Find companies:
McAlister's Deli
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
178 reviews

McAlister's Deli Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like being in high school all over again
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling, provide meals when working doubles, and close relationships
Cons: inconsistent and poor management, always short staffed, low pay with no benefits or chance to advance in career
This job is for people still in high school that don't take their job serious, having health insurance or paying bills is not a problem, are not effected by rude customers, and don't really care if they work or not. You could write a novel about how horrible and unprofessional the management and staff are there. Any one who does work there and take – more... their job serious deserves better. You will be taken advantage of your dedication and sacrifices. The long hours of non-stop out the door line of people and low pay really wears on you and drains the life out of you. This job is a good starting job for anyone who has never worked (teenagers), and just needs experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McAlister's Deli
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Waco, TXSeptember 17, 2014
Managed a rotating 35-40 member team

Cost of Sales and P and L experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Paducah, KYSeptember 11, 2014
Always had something to do, and Mark was a great person, sad that the business with out of business or id still be there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the work it was mostly the same everyday two rushes a day
Follow Direction from team lead and management (Former Employee), West Monroe, LASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: cool people
Cons: management can be shifty
see summary working there was alright for a restaurant in my opinion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Table Buser (Former Employee), Starkville, MSSeptember 1, 2014
managers didn't care about anything outside of work; went to military summer camp and when i returned i didnt receive any hours for over 2 weeks even after i talked to the managers and let them know i was back in town and ready to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McAlister's Deli
Cashier and Server (Former Employee), Tulsa, OkAugust 31, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, discounted food
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work would consist of being greeted by a friendly manager and other co-workers. I welcomed every customer with a smile and a welcome, I then waited until they were ready to place their orders and I would assist them with any questions or offer suggestions on the menu to help them with their experience. I also had basic cleaning duties – more... that included: sweeping, cleaning windows, busing tables, scrubbing the floors, and cleaning the restroom. The most enjoyable part of the job was connecting with other co-workers while sharing a friendly connection with our guests; I however, did not find anything about my job experience too difficult. I learned a lot about patience, friendly customer service, time management and maintained a friendly, hard work and always busy attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAAugust 31, 2014
Fun family environment. Busy but have to love customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Co-workers I have ever seen
Team Member (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COAugust 23, 2014
Pros: co workers, managers, regular customers.
Cons: short on hours
Getting prepared for lunch rush was always fun with coworkers. I learned that getting along with who you work with is very important. Best management ever. Hardest part was the crazy lunch rushes but still wasn't even that bad. The most enjoyable part was being the best group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could have used a bit more team work
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCAugust 13, 2014
the job itself was simple but no one worked together to achieve a common goal and management was little to no help at all. its no wonder the place closed a few months after i left
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more for someone going to school and needing a side job
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: a paycheck
Cons: no raises hardly ever no advancement to go to other positions
its an ok work enviorment the pay is not that great for the work that you have to do no raises
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay job at beast
Cook (Current Employee), Ballwin, MOAugust 9, 2014
Pros: rarely free food
Cons: split shifts, bad managers, hot in the kitchen, and always standing.
A typical day in McAlister's as a cook would be preparing for the lunch/dinner rush by stocking your station, making food in a timely manner, then cleaning and restocking to prepare the next rush. I learned about time management, qualities of a good employee and leadership. What I did not like about McAlisters is the management. They're some managers – more... that I loved, but in my experience most of them had major issues. I've dealt with a lot of managers getting fired or relocated. I've worked there for a little over two years and I would say what makes this place decent is the co-workers. They are down to earth and really fun. I would say the hardest part of this job would be dealing with the dinner/lunch rush or working a split shift there. A split shift would be like 9-2 5-9(close). Another thing people may not like is if you're scheduled 5-8, you won't normally get out at 8. Sometimes you might get out earlier, but for the most part you stay around and help until the job is done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place you want to work.
Food Runner (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARAugust 8, 2014
I didn't like nothing about the mcalister's. They need new management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly environment with good food and affordable prices
Cashier (Current Employee), Durham, NCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: friendly employees
Cons: no breaks
After being owned/taken over by Southern Deli's, management has gone downhill significantly. The current general manager has only been working for McAlister's for a total of 8 months and has a severe Napolean Complex about himself. Very rude and snooty with the current assistant manger and employees, penalizes them without facts of the events that have – more... transpired, and doesn't enforce the rules for every employee, therefore showing favoritism. Overall VERY unprofessional and needs a severe lesson in people skills. It upsets me to know that I enjoyed working here in the beginning of my employment, but will be leaving with a sour taste in my mouth. Wouldn't recommend anyone working there as long as he is the general manager of the store! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, where new people are common
Cashier/Server (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 1, 2014
Cons: pay rate
Allowed me to multitask due to the high volume of the store. I was able to network with new individuals and provide them with reason to continue to visit. The work hours were great and fast since there was always work to. The management staff was great and willing to help at any given moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/ Waiter (Current Employee), tuscaloosa, alJuly 25, 2014
I Love working at McAlisters. I enjoy the customers and the way of greeting each one of them. We work as a team to get the job done .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job
FOH HOurly Manager (Former Employee), Shiloh ILJuly 24, 2014
Pros: ability to move up quickly
Cons: poor compensation, hours, management
Pros and Cons vary from each location and the management team that is in charge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work.
Cashier and Order Taker (Former Employee), Southaven, MSJuly 9, 2014
A typical day at McAlister's involved me doing a cleaning detail when I arrived, taking orders and running customers their food. At the end of the day I did another cleaning detail then went home. It was an overall very easy job and a good enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place if you like spending most of your time at home
Cook (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great work/life balance (a little heavy on the life part)
Cons: poor management, not enough hours, lack of communication between front employees and kitchen employees
I worked at McAlister's Deli for a little more than a year. I loved it at first, the trainers were a delight, the new employees were great and nobody rushed anybody. All that changed once the training was over and the GM (General Manager) took the reigns. Employees were quitting left and right, we started losing money, and the GM was making the female – more... employees uncomfortable. I felt like the lower level employees were forced to work harder than what was required of them, but I didn't mind working hard. I enjoyed that part. What I was not a fan of, however, was the managers standing around being lazy and texting on their phones for two hours while we are in the middle of a rush. I think with some better management McAlister's Deli could be a great place to work. Until that day though, I don't recommend ever applying at this place unless it is an absolute last resort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food
Crew (Former Employee), Monroe, NCJuly 7, 2014
From the time I clocked in until the time I left I took customers orders on the register and cleaned the resturant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: terrible work/family balance
It was a great experience helping to grow the brand. The most enjoyable aspect was teaching new employees a good work ethic.

1 2 3 4 5