McAlister's Deli Employee Reviews

Showing all 732 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast paced work environment.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Bountiful, UTJune 28, 2017
It is a very busy work environment, with loads of stuff to do. The management is new and don't know much of what they are doing.They do have good food though.
Pros
Good food, nice employees
Cons
Management, unclean
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level Restaurant Management Opportunity
GENERAL MANAGER (Current Employee) –  San Angelo, TX, Lubbock Tx, Twin Falls ID.June 25, 2017
Long hours with lots of responsibility per restaurant management. Great with time to learn and grow as a manager. Executives fair and professional. Work place- Food. Opportunity to learn and excel in your work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productiive work place
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 25, 2017
If you work as a team and everyone gets along, days goes by fast and work place is more enjoyable. The management is great but hard to move up in positions.
Pros
discounted lunches
Cons
miminum breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Byram, MSJune 25, 2017
I would ring in orders, check to ensure that food went to the tables correctly, and take food to tables. The best part was getting to meet new people (customers). The management was not the best, but it was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communicative work environment and very helpful with great team work.
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Humble, TXJune 24, 2017
Easy and very efficient for everyone. Not everyone will be happy but you can try to please them. Everyone got along with everyone as a family. Customers were rude at times but we handled it very well. Many different people enjoyed coming to eat and enjoy our hospitality. At the end of the day we all were happy to make others happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People make the job
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  Signal Mountain, TNJune 23, 2017
The people you work with are amazing! It's just after a while the customers can become a hassle and very entitled. But that's with every serving job. Other than that it is a great and easy job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Server (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJune 23, 2017
It was a great experience there though I really wish indeed wouldnt force us to write a review for every job. we have worked at. Sometimes it hurts to write.
Pros
Awesome
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very fun place to work in
Cashier/Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Merrillville, INJune 22, 2017
I have liked working at McAlister's Deli because it gave me the opportunity to grow and a variety of positions. They do show you opportunities to grow into their company.
Pros
Very Nice Employees
Cons
No Breaks Shortage Of Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job was amazing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Noblesville, INJune 22, 2017
My work day is meeting new people and getting their order for food.
Working as a team.
The managers I had understand what is going on and willing to help when ever they can.
There were different culture in my workplace.
Keeping up with orders.
Helping the customers with their food and drinks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work environment
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Edwards, MSJune 22, 2017
Everyone is very fun and laid back. The job always gets done. The hardest part of the job is Sundays! It gets really busy on Sunday,but other than that it is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced
cook (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJune 21, 2017
Split shift work, if labor was running high they would send some home...then when a rush or bus would come. I would have to do all the extra work for the same pay
Pros
20 percent discount on food.
Cons
Short breaks, food waste.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJune 20, 2017
The deli was my first job as a kid it was a fun environment. Showed me how to run a kitchen. Keep the floors and dishes clean at rhe same time. I really enjoyed working at the deli. Only cons is that u really cant make a career out of it.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Pay every two weeks, start off with low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Certified Deli Trainer (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSJune 19, 2017
Mcalisters was a great place to work. You build relationships with coworkers by working as a team. You build connections with your customers. The job is pretty easy if you can multitask. You get a discount on food and the food is very good. All in all a good place to work.
Pros
Food discounts, easy work
Cons
Fast paced, sometimes understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun Workplace
Cashier /Window (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJune 18, 2017
Was a very nice place to work at the people are nice just the managers will get in you if your not doing the work right everyone has a dired position and you have to work fast because it is a very busy restaurant
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
Was no pay upgrade I worked there for 2 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful & Long Hours
Associate Manager (Current Employee) –  Apex, NCJune 18, 2017
The hours/shifts are not welcoming to have a balanced life. Management increasingly demands that you do their job and then takes credit for it. Upper management is not monitored by the company.
Pros
Free Meals
Cons
Long hours/shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle of the road
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCJune 18, 2017
Efficient management with minimal opportunity for advancement. Good environment, poor pay. Minimal tasks required of it's workers making for a fairly easy work environment.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
poor pay, terrible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMJune 16, 2017
the food is great,the customer service is great. everyone is friendly and willing to give you the hours you want. i loved working here, i loved working the cash register.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, fun environment.
Front and back of house and a delivery driver (Current Employee) –  Mesquite, TXJune 16, 2017
I enjoy working here but I need a change of scenery. I wanna expand my options and see what's out there for me, I know for a fact I won't be working at a deli for the rest of my life.
Pros
It's extremely easy and fast to learn and once you get the hang of it it's really simple
Cons
Short breaks, sometimes it can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work place with nice coworkers
Front of House Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 16, 2017
I found the work environment fairly pleasurable and enjoyed working at a restaurant I already enjoyed. The scheduling was flexible and I could fit it to my needs and change my availability easily.
Pros
Employee meal discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for a beginning job
Customer Service/Waitressing (Current Employee) –  Lexington, SCJune 15, 2017
I've worked at Mcalister's for a few years. I think I should be getting paid a little more for all the things I know how to do, but I make $9.00/hr so I'm not going to complain too much about the pay. I think this is a job for someone who is in high school as a beginning job or just a college student who needs money. But as someone who has bills and college to pay for this works as a part time job.
Pros
70% of meals
Cons
Sometimes we can be short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McAlister's Deli. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 732 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6