McLane Company Employee Reviews

Found 665 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Logistics Coordinator/Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CA 91764April 18, 2017
Teamwork. Experience. Family environment.

Very welcoming. Help Full

Learning new Job fulfillment able to communicate between everyone.


Able to learn new management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 401K
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYApril 17, 2017
McLane works you like a dog. The schedule is 4 days 10 hour shifts. You will never work 10 hours, more like 12 - 16 hours. They just started making everyone come in on an off day and work a half day. The company only cares about getting the product picked and out the door. If you don't run at 100% you will be wrote up. This place is a revolving door. In the year that I have been there I have seen more people quit than they can hire. Even managers are quitting. Upper management is completely clueless, communication between management does not happen. One manager tells you one thing and an hour later another comes along and tells you something completely different. Coming back late from breaks and lunch counts against your minutes. Each picker is assigned minutes each day, between 650 - 750. You cannot leave until you reach your minutes. The Operations Managers are good people and have their hands tied. Leads are supervisors with no authority. Everyone starts in the freezer, average temp is 4 degrees, cooler is 35 degrees and the dry side has no A/C in the summer. My first 3 months I lost 35lbs. Most of the hand scanners are junk, the electric pallet jacks are junk, the batteries for the jacks are old and don't hold a charge (48 Billion Dollar company and can't afford new batteries). Very few people I work with are happy. New hires usually only last about 2 weeks before they realize just how hard you are worked. Most just walk off the job.
Pros
Pay, medical benefits, 401k.
Cons
Upper management is terrible, hours, days off are not back to back.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and no balance between personal life and work
Freezer Selector (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYApril 15, 2017
Loved it here at first but we got so understaffed the supervisors would kill you day after day in the amount of work you need to do they don't care about the people that get the orders together and in our morning meeting we always heard that we suck and can't do the job right I was very accurate but it didn't stop them from continuously writing me up for other bs
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Management and life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Sellector (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILApril 14, 2017
I enjoyed working here loved being a member of a team it was fast paced and everyone was always nice. Had a few cookouts for all of the employees. The company is a multi million dollar company
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is ok but no balance with personal life.
Order Selector/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXApril 12, 2017
Compensation and benefits are fair, however work load is extremely heavy at times. Hard to maintain that job/ life balance. Hours may be extremely long depending on work load for the day
Pros
Compensation/Benefits
Cons
Life balance. Hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Clerk III-Special Operations (Current Employee) –  Temple, TX 76504April 11, 2017
The company is great. Great benefits. Many teammate perks. Excellent 401K plan. Great Christmas parties, company parties and monthly meetings. Good HR department.
Pros
Lots of teammate activities
Cons
Seculded departments
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, very good money
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Tracy, CAApril 10, 2017
Very good management support and staff.

The work was as expected physically demanding and rewarding too.

Pay for work was very acceptable.

Safety was top priority and training for it was substantial.

Employees were at the top tier for the industry.
Pros
Benifits, local work requirement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible scheduling
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIApril 6, 2017
In an administrative roll, the management team is highly flexible with scheduling to help maintain a great work life balance. as long as you are able to get your job done they will work well with you.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Route driving
Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Jessup, PAApril 6, 2017
Pick up loaded trailer at Distribution Center in Jessup, Pa and deliver product to various customers. When trailer empty bring it back to Distribution center. Sometimes bring product from Suppliers to distribution center.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Long hours and fast delivery times
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most racist company ever
Employee (Former Employee) –  Macon, GAApril 6, 2017
This company had harassment issue involving the distribution manager and black women. All of the white management stick together and if u addressed it or voiced concern u were being fired. Driver are spoken to as children and treated with no respect. The lack of experience from the management team created daily problems and unnecessary stress. The company recently let go of majority of it's black female office workers and are not looking to hire more. No room for growth here either.
Pros
Nun
Cons
It's a paycheck
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is not well informed and does not give good growth.
Processor (Former Employee) –  Northfield, MNApril 5, 2017
Management is very unreliable and doesnt give good clear directions with work flow or ethics. After 3 years youll make max amount per hour, which isnt bad. But the repeatitive tasks and uninformed management makes even the smallest task incredibly difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Selector (Current Employee) –  Athens, GAApril 4, 2017
a day st Mclane come in the morning meeting for stretch and flex and then break down the pieces we have on each for to pick for the day. Then go to our assign areas log on and begin working for the day. We have an goal to reach production at a timing fashion and stay there throughout the day
Cons
Healthcare is expensive!!!! Not enough appreciate for the teammates
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run you down
Selector (Current Employee) –  Nicholasville, KYApril 3, 2017
When i started it was supposed to be 10 hour a day 4 days a week with minimal overtime but when it came down to it the overtime was bad and i never knew when i would get off. Then they go to 5 days a week with the same amount of overtime. Work conditions, they expect you to do the impossible in terms of rate and if you dont get it ( and only 2 or 3 of us do) they write you up and keep you worried that you will lose your job. Management, dont get me started......do not work here
Pros
Benefits are ok
Cons
Closely watched breaks, no home time, unreasonable rate and hours, lying and horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large busy warehouse
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLMarch 30, 2017
began as a clerk and moved up to a salaried position
always room for advancement and easy to move around in the company fair benefits good 401k work can be very demanding
Pros
good 401k match
Cons
no set schedule you work until the job is done
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work; Decent pay but difficult hours
Checker/Loader (Former Employee) –  Merced, CAMarch 26, 2017
Worked as a checker/loader for 7 years. You top out at a certain salary (20 an hour in my area) after three years and stay at the rate minus yearly company raises that are given out. Long hours and the work does not end until everything is finished no matter what. This led to some long days and frustrating times because mechanical issues always came up. Loading is very difficult and will take a toll on your body eventually. I would say its a job for a male in his early 20's and not something to do longer than 7-8 years because of potential back problems
Pros
good pay
Cons
physical, tough work. long days
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MClane
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMarch 25, 2017
Mclane - very good entry level job.
works you to your fullest
the hours are long and hard
trying to have a work life and social hard at first is hyard to handle
sleep pattern changes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will earn every penny
Driver (Former Employee) –  New HampshireMarch 23, 2017
I started as a trainee with no experience as a fueler washer. Learning was baptism by fire. You will be a good driver here quick bc you have to drive in places that are tight for a car. The other truck drivers for the most part were good. Management , dispatch and mechanics were superb. At mclane concord, from management to dispatch to mechanics, you are treated well. However, i was often forced to work illegal, put into dangerous situations, and routinely worked 22-24+ hour days. Pay was 1000 per week. I ended up getting a bid and was 1000 per week. After taxes, it isnt worth it. End of day after 22 hours, youre so tired you are a zombie. Your days off are just recovery days. I work otr now, 90k/yr. Mclane did give me a career.
Pros
Learned the trade
Cons
Looooong, body killing shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Selctor (Current Employee) –  Athens, GAMarch 23, 2017
The only bad thing I can say about McLane is the schedule. You come in at 6am, and you never know what time your leaving. Ive left as early as 10am or as late as 9pm. Its a simple job and the time flies by, management is always there to answer questions and you have great benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place and good pay.
Selector/Picker (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAMarch 22, 2017
Work based off quota. Not a bad place to work as long as you're not afraid of hard work and putting in some long hours. Overall it's a good place to work for.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver of the month
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Baldwinsville, NYMarch 20, 2017
due to the driver of the month they would have a bbq for all the drivers 24 hours a day. and offer bonus pay for clean trucks and clean trailers. mclane isnt a bad company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McLane Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 766 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

70%
199 ratings
Add your rating