Mckinstry Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Critical Facilities Engineer (Former Employee) –  Urbana, MDJanuary 8, 2016
I would always start work 1/2 hour early, Start my night off looking at my email, look at what wo's and pm's I had then start hourly readings on all 4 chillers and water usage , then start nightly rounds like checking all Air Handler Units, all Switch gear rooms , Check all 6 Generators , checked all restrooms for any leaks or broken fixtures , Spent 2 hours a night in control room to watch for any alarms on equipment (BMS) Building Managing system , then would work on what wo's and pm's I had.Management was great to work with , Co - workers weren't very good to work with , they would stab you in the back fast, some weren't very helpful ,liked to keep their experiences on equipment to themselves and didn't like to teach, did learn more on AHU'S and RO System . Benefits were great , company paid for me to go to gym , and insurance was great. Best part of job was I could work on my own and learn as much as I could by working on equipment
Pros
Insurance, pay, company looks out for employees
Cons
Co Workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff
Operations Coordinator - Oregon Region (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORNovember 11, 2015
Best place to work. No one was petty. It is an engineering firm and there is always a lot going on.They have good benefits once you are hired.
Pros
on site gym, full kitchen
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Critical Facility Engineer (Current Employee) –  Urbana, MDNovember 6, 2015
this company is a good solid company to work for, however, there are many people within the company that don't know how to communicate well or to manage their time wisely. It seems to be doing ok, but could be improved significantly.
Pros
good pay, good work/life balance
Cons
communication problems, computer illiteracy rate is high
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wish I was still there
Laborer - truck driver (Former Employee) –  Mukilteo, WAOctober 20, 2015
Loved working for these guy's. Always felt safe and appreciated. Paid top scale for union wages. Had all the tools and equipment to perform job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends totally on your location and management at the site
Lead Critical Facilities Support (Former Employee) –  Denver, ColoradoAugust 28, 2015
Depends on site location and the management at the location that will make the difference in your career. Location in Denver is like a revolving door .. Huge turnover..!
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Understafed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEP Company with the right ideas
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  PortlandApril 13, 2015
Many different silo's trying to work as a team.
Upper management trying to sell as a package however everyone is not on the same page.
Several mismatches in middle management positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost their secret sauce
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  SeattleFebruary 5, 2015
This used to be a fantastic company but they've lost touch with the employee first and client focused culture that made them great. Now their just another corporate franchise who are mostly concerned with Operating Income.
Pros
nice facility, good insurance, professional atmosphere
Cons
terrible higher level leadership, lost touch with their values, no appreciation of their work force
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best company to work for
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 29, 2015
A typical day at work
- HVAC system design

What you learned
- Humidity Control of high rise hotels exceeding twenty five stories.
- Hot and chilled water system for large commercial buildings.
- Commercial kitchen exhaust and cooling systems.
- Variable Air Volume (VAV) systems for large buildings.
- Hazardous exhaust systems.
- Laboratory exhaust systems.
- Building pressurization.
- Radiant heating for aircraft hangars, commercial spaces and storage areas.
- Make-up air systems for hotels, air hangers, commercial kitchens and storage areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, flat out, best place I have worked.
anonymous (Current Employee) –  anonymousJanuary 19, 2015
What more can be said? McKinstry is the only place I have worked that actually puts people first. A lot of companies claim to but they really do.
Awesome compensation, excellent benefits. Fair and just assessments and evaluations.
They are growing and there is a lot of opportunity.
Pros
the internal structure of company.
Cons
they are not in every state yet.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Great Benefits
Critical Facilities Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cupertino, CA.November 18, 2014
Probably the only company I've ever worked for that is serious about its "safety first policy." It was great to go into work and not have to worry about doing something you were uncomfortable with. McKinstry always put great emphasis on creating a work culture where team members thrive and become better.
Pros
great opportunities to learn, amazing safety and training programs.
Cons
advancements are setup before official postings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for Work/Life Balance. Compensation and Benefits are Great also.
PC Technician (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAJuly 7, 2014
Compensation was great along with Work/Life Balance. The only issue I find is that moving up within the company depending on what your job role is extremely hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out good....ended bad/typical
Technology Solutions Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 30, 2014
The job was good until people started leaving and no one was replaced. Then the personal agendas tanked any new business and ultimately there was a bleed of talent and resources.
Pros
pay and technology
Cons
clique-ish atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clicky, like high school
Critical Facility Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 3, 2014
Was a great place to work until they decided they wanted to be a $1B company.
Pros
work/life ballance
Cons
have to be in the "club" for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great people
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 27, 2014
Good place to work with great people. Lots of work and plenty of potential to grow within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self motivation and management easy approach
Critical Facility Engineer (Current Employee) –  Newark, CAMay 27, 2013
Excellent Employee caring company with dynamic real world results.

Great design, build,operation company with large global IT companies work experience
Pros
gym, in house training
Cons
most of the sites are out of head office area/zone
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place but nothing special
CFE (Former Employee) –  SF bay areaApril 28, 2013
Not sure about Seattle but here in the SF bay area McKinstry is little known. They are a decent company but have very little presence here in SF bay area. From my two years with them, regardless of their spin/pitch on themselves, are just a typical run of the mill outsource contractor. Ive worked in facilities with multiple facility outsource companies such as McKinstry, not much difference between them. Personally, once the outsourcing trend took hold, things went downhill in a hurry. I say try to find an in house position if at all possible, you will be better off!
Pros
decent benefits, fairly responsive to employee concerns.
Cons
lack of adequate management, salary a bit below industry standard in bay area.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with excellent growth opportunity
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 28, 2012
McKinstry has provided an excellent environment for me and has fostered my development while working with me to create a workable balance between my career and my family. They hired me 2 months pregnant, and then supported me 100% through 12 weeks of maternity leave. They now let me work one day from home so I can have a break from my commute. The work environment is fun and dynamic! I can't recommend this company enough!
Pros
gym, trainer, basketball court, driving range, cafe, wellness program
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, great place to work!
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  SeattleSeptember 28, 2012
After being at McKinstry for 2 years i can confidently say that we have an amazing culture! The people here are smart, friendly and ambitious people.
Pros
awesome office, great coworkers
Cons
we stay super busy so you can't be afraid to work hard!
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice and fun place to work
Facility Engineer (Current Employee) –  Seattle WAOctober 5, 2011
I would highly recomend McKinstry Co. to anyone looking for employment
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture