Find companies:
McKinley
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

McKinley Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Maintenance Person (Former Employee), Augusta, GASeptember 3, 2014
This was my first Job after high school. This is where I learned most of my work experiences from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where do i start...
AFD (Former Employee), M. ShoresAugust 28, 2014
Pros: hoby
Cons: long hours, no training, i told you so
Stay away at best. Sure do talk a good game but you WILL get the short end of the stick. Giving up a very respectful job to come to this place and ending in regret fullness. Looking forward to making a difference you will soon be over shadowed by get it done now and how dare you ask for assistance. Being salary in my first week I was asked to work the – more... weekend totaling 70 hrs only to follow up with 65 hrs the next following week .You are not joining a team in place but simply replacing a feed up employee and a recent firing of a employee who's spot needs to be filled. I never had a position i didn't like even when the odds were stacked against me but this company showed me that they are still out there and now I know what NOT to do unfortunately. Upper management will sell you the stars only to leave and hit you long range with "as per our conversation" and "this will result in" terms. You want work done? just e-mail corporate and all work will stop till its resolved never minding whats happening at ground zero and what we had to do or finish. I write this very beside myself as i wanted to make a change but I was never givin a chance to in my short weeks employed watching 3 people get fired or walk also making me the 4th to exit shortly after.

Suggestions...Undercover Boss also "Learn what you say" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Profitable and Caring
Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 14, 2014
Pros: reinbursed gas and the abililty to be outside and shopping
Cons: no health benefits, no holiday pay or overtime pay.
I would perform daily living activities that my client couldn't perform on her own or needed supervision doing certain tasks. I would do daily house chores, grocery shopping, take her to medical appointments, food pantries, remind her of her medications, and provide companionship.

While working with my client for the past 2.5 years, I've learned that – more... companionship and a positive attitude can benefit a persons life more than we think. I didn't really deal with management, only when it came to timesheets. I didn't have any coworkers that shared the same shift as me. The hardest part of this job was trying to stick to just the duties that are required of me. I tend to start caring and because of that I do more than I'm actually getting paid for. Which I don't mind sometimes, but then it gets to the point where they start to take advantage of it. The part I love the most about my job is getting to help people who need it and building friendships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 6, 2014
Pros: company puts employees first
Cons: a lot of work
Excellent management, great pay and benefits. A lot of work, but the rewards are worth it and they don't go un noticed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company to work for
lead maint tech (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 16, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything
i worked for the same property for 11 years the mckinley took over and fired everyone but me, they kept me on for 4 weeks till they got all the info on the property from me that they needed and then fired me for no reason. beware of this company not a good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD COMPANY TO WORK FOR
Maintenance Supervisor - 504 units (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 11, 2014
Pros: pretty good company to work for
Cons: not many oppertunities to advance
GREAT OPPERTUNITY IF YOU QUALIFY FOR THEM ALSO
COMPANY PROVIBES EXCELLENT SCHOOLING OPPERTUNITIES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mckinley
Customer Service Manager/ Bookkeeper (Former Employee), College Park, GAMay 19, 2014
Collections, work orders and handling day to day concerns from the residents as well as assisting the property mgr.

I learned a different approach on how to collect rent.

Management was great. Very open to ideas.

Teamwork

Just working with people was enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful!!!
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), IllinoisMay 7, 2014
Pros: good commission
Cons: terminate quickly with no reason
I was offered a senior Sales Associate position at a property. The community manager raved about how awesome of a person I was. Even going as far as saying he'd hire me even if he didn't have a current opening because they didn't want to pass me up. I started on a Monday, did basic training with the receptionist. Tuesday, I sat in as the receptionist – more... all day while the receptionist was being trained for the Customer Service Manager position. Spent Wednesday and Thursday shadowing the Senior Sales Associate who only did lease renewals. Was talking and assisting residents and potential residents. Was very comfortable with what I had been trained on up to that point. I came in Friday and was immediate pulled into an office with the Community Manager and the New Community Manager that was training and was told they had made a decision to terminate me. When asked what the reason was since it had only been 4 days, I was told they don't have to give a reason. PLEASE BEWARE! I've been racking my head trying to figure out what I did. After reading these reviews it seems like a common problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother..
maint tech (Former Employee), Taylor MiMay 6, 2014
Pros: not terrible money
Cons: everything else
They ask you for your life, offer nothing in exchange. Fire you before benefits kick in. For no reason. Management is a joke. Favoritism to lesser qualified personnel. Weekend work sucks. They drive you to always go faster. They dont want the job done right, they just want it done fast. One of the worst places I've ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They will SCREW you over
Management (Former Employee), IllinoisMarch 26, 2014
Pros: salary- not worth it
Cons: you name it
I quit my job, left a FREE apartment, and TRIED to make things work for this company, and they let me go.

Everything looks pretty and sounds awesome- trust me they will work you to the bone.

Expect to not only hold your job but also be moving furniture and working outside of regular hours.

The salary sounds appealing, but please, read the other reviews – more... and don't ignore them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
senior sales associate (Former Employee), Tampa FLFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I was left alone after a week with no training and had to deal with screaming resident because of the previous poor management and try to train myself at the same time. I had to reach out to other sister properties and introduce myself asking for help. I was left alone in the office for four months. They hired a new asset manager who decided I was making – more... too much money and they let me go. Hands down the worst company ever worked for. This company is also very well known for selling their properties and not notifying their employees so basically employees show up for work like a regular day and are either fired on the spot, locked out or have to re interview for their same position most likely at a lesser pay. Upper management will talk to you with absolutely no respect. While I was left alone as a Senior Sales Associate the regional would not mind calling me in the evenings or on the weekends in regards to things pertaining to the property. I was not salary I did not get paid for those times I spent on the phone with him. This is typically something a property manager would deal with. I also was forced to take the on call phone for maintenance on multiple occasions. I have no maintenance experience. The reason I was left alone after a week was because the property manager that was there for only 3 weeks quit due to the horrible upper management and the office being in complete disarray. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company should not be operating at all
Community Manager (Former Employee), los angelesNovember 25, 2013
Cons: everything
This company plays around with lives. The staff has no clue to what they are doing. Horrible company!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company, Horrible Leadership.
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee), OrlandoOctober 17, 2013
Pros: fellow co-workers suffering together, because of the ignoramuses that lead them.
Cons: none.
This company is poorly run, at least at the Orlando offices. But it seems that the rest of the company has similar complaints: High turnover rate, slave-driving, and the constant fear of losing your job. It all begins at the top. I saw many good people get fired while I was with the company. They will usually fire you right before your benefits kick – more... in. I worked with a community manager who blatantly told me that she grew up in a household, where, "People of color were referred to as something other than people of color." As a minority I found this extremely offensive. She later told me, as I was being transferred, that she had gone through NINE, (9!!), Senior Sales Associates. Nothing I did was ever good enough, nor will it ever be for you! The amount of hoops that you will have to jump through to keep your job becomes more difficult, and in the end, when you are doing a three person job, they will let you go. But that will be your blessing, because it truly is a horrible place to work. All of the reviews are very much the real deal. Corporate in Ann Arbor, is a bunch of kids, working and sleeping with one another, power tripping when they come down and "walk" the moldy, sub-par, ghetto properties this company specializes in acquiring. One of the District Managers actually got arrested for Domestic Violence -- The whole company knows!! But this is the type of personality you will run into with this company: Controlling, overbearing, and incompetent.They will try to overwork you and scare you with their system of "Feedback," which is just a way for them to write you up. The tenants will come to you for answers as to why their roach/flea/mold infested apartment still has the same problems they complained of months ago, and the managers will ignore, or have you take their messages. The last manager I was with had a "Jabba The Hut" style of management: Sit on your butt and do nothing while looking disgusting. Yet the rest of the staff suffers because of his lack of professionalism. Some Assistant Managers refuse to move up to a higher position because they know Mckinley treats people poorly. Every property will be the same, because that is the Mckinley way of treating their employees. Oh, they also mess with your commissions. STAY AWAY!!! Expect to be overworked, no breaks, and staying late -- everyday. There are better jobs out there for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applicant Beware
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), AtlantaOctober 14, 2013
Pros: bonuses
Cons: everything except the bonuses
This is the worst company that I have ever worked for. Regionals micro manage and have no clue how to assist you or how to get the job done. Have pointless weekly conference calls its clear that favoritism is shown on the calls. Pointless daily and weekly reports emailed to the entire company. Email overload with shout outs from the entire company. – more... Corporate is a JOKE!!!!!! They don't respond to unethical practices of the regional managers that threaten you about your job. They are a bunch of BULLIES!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I thought this company was where I would retire untilI was fired for no reason.
Property Manager (Former Employee), ohioSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: money
Cons: everything
Do not appel your job if you are fired they take you through all of these hoops for nothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), TampaAugust 27, 2013
Pros: awesome work enviorment
Wonderful staff. Hardest part was to leave. Very pleased with the salary and the opportunity of advancement..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ranked 38 in top 50 mgmt. companies!! Who's doing the ranking!!
CM (Current Employee), AtlantaMay 17, 2013
Pros: salary and bonuses
Cons: regional leaders that don't know how to do their jobs!!!
This is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. The regional is unprofessional, inexperienced and intimidates her teams, she plays favoritism and it shows. Whenever anyone from corporate visits she keeps them close for fear they will talk to the staff and will get an ear full. She can't answer any questions and always tell us to contact another – more... manager for help. Salaries and bonuses are good but work morale and work load is ridiculous, they push, push and more pushing. I have only been with them a short time but I'm looking. I would not recommend anyone to work for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst company to "interview" with
None (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, miApril 2, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: waste of time
I have 10 years of property management experience. I applied to McKinley because their career opportunities looked compelling. Before I was even offered an interview, I was asked to shop two of McKinley's properties and to write a review of what I'd do differently. Immediately, this sent red flags to me. Possible employee prospects to shop other McKinley – more... properties? Really? I'm
An English major and I was told that I didn't qualify for a position because I don't meet their writing requirements. Waste of time! They just want free shoppers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away for the sake of your résumé
Groundsman (Former Employee), FloridaFebruary 4, 2013
Worked for the company for 6 months fired me before my benefits kicked in. By far the most inconsiderate company I've ever worked for. Looks for reasons to fire you from the sart they love running through people like cattle in my six months I've seen 10 people get hired and fired and only met one person who had been with the McKinley for over a year – more... ( wonder who she slept with) if you like a hazardous job wear you head is on the block everyday go for it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Push, Push, Push mentality dont worry theres more bodies out there
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Ann Arbor MIJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: my staff was great and completed everyting i asked of them, it just wasn't enough to please upper managment
Cons: no matter what we did or how much, it was never enough to satisfy management it was always "push, push, push" your team
The worst company I've worked for in the past 25 years. As a Maintenance Supervisor I was asked to spy on my staff daily and write them up. (they call it feedback) They didn't even have a door on the bathroom for the maintenance staff, nowhere to put their lunch, they expected you to sit in your car and eat. Also they required you to use your own car – more... and fuel to do their work. They cut back on staffing and required more work. Their equipment was broken down and had to be fixed, all the while they cut back on your budget every month so their bonus's would be bigger. Made to feel job was on the line daily. No positive feedback only negative no matter what you did, it was never enough. STAY AWAY! your just another body to them.

PS. I would not give them any stars if I didn't have too. – less

About McKinley

McKinley was founded in 1968 by Ambassador Ronald N. Weiser and is led by Albert M. Berriz, the company's President and CEO. McKinley – Read more