McCarter & English, LLP Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oldest law firm in new jersey well respected
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJNovember 9, 2015
mcc arter &english well respestced law firm i was there for 8years
they have treated me well until my position was out sourced last june i missed the people who taught me how to become a better indiviual in life as well as good husband and father and good worker
and co -worker as well
Pros
always recieved employee lunch in april
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was always good to me. No complaints.
Paralegal/Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJNovember 10, 2015
Great company. Work hard they reward you. Sometimes stressful however, they spent a lot of time on resources to help relieve some of the daily pressures. Attorneys were mostly pleasant and I never felt there was a divide between attorneys and staff. I wish I could go back.
Pros
Annual raises and bonuses
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clicky
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 15, 2015
Answer phones, court filings, typing pleadings, filing. Co-workers no so friendly, not one of my favorite places to work.
Pros
There were some nice attorneys
Cons
Did not fit in with the click of girls.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally speaking, this is a nice place to work.
Legal Secretary - Litigation (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 30, 2015
I enjoyed this place of employment and my position in particular because the general atmosphere was very pleasant with great co-workers. We had excellent training classes which enabled me to increase my professional skills. The only improvement would be in the area of job security/advancement..
Pros
Great benefits.
Cons
Lack of acknowledgement and appreciation of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work while being a full time student
Operations Staff (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJAugust 16, 2015
I have many responsibilities but nothing too overwhelming. Working here was like being a family, everyone was very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paralegal (Current Employee), Newark, NJ – March 17, 2015
Litigation Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJMarch 17, 2015
*very busy day at work
*learned how to work with different types of programs
*management is great, very pleasant and understanding
*co-workers are great, there is a lot of team work
Pros
flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, salary and benefits.
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEDecember 14, 2014
General day was 9 to 5 pm. No overtime usually required.

Management and co-workers blended together well.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the way everyone got along.

There was never any "class" distinction among the staff. Everyone from top to bottom was on a first name basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment, employers and employees worked prfessionally
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJMarch 11, 2015
Every morning, I check my emails or voice mails. Received and processed payments from clients in the system. During the day, received/make internal phone calls or emails regarding issues on payments. Send emails to partners and management for the day's cash receipts breakdown. Sent A/R reports to all partners via Crystal Report. Researched and applied unallocated funds. I learned how to prioritize tasks assigned to me and how to be a team player to achieve the company's goal. The management has provided good benefits to their employees. My co-workers were supportive to each other and worked as a team. The hardest part of the job was during fiscal year end when all payments from clients pours in and needs to be processed in a timely manner, and clean up unapplied account in A/R. I was able to achieve those challenges through the skills which i have developed during my years in A/R.
Pros
free flu shots, yearly holiday parties
Cons
does not offer seminars or training programs for career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment and productive place
Paralegal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTDecember 22, 2014
*very busy day at work
*learned how to work with different types of programs
*management is great, very pleasant and understanding
*co-workers are great, there is a lot of team work
*
Pros
flexibility
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A prominent firm one is proud to work for, conveniently located for my commute.
Paralegal - Insurance Litigation Department (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 31, 2012
Typical day consisted of reviewing, organzing and filing of documents, or assisting other paralegals and attorneys with spwecial projects. I learned everything I know about computers from working at McCarter & English. Management was okay, though I believe the attorneys quite often didn't realize what it took to get certain projects done. My co-workers were great, one of the nicest aspects of the job. The most enjoyable aspect of the job was that I would be given a task and then trusted to carry it out without someone hovering over my shoulder. The thing I disliked the most was the introduction of new computer systems every couple of years. You just get comfortable and familiar with a system and they would change it on you.
Pros
nice environment, great benefits.
Cons
expectation to cancel plans to work on projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional office with a laid back atmosphere
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 26, 2013
Very good place to work, great salary and benefits
Co-workers were great;
management very good;
It was a small regional office that was part of a big firm, so it had a small office atmosphere, where everyone knew each other very well and worked as a team
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work and had great perks and people.
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJAugust 2, 2013
I like McCarter & English, LLP it was a great place to work. Many perks and good atmosphere.
Pros
free lunches sometimes and many other benefits.
Cons
location is okay only if you stay in the gateway center in newark. i don't remember any other cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely professional and cordial environment
Associate - Public Finance Department (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 5, 2014
I received excellent training in public finance transactions leading to direct transaction management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straighforward company and professional
Legal Administrator (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJOctober 31, 2013
For a large firm it does have a family vibe to it. Staff is a pleasure to work with and pretty flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Office associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2012
nice place to work at. great coworker, advancement opportunies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7

McCarter & English, LLP Reviews by Location