They need new management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly environment with good food and affordable prices
Cashier (Current Employee), Durham, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: friendly employees
Cons: no breaks
After being owned/taken over by Southern Deli's, management has gone downhill significantly. The current general manager has only been working for McAlister's for a total of 8 months and has a severe Napolean Complex about himself. Very rude and snooty with the current assistant manger and employees, penalizes them without facts of the events that have – more... transpired, and doesn't enforce the rules for every employee, therefore showing favoritism. Overall VERY unprofessional and needs a severe lesson in people skills. It upsets me to know that I enjoyed working here in the beginning of my employment, but will be leaving with a sour taste in my mouth. Wouldn't recommend anyone working there as long as he is the general manager of the store! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, where new people are common
Cashier/Server (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 1, 2014
Cons: pay rate
Allowed me to multitask due to the high volume of the store. I was able to network with new individuals and provide them with reason to continue to visit. The work hours were great and fast since there was always work to. The management staff was great and willing to help at any given moment.

1 2 3 4 5