Find companies:
McCalla Raymer, LLC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

McCalla Raymer, LLC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better places to work
Legal Assistant (Former Employee), FloridaNovember 20, 2014
Pros: overall benefits
Cons: some managers rather sit in their office then help their team
For a law firm that deals with Foreclosures and works for the banks, they are one of the most friendliest and caring organizations I have ever worked with. Of course McCalla Raymer is not perfect, but they do try their best to do the right thing by their employees and show how much they are appreciated.

Every year the owners throw monthly or quarterly – more... functions which include lunches, ice cream socials, happy hours, a company picnic, and a fabulous Holiday party. In addition they give you 3 weeks of PTO every year, which you don't have to worry about accruing. The majority of employees can take advantage of flex-schedules which in times of crisis can be a Godsend. Oh and the one thing I will miss very much is the amount of Holidays we would get off each year. Most businesses give you 6 to 7 holidays off a year, but MR gives you 11 to 13 a year; with days like Columbus Day and the Day after Thanksgiving.

Working there so long I was sad I had to go, but another opportunity came around that I could not pass up.

As far as improvements, although not many, I do think managers need to be more engaged with their staff and work with them a little closer. Some of them spend too much time at their desk and not enough time working with their staff as a team and helping everyone be stronger. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good place to work.
Legal Assistant (Former Employee), Roswell, GANovember 13, 2014
One of the best things about this company is they do allow some people to work from home. I was able to work from home the entire 18 months I worked for them. They have good benefits- good medical/dental/vision, 401k, life insurance, and paid holidays and vacation.

Most of my interaction with co-workers and managers was done via email although I was – more... provided with an internet phone and occasionally participated in conference calls/training. Everyone was pleasant and easy to get along with. Although, managers seem to come and go quite often in my department.

As with any job, there is always the possibility of being let go, but they steadily let people go the whole time I was there so I never felt completely comfortable as far as job stability. It's a great place to work if you can continue working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Bosses
Foreclosure (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 11, 2014
Pros: flexibility/take advantage of ot
Cons: just a number.
Worthless company with no morals or respect for employees. Frequent layoff for dedicated workers. No training, Human Resource-Orlando / Human Resource-Atlanta clueless, worthless and unprofessional, basically only names with titles. HR don't the meaning and purpose of Human Resource. In the event of layoff employees lose your PTO vacation. Managing – more... attorney in other office responsible for lay off of all employees. Better off applying with other foreclosure law firms. – less

November 15, 2014

Very true and on point. You will only be a number until your demise.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fun workplace
Legal Assistant / Mailroom Assistant (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 15, 2014
Being apart of McCalla Raymer has given me great learning experince. I love the people I work with even when some days the workload can get stressful. I love that we get 13 paid holiday off and a sufficient amount of paid time off as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are nice but the work is mind numbing
Legal Assistant -Team Supervisor (Former Employee), Roswell, GAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: free montly sales lunches
Cons: the benefits package could be better
The culture is very laid back but productive you plan out your day accomplish your tasks come in the next day and do it all again. There is not much micromangement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foreclosure mill with attendant problems, no matter the practice group.
Associate Attorney, Title Litigation Group (Current Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaAugust 11, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: see above.
Employees are treated like assets, yet are expected to exhibit human qualities like loyalty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Staff but Offers No Job Stability
legal assistant (Former Employee), fort lauderdale, flJuly 7, 2014
Pros: benefits, friendly staff, hours, flexible
Cons: no job stability, loyalty, consideration of employees
although overstaff was nice and the benefits package was generous, the firm is not a stable one. Two large layoffs took place in the time I was employed and offered no job stability to those employees who stayed with the firm the longest. The firm strictly cut employees based on pay and not loyalty. I would not work for this company if given another – more... chance to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstable work environment
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 4, 2014
Cons: poor management decisions
As a real estate law firm, their business is driven by the consumer.
Simultaneously to my employment, they acquired a bankrupt company and took on large amounts of debts that superseded their revenue resulting in multiple lay-offs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The success you have is based on your carreer not the company.
Customer (Former Employee), Ft. Lauderdale, FloridaJune 29, 2014
Pros: work environment, management, oppurtunities. it is what you believe it is.
Cons: work environment, management, oppurtunities. it is what you believe it is.
Having worked with many legal offices is surprised me to read the negative reviews some prior employees gave this company. Regardless of upper level management's stand a person will be un/successful in his of her own right. If one has experienced a company that made him or her successful, wonderful, please have a fond memory of sharing a rare situation. – more... Do not assume because you were carried in one job you must always be carried. Assume the best and be prepared for the worst. Decisions in life are simple. Carrying the responsibility of and fulfilling those decisions to fruition are not for the weak of mind, body or spirit. (this includes having unreasonable expectations.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lay-off and so much work
Service (Former Employee), Ft LauderdaleJune 28, 2014
I don't understand why they hired me to lay me off for no apparent reason. They said they lost a client, but there was so much work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A seasoned firm with little to offer to serious professionals
Best employee the firm ever laid off (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 4, 2014
Pros: the salary was great while it lasted
Cons: besides what was listed above, there is a very high turnover, as the firm prefers to hire employees that previously worked at failed law firms in fl, so they can underbid them on thier salary and pay less than they are worth.
I was a rock star in everything I did. I worked more hours to complete projects than any other in the firm. I kept clients happy and smoothed over their anger when in house teams were clearly not performing. I had several consecutive years of reviews showing my perseverance to exceed expectation. I was pretty much made responsible for anything thrown – more... at me for various groups from BK to FCL, LIT or Title and I did so with no complaints. The proverbial doormat so to speak. I maintained and still have wonderful relationships with many of my co-workers and some of the clients. The hardest part of the JOB was knowing it would always be a job and never develop into a career. Management staff is allowed to get away with not running anything and when things fall apart as a result the low men on the totem pole are "laid off". The partners of the firm put close friends into high places regardless of their talent and they lean on the backs of everyone else to do their job. I was "laid off" as apparently my position was eliminated but the next week it had been filled again with a sub-par employee that had previous problems already. I believe I was targeted due to my salary but had the company come to me and asked to re-negotiate I would have worked with them. All respect is gone and with the way things are going I am willing to bet the firm will not be in business in Florida in another year. Lastly their Human Resources department has the most rude and unprofessional people I have ever had to deal with in my life. If you see a posting for open positions and apply just know that you will eventually be someone's scapegoat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morale killer
Door Mat (Former Employee), FloridaJune 4, 2014
Pros: team morale
There is absolutely no room for advancement. I kind of feel I wasted my time here expecting some time of change to take place. This place is definitely a "who you know" workplace.

Everyone in management, doesn't deserve to have their position. Learn how to talk to people, at the end of the day, its just a job. Dont make enemies out of your employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for Serious Professionals
Foreclosure (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 5, 2014
Pros: free sale day lunch
Cons: benefits are super expensive, no bonuses, little raises and no appreciation
I would not work here if you are seeking any growth opportunities. I was at that company for many years and saw many people get promoted who had no experience managing and were not people persons. It's all about who you know and if they like you. Management doesn't know how to speak professionally to their team members. None of them encourage you and – more... tell you when you are doing good. They only come around when something is screwed up. Most of the time you don't see them at all when their office sits 2 feet from you. There is absolutely no professionalism. If you have a degree it means NOTHING as far as how your salary is determined. No matter how hard you work remember you are expendable (and as soon as the company is losing money they let 10 to 15 people go (every three months). If you work in the foreclosure department there are 5 days where you are not able to take vacation time so you have to plan vacation around those days because they will not approve PTO.

There are no bonuses and raises vary from 5 cents to 15 cents a year. There was nothing that I enjoyed at McCalla Raymer. It was a job not my career and I am so grateful that I am out of that place. I am not saying these things because I am no longer there as I felt this way the entire time I worked there. It was just a JOB. Everyone around me that worked with me felt the same way. They are only there because it's a paycheck. If you are looking for a career this is NOT the place to be. If you are looking for a check to pay bills (pay scale is well under for the state standard) then enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep moving along
Client Services (Former Employee), Orlando, FLApril 10, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
If you see posts for positions with this firm just keep moving along. There is no opportunity for advancement and they hire in mass and lay off when they cannot make payroll
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work place
LEGAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Orlando, FloridaApril 8, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility, accessibility to a parking garage
Very productive
Management is friendly and personable
Co-workers are friendly and helpful
Frequent department meetings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Plaintiff foreclosure firm
Paralegal -Foreclosure (Former Employee), Orlando, FloridaFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits and work environment
Cons: lay offs
Management really cares about employes and it has a great work environment. However, people are often confused with last minute deadlines and after I left Ive heard of 2 rounds of layoffs over the years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with wonderful monthly team building functions
Executive Assistant/Escalations Paralegal (Former Employee), Roswell, GAJanuary 29, 2014
It was a wonderful experience working with so many talented legal professionals! Many people were interested in my life beyond the walls of the work environment and truly cared about who I was as a person and not just a colleague. Although the work is very fast-paced and there are high expectations for the work product, there are many opportunities – more... to learn and enrich your career!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Default firm in Roswell
Managing Partner, Bankruptcy Litigation (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 28, 2014
Default firm. I do not wish for this to be publicly displayed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast-paced workplace that is bogged down by issues within the firm.
Legal assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 27, 2012
Pros: pay, benefits, people
Cons: job security, time/work management
McCalla Raymer was a wonderful experience. I gained knowledge in the mail room, data entry, and the job requirements of a legal assistant. Management was kind overall and willing to help, and my co-workers were generally positive.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with many different people. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with – more... my work. Due to issues within the firm, paperwork was being passed around the office at a fast rate, and it was difficult to get caught up before my work load was shuffled around. – less

McCalla Raymer, LLC Photos