McLane Company Employee Reviews

Found 684 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Warehouse Selector/Replenisher/Receiving (Current Employee) –  Forrest Park, GAMay 24, 2017
McLane is a team oriented company that thrives on working together to get the job done. I consider it to be one of the best companies to retire from and one of the best companies to advance in position and education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Backstabbing, grownmen act like females
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CAMay 23, 2017
Overall job is decent,pay is good,and work is constant.
But, warehouse politics, favoritism,snakepit,family influences,by that i mean supervisor of certain departments have their family working there and that plays a big role in the who will move forward and who wont.stressfull enviorment,the main managers dont give a u know what or who does what.
Pros
Pay, hours
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life at Mclane
Selector (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 23, 2017
Mclane was a very fun and fast paced environment. If you do not mind being on your feet for 10 - 12 hours a day and hitting quotas you will do fine. Management is tough and if you exceed your quotas they will take care of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job just need better management
driver assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Peters, MOMay 18, 2017
this job could be a great job if certain people wasn't in charge at this job i had a problem with this guy name james he works at the saint peters location the guy dont know how to talk to people but other than that the job was good
Pros
your pay check will match the work you did
Cons
horrible management and adjusting to overnights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Brookhaven, MSMay 16, 2017
This company have good sign on bonus. The company care about their employees and reward them in many ways. The overtime is great. I enjoyed working for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay/benefits, tough hours
Warehouse Selector (Former Employee) –  Baldwinsville, NYMay 15, 2017
Adjusting to the 3AM start time was the most difficult aspect of this job. Other than that the work is simple and the pay is pretty good, especially considering that it is a job you can land right our of high school. My department had some managerial issues to start with, but once those were cleared up the 12 hour days went away and the department was overall much happier.
Pros
Overtime options, free lunches given when certain goals are met.
Cons
Third shift hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and somewhat fun, very stressful
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXMay 11, 2017
I loved my job McLane however there is a lot of favortisim going on. They know that certain people don't do their job but fail to do anything about it. Overall it's a good company.
Pros
Its a good company with lots to offer.
Cons
Lack of Motivation by Supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No nonsense job
Sr. Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXMay 11, 2017
This company runs it's staffing very lean. Very focused on profits and doing the most with minimal amount employees. Management teams are not coordinated, there is a lot of arguing and wasted time.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long work hours, weekend work.. At times, a lack of direction..
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for this company
Transportation Manager (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAMay 9, 2017
Great people, great values, great company. Loved working here. Wish I could have stayed for ever but it just wasn't in the cards. Not much to say but would be a place I would go back too.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair people to work with but management needs to be more understanding
Full Case Selector (Current Employee) –  Dothan, ALMay 7, 2017
The job is enjoyable and challenging but management expects the extreme with no wiggle room. It causes people working together to start fighting because of having to trip over each other to hit an unfair production rate. They expect you to hit a very high production rate as a minimum instead of having a hard expectation to challenge you and then a high rate that equals some sort of reward. Constantly feeling like your job is at risk.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Oriented Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Longmont, COMay 7, 2017
Clean working conditions and friendly environment. The employees were wonderful. Service to customers was a high priority. Overall, McLane is a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McLane
Forklift Operator and Warehouse Order Selector (Current Employee) –  Sturtevant, WIMay 7, 2017
there are 4 10 hour days for your week, which mostly consist of you moving fast. during your day you get to work punch in have pre-shift and go you get two 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute lunch any other time your moving its a high pace highly physical job.
Pros
guaranteed 3 days off a week
Cons
high pace highly physical job
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefeits and pay, terrible mananagement and no work life balance
Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Temple, TXMay 5, 2017
This is a great place to work if you enjoy getting treated like terribly . The only way you can get a decent schedule is to suck up otherwise you get stuck with an overnight shift, This company does not think seniority means anything at all
Pros
Good benefeits and pay
Cons
terrible mananagement and no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly team oriented
Order filler loader (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 3, 2017
Team oriented great benefits and nice pay. Paid vacation sick time and incentive pay for going above the production rate. Management is well organized
Pros
Ten hour shifts 4 on 3 off so your body and muscles can recuperate from the strenuous lifting
Cons
It was only a five year contract
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized unprofessional dreadful
Receives labels from supervisor (Current Employee) –  Athens, GAApril 28, 2017
The work areas are unsafe under staff and completely unprofessional and continue to change work conditions without letting employees know continuously challenges workers to work harder not smarter
Pros
Pay, benefits
Cons
Working hours, working conditions, supervisors work procedures
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co workers, everyone works together to get the job done.
Receiving Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLApril 27, 2017
It's a nice place to work at, but the overtime is required even if your exhausted, so you can put in danger safety violations. Equipment not that great, old forklifts, old equipment that slows down your job efficiency.
Pros
Good overtime
Cons
Short breaks, over 12+ hours sometimes, no consideration for you being exhausted.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pretty fair workplace with great pay.
Selector (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAApril 26, 2017
The workplace was a little stressful and the amount of hours were overwhelming. Even though the workplace was a little stressful the pay was great along with the benefits they offered.
Pros
Pay good
Cons
Short breaks, Strict Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun
Single cell 2 (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILApril 26, 2017
I really like Mclanes but it was a lot of work and alot of people not pulling rate so there was like 2 of us doing all the work and had to pick up there slack. but i really enjoy working there alot of hours too.
Pros
nice boss
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced long hours
Selector/Picker (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILApril 26, 2017
I did not like this job because of supervisors, there were fights a lot. Our breaks never seemed long enough to rejuvenate. You never know when you will get off, and having a family and trying to find a babysitter willing to work with you is impossible. I loved the pay most of the time, but i felt like for the days we worked over 14 hours we should have been compensated more, ie getting an extra break and or getting a longer break, or possibly having our pay adjusted. Somehow when we had those outrageously long days we also happened to have very short days so we never received over time. If you don't have a family and aren't doing anything else with your life i would recommend this job to you. I'm sure there are other jobs within this company that would have been better but you have to bid into other jobs and there are a lot of circumstances in which you would not be allowed to transfer.
Pros
somewhat decent pay
Cons
horrible hours too short of breaks 5am comes early
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
QC/Loader (Current Employee) –  Danville, ILApril 25, 2017
Very difficult job as a loader
Long days
Never know when you will get off
Overtime is possible
Under payed as a loader
good company contributions to retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McLane Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 785 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3